Opinion Matt Priddis discussion.

• Thread starter Thread starter kranky al

Where do you stand on the matt priddis question?

I have no idea where its gone. If the mods have deleted it thats piss poor - he doesnt deserve a spot in this team
At least we agree on something

Ive given him votes in heaps of games and kudos where kudos due - i was one of the first of the vocal anti priddites to change my tune in 2015 - even given him votes this year
Still late to change your tune (you didn't change it in 2014...) , so you're still blinded by hate. And I have to smile at people who give themselves kudos .....

You on the other hand can sit there and watch him serve up a shit sandwich and you take a mighty big bite out of it and call it delicious - thats blind.
When did I call it delicious?
All I'm saying is that he doesn't deserve to be dropped
I never said that he's playing brilliantly
He has been up/down all year, like the rest of our side. Unlike some others who have been down. He hasn't been anywhere near bad enough to warrant this thread, nor previous criticism

Props where props are earned - you are here defending him - where pottering will just pretend this game never happened and disappear till he has a good game - but still dude - if there is a "highlights "" vid - you are going to be like whatsisname from southpark when he finds out the correct answer was naggers.
No idea what you're talking about here, but ok.

do me a favour when you do - 1)do it quarter by quarter 2) show every wce possession chain that leads to a goal 3) show every priddis possession and the chain after that till turnover / goal to us / goal to the opposition that way it can all be put in perspective and avoid the cherry picking tag - show warts, good bits - the whole picture. remember: you are doing the lords work son

huh? that sounds like just the whole game??

ok - im certain that you were just about to post up gaffs turnovers that lead to easy opposition goals/ shots on goal - but then you hit post by accident

- priddis had 5 btw

i mean
Couldn't be arsed, but overall Gaff was at least as bad, if not worse. I recall that kick out of D50 to a spot where not a WC player was to be sighted.

He was immense in the Brisbane game, but has been very average since then.

Arguably the worst Ross Glendinning medal win in derby history, although I guess that was sentimentalism in his 200th.

His form might be due to injury, but he appears to be getting involved in transitional play a lot more than recent seasons which kills our momentum.

If possible he might have dropped a touch of 'pace' (injury?) as he seems to be panicking a lot more, particularly with his usually good handballing.

He's not the only player under performing (Lecca, Jetta, Emac, Hurn, Gaff, Cripps etc) but as our 'bullocking' inside mid his role is so integral that his drop in form is killing us.

Trys his guts out though.

Couldn't be arsed, but overall Gaff was at least as bad, if not worse. I recall that kick out of D50 to a spot where not a WC player was to be sighted.
at the end of the day - they tally the amount of times you kick it through the big sticks and the little sticks and add it up

they do the same for the opposition

whoever has the biggest number then wins.

priddis got more goal assists for geelong than many geelong players - if they had kicked two very easy attempts straight he would have had five goal assists for geelong

that is more of a problem than kicking it to noone - im not defending gaff - he was awful - priddis was hideous but

I think the tempo change this year could be an issue for him as well. The ball seems to ping pong between half backs now with less stoppages and that is probably the worst thing for him. As he is trying to get into the game in ball movement which he is a momentum killer when he does plus there is an opposition man running between the 50's unencumbered by him due to pace of the game.

The game has opened up and the good teams just run off him. He may get his hands on the ball but when the opposition have it he is a dead set liability (he is also rubbish by foot which is a joke in modern football). We need a balance between the two which he will never be able to provide.

God, here we go. He did a good job shutting everyone up with Brownlow but wolves have come out.

Personally I reckon he is carrying an injury

Anyone notice Priddis walk away from the midfield group just as the 4th was about to start?
NN, Shuey, Priddis and Yoe(?) were talking, Priddis looked like he spat it and walked off. NN, Shuey and co all gave him a wierd look.

He actually did some good clearance work in the 3rd. Still cost us 2 goals and that's not even taking into account his lack of pressure. Its harsh but he must be replaced by sheed permanently when hes back. We can't go all the way with him, even if this year suffers we will be in better shape for next year.

The 3 Third Quarter comeback things he did: A 20 cm hand pass to Nic Nat who booted inside 50. Two other no look bombs from good Nic Nat taps into the 50. One fell short which JK read best and marked - prob cause he knows Pridda has no penetration.
And the other hail mary bomb I can't remember but I think someone marked it inside 50...
At least they were from the front side of the square. ( But if you get such a clean tap like those with space RUN bugger ya!!!!! like Shuey does. But he can't)
Hardly reliable or brilliant play you'd hope to get from your number one midfielder and you'd have at the top of your centre clearance play book. It doesn't win you games. But you get a wonderful all important personal clearance stat. YipppEee!

And these three clearances certainly not even a pittance enough to outweigh the rest of his trash today.

has it occured to anyone that we play our best footy when Priddis isnt in the team?

Take the Hawthorn qualifying final last year - beat the Hawks without Ploddus the turnover machine. We just dont miss him when he doesnt play, because he is a team killer.
I think it's defensively where without him the team is so much better. With Priddis in the team there's always 1 opposition mid running free when they have the ball because Priddis can't keep up. Offensively yes he is okay usually with good handballs but doesn't have enough hurt factor offensively to be such a liability defensively. It's unfortunate because I don't think the coach can drop him. Hopefully he is given a 'rest' for the next 2 games to see how it goes without him.

God, here we go. He did a good job shutting everyone up with Brownlow but wolves have come out.

Personally I reckon he is carrying an injury

Errrr then he shouldnt be playing

Not a real complex equation to solve - i happen to agree with you on the injury thing - he may not be fast but he can sell candy and sidestep - he cant even do that atm

I think the thing that aggravated me the most today was that we didnt give him ten minutes on the bench and see what happens. ****n infuriating

unfortunately he will never be rested. He is the sort of player that will "toil" away for at least 3 more seasons on our list, getting slower every month.

I think it's pretty clear that Pridda has gone from mediocre form to the depths of suckitude since he came back from that groin injury. The bloke's not right. He can't stand in a tackle and this is leading to rushed, shitty handballs or worse...kicks.

Why don't we have inside depth to come in past Hutchings? Probably not Priddis' fault.

I think it's pretty clear that Pridda has gone from mediocre form to the depths of suckitude since he came back from that groin injury. The bloke's not right. He can't stand in a tackle and this is leading to rushed, shitty handballs or worse...kicks.

Why don't we have inside depth to come in past Hutchings? Probably not Priddis' fault.
If you saw that handball he gave to Shuey that landed about a metre behind him you'll see it wasn't rushed. He waited for Shuey to run past and then put the ball behind him..that's just schoolboy stuff..and the schoolboy will improve. Nah, it's just that he's got no skills or pace