Roast Matt Rendell Vendetta against Collingwood

The bloke isn’t racist. Clearly he is hurt and angry about the club dismissing him.
The stuff at Adelaide was blown out of proportion.

His comments regarding Guy have shown to be untruthful. One might say he is a liar.

His comments regarding recruiting players with one white parent are clearly racist. One might say he is a racist.

After leaving his last two AFL positions he has played the victim card.

I don't know why people are quick to defend this lying, racist sooky la la?

If you can’t see that line (whether it was made flippantly or not) is not racist then I pity you.
It was enough for the Crows to ask him to resign. As for the Pies recruiting him? Well....

Just to be clear my earlier post “NFI”, was that I believe, like many others on here, you don’t have a grasp of the situation at all.

His comments regarding Guy have shown to be untruthful. One might say he is a liar.

His comments regarding recruiting players with one white parent are clearly racist. One might say he is a racist.

People’s perceptions are their own.
You don’t believe Rendell’s perception and label them lies.

To me your perceptions are ludicrous.
That’s fine though. They are yours, not mine.

People’s perceptions are their own.
You don’t believe Rendell’s perception and label them lies.

To me your perceptions are ludicrous.
That’s fine though. They are yours, not mine.

Rendell said Guy "didn't watch much footy".

Guy attended 137 matches in 2019 and 49 in Covid affected 2020.

Rendell was let go at the start of 2020.

Rendell was at the club when Guy attended 137 matches in a season and made the untruthful assertion that he didn't attend alot of matches. Therefore he is a liar.

it just shows you how far we've progressed over the years...
Not being able to discuss an issue is regression. There is no progress when genuine people without an agenda are unable to speak freely about an issue.
Free speech is a sign of a healthy society.
Looking over your shoulder before speaking on any subject is more closely aligned with an oppressive, totalitarian government's agenda.

Part of following the Do Better Report should be to make sure racist flogs like Rendell are never hired again.
Stop branding people racist. The word is thrown around like confetti and it is simply used as a way of silencing or cancelling people who you don't like.
You must believe Paul Roos and James Hird are racists too if you are going after Rendell for his comments.

Part of following the Do Better Report should be to make sure racist flogs like Rendell are never hired again.
He made a valid point evidenced by the later failure of Jurrah and Wonaeamirri to stay in the system despite playing some outstanding football. I am sure that the thought process adopted by Rendell in considering the recruitment of indigenous players is practiced by recruiters of most club when assessing the durability of young recruits.

It was a throwaway line to illustrate the danger of recruiting indigenous players from remote communities and expecting them to adapt to city life. It was such an important and difficult transition for such players to make that the likes of Betheras and Syd Jackson were involved in mentoring young guys to make the transition more possible - Syd lived with them in a group home.

Leaving the racist discussion to the side, not sure what everyone's issues are with Rendell. He's saying basically everything that we've been saying in that the coaching panel has no new ideas, the game plan is crap and too defensive and that Ned Guy has been utterly horrendous.

His comments post last trade period/draft was probably the public message that the club itself should've given right from the start. Said we still have one of the most talented lists with exciting youngsters coming through and the best talent in the country in N Daicos to join us this year and now we have the salary cap space to aggressively recruit again.

Ask an indigenous kid aspiring to play AFL football what he thinks of Rendell's comment, (on clubs preferring kids with at least one white parent) and see how he feels about it. Of course he will find it racist.

As for Collingwood employing Rendell well, the club's own investigation has been tabled, so no need for further comment.

He can play the victim and pot the club all he likes, it's easier for him to do that than address his own, (well exhibited) flaws.

He made a valid point evidenced by the failure of Jurrah and Wonaeamirri to stay in the system despite playing some outstanding football. I am sure that the thought process adopted by Rendell in considering the recruitment of indigenous players is practiced by recruiters of most club when assessing the durability of young recruits.

With all due respect these issues run far deeper and above a club recruiter’s pay grade.

And to be honest suggesting the AFL take 30 indigenous kids and send them to board in a private school in Melbourne will help them is ludicrous.

I can tell you there have been and are indigenous kids currently boarding at my childrens’ school. Just as many return home as those who stay.

Rendell seems to have all the answers. Let the AFL speak to the actual experts and communities as to how to best nurture and support these boys

Stop branding people racist. The word is thrown around like confetti and it is simply used as a way of silencing or cancelling people who you don't like.
You must believe Paul Roos and James Hird are racists too if you are going after Rendell for his comments.
The facts about Rendell speak for themselves unfortunately.

With all due respect these issues run far deeper and above a club recruiter’s pay grade.

