Votes: 0 0.0%

mojon95

At the Age of 29, Essendon's leading goal kicker, Matthew Lloyd, has kicked a massive 829 Goals in his Career, with anywhere from 2 to 6 years left in him, where do you think his goal-kicking tally will end, personally i think about 1000

I am gunna say he has got 4 - 5 years left. With the way the game is these days. 50 goals a year. So another 200 - 250 goals. Anything over 1100 and I will be suprised.

He should definatley get over 1000 if he remians injury. Pitty he injured his hammy, he was on a roll before that and if he had remained injury free in that time he may of been a chance to take out the record if he played on for long enough.

I'd love it for Lloydy to get to 1000 goals but he'll need a bit of luck to fall his way. There's no doubt that he has the ability, it's just the question of will he be able to play enough games over the next few years. 171 goals will take him more than 3 years, maybe even 4 or more if his hammy plays up. That will put him at 34+ years old. I'd love for it to happen but we may have to be realistic

Still there are other targets we can hope he passes. He needs 46 goals to pass McKenna, 87 goals to pass Matthews and 142 goals to pass Jack Titus. Hopefully he can pass at least some of those. He should be able to get passed Matthews but may fall short of Titus ending up around 950 goals. That would leave him 7th in the all time goal kicking list. Still, his tally will be an awesome achievement, regardless of where he eventually finishes

I reackon he'll kick over 1100, probably over 1200 and with luck break the record-though he would need to start kicking 70/80+ a season to do that.

I think he will have a massive season next year, if he can have an uninterupted preseason and get through the NAB cup injury free, aswell as the posibility the best backman might go to Lucas every week now, and Gumby coming on, hopefully, to take even more heat off him.

If all those things happen I reckon he will be in for a 70-80 goal season..:thumbsu:

I think he will have a massive season next year, if he can have an uninterupted preseason and get through the NAB cup injury free, aswell as the posibility the best backman might go to Lucas every week now, and Gumby coming on, hopefully, to take even more heat off him.

If all those things happen I reckon he will be in for a 70-80 goal season..:thumbsu:

If he has a 70-80 goal season the best backman will go to him, not Scotty.

Well then Scotty doesn't have to deal with their best backman, its a win win mate;)

True..... but in relation to this thread topic, we can't expect Lloydy to be kicking consistent bags on lesser defenders, he'll need to do it on the best defender to kick 70-80.

Mate to break the record he would have to start kicking 100+ and for 5 more years.

He is practically 30, it aint going to happen.

And also he had the bad injury.......not good for a bloke his size there will be periods where that hammy will come back to haunt him[ and the club] I hope he is able to keep playing to hie optimun level in 08.....I think every game he is 100% is a bonus for us.:D

Lloyd this year I would say was playing at about 70%, and still managed to kick 60+ goals. But in the last month or so Lloydy was back, he was hitting the footy hard and confidence was up. If we see that form leading into the next couple of years then I see no reason why he can't kick 70-80 goals next year and the next.

As Boris said, Lloyd only played 75% this year and still kicked 60+ this year, so mathematics show that he should kick 75+ each year, and that will come down with age. So this shows what i think we should expect:

2007 - Age: 29 - Goals: 62 - Total: 829
2008 - Age: 30 - Goals: 75 - Total: 904
2009 - Age: 31 - Goals: 72 - Total: 976

From this point on, he will decrease fitness because of age, but our midfield will improve alot and will help him with delivery in2 tha 50.

2010 - Age: 32 - Goals: 73 - Total: 976
2011 - Age: 33 - Goals: 74 - Total: 1050
2012 - Age: 34 - Goals: 68 - Total: 1118

This is where i think he will retire, but if he doesn't we can't expect too much in these last seasons, as he is a KP he will not be expected to run all day at this age.

2013 - Age: 35 - Goals: 60 - Total: 1178
2014 - Age: 36 - Goals: 50 - Total: 1228