And to be honest suggesting the AFL take 30 indigenous kids and send them to board in a private school in Melbourne will help them is ludicrous.

I can tell you there have been and are indigenous kids currently boarding at my childrens’ school. Just as many return home as those who stay.

Rendell seems to have all the answers. Let the AFL speak to the actual experts and communities as to how to best nurture and support these boys
All very well to talk to 'experts' but the recruiters have the job of interviewing and assessing the stayability and character of young players, and the go home/homesickness factor is surely going to be a important determinant of their suitability as AFL footballers. The issues may 'run far deeper and above a club recruiter’s pay grade' but they are nevertheless the people at the clubs who ultimately decide the fate of the young hopefuls. My only interest in defending Rendell is his comment that lead to his dismissal from Adelaide. I have little knowledge of anything he has said or done recently or his comments in the media that appear to have ruffled a few Collingwood supporter's feathers.

I believe he mentioned 30 scholarships. Scholarships are not mandatory, but cannot be accessed if they don’t exist.

Has Rendell responded to the numbers quoted by the club? That to me is the crux of this one. They seem like those of a recruiter which is not to say they’re right or wrong or whether it’s standard practice for a list manager.

My feel for the role is that a list manager should be more invested in pro scouting and TPP management than going to watch Joe blow play out at Casey Fields on a Wednesday arvo. The numbers quoted to me give more of an indication that our internal setup is wrong rather than either of Rendell or Guy.

Put simply on the basis of the broader topic my take is we need more eyes at ground level in a part time capacity and the eventual replacement for Guy to be more involved with AFL matters (basically an expert pro scout who’s good with numbers). The statement honestly reads to me like Guy was being spread to thin...

I believe he mentioned 30 scholarships. Scholarships are not mandatory, but cannot be accessed if they don’t exist.
Scotch College has been running an Indigenous scholarship program for a good decade or so that is well-supported and seems to have worked very well.

That the recipients often happen to be very talented footballers is just a coinkydink. ;)

No but there are and have been indigenous kids provided with scholarships with private schools and from what I have seen (as I mentioned previously based upon the school 2 of my kids attend), some stay and some go back home due to being homesick. So, thinking that we should get these kids 'climatized' to a city environment by bringing them here earlier isn't the answer.

Scotch College has been running an Indigenous scholarship program for a good decade or so that is well-supported and seems to have worked very well.

That the recipients often happen to be very talented footballers is just a coinkydink. ;)
Do you know how many have gone home? You may want to find out. It has worked for some and not worked for others. A little like the AFL.

No but there are and have been indigenous kids provided with scholarships with private schools and from what I have seen (as I mentioned previously based upon the school 2 of my kids attend), some stay and some go back home due to being homesick. So, thinking that we should get these kids 'climatized' to a city environment by bringing them here earlier isn't the answer.
I don’t really see the issue. If it’s available, that’s a good thing. If it works for some, that’s better than it not being accessible to any. It’s a complex issue, and this scholarship can help for some of these kids.

I agree, but I don't think for one moment that there are sinister undertones with regard to our lack of indigenous players as many like to infer.
Geelong have been very proactive in the recruitment of redheads over the years.
Why have there been so few of them at Collingwood in recent years?

We certainly haven't been shy bidding for NGA prospects from other clubs.

Do you know how many have gone home? You may want to find out. It has worked for some and not worked for others. A little like the AFL.
Must confess I don't know too much other than it has produced some handy footy players. I was dragged to a fundraising dinner for the program a few years back. Seemed like at least they are trying.

I don’t really see the issue. If it’s available, that’s a good thing. If it works for some, that’s better than it not being accessible to any. It’s a complex issue, and this scholarship can help for some of these kids.
Yeah it's a complex issue. And yes, it's an opportunity for those who don't have access to a certain education to have access to it.
But that isn't what we are talking about. It's about a solution to help indigenous footballers feel comfortable to stay at the club and not feel a need to return home which is what Rendell was championing. I was making the point that there are those far better qualified to understand this complex issue and advise on what may be the best way forward. And it's definitely not some AFL recruiter.

I'm certainly not here to defend him. Don't know the man so it's hard to have a view of him either way. But that doesn't mean I can accept the racist label being attached to him. His comments, while some might consider them unsavory, were clearly not racist. He was sounding a warning of what could potentially happen if the AFL don't do something to better enable indigenous kids from remote communities to transition into AFL.

So while he may well be a complete flog for all I know, I do object to him being wrongly labelled. Particularly something as serious as a racist label. I do love the irony that many of those proclaiming he is are likely white middle aged men.

Roast Matt Rendell Vendetta against Collingwood