• Thread starter Thread starter CHF

CHF

Lloyd has heaps of talent but have you
ever noticed how many soft goals matty gets, receiving a handball from a team mate with no oponent near him. Its because he always backs away into space when ever there is contested ball in the forward line. He did the same again in tonights embarasing loss to Port.
He has a soft aproach to his football and adding the fact that he plays for frees, I think he is a sorry excuse for a champion.

Am I to hard on the lad, or does anyone else agree with me?

i semi agree with you.
He does back away into space a lot, but if it gets you goals, thats what his there for.
All of what you said was true up until you said 'hes a sorry excuse for a champion'. I thought that was a bit harsh, because hes skills are just about unparalled in football today and would make just about any supporters all australian lineup.
But i do admire you for putting your ass on the line because your going to cop absolute shit from the Bombers fans.

------------------
visit the Easts Cricket Club - <A HREF="http://www.eastscricket.com.au" TARGET=_blank>www.eastscricket.com.au
</A>
A must for anybody into statistics - http://cromulent.freehosting.net/

[This message has been edited by WCE2000 (edited 17 February 2001).]

Originally posted by WCE2000:
But i do admire you for putting your ass on the line because your going to cop absolute shit from the Bombers fans.

Not till the Bummers register their first win and they all come out of hiding !!

------------------
Trample the Weak,
Hurdle the Dead.

Originally posted by WCE2000:

There's nothing to admire.
The whole point of the post is to stir them up,...or rather kick them while they are down.

p.s. THANKYOU PORT ADELAIDE!!!!!!

Yes, Matty always backs away and will not go after the hard ball. Waits for the ball to be delivered into space.

Lloyd had a very 'off' night.

BTW Where ARE the bragging Essendon supporters? Come on guys - it's only the Ansett Cup and you only lost to PORT!

Michele

NMFC 1869

I think Lloyd is a champion. If not, then he is very, very close.

He is 22, and has just kicked 109 goals in a season. he is magnificent mark, is brave, quick, fair, a good kick.

An amazing statistic from 2000 was that he led Essendon in kicks. That's right, he had more kicks than any other Essendon player. Nornally, a midfielder has the most kicks, but Lloyd with his propensityy to push up the ground gathers kicks at will.

He is a young champion and probably Essendon second best player.

Originally posted by Michele:
Yes, Matty always backs away and will not go after the hard ball. Waits for the ball to be delivered into space.

Michele Lloyd is a forward, he is paid to find a space so he can get the ball & kick goals, if he went into packs everytime to get the ball he only has a 50/50 chance of getting it, not too hard to understand I would have thought.

BTW Where ARE the bragging Essendon supporters? Come on guys - it's only the Ansett Cup and you only lost to PORT!

Michele

As I said in another post, it was saturday night & some people have a life & prefer to go out & socialize, rather than sit by themselves in front of a computer, you should try it sometime, it is a big bold world out there.
rolleyes.gif

------------------
Frodo does not exist outside of Tolkien's imagination

Originally posted by sandie:

Michele

As I said in another post, it was saturday night & some people have a life & prefer to go out & socialize, rather than sit by themselves in front of a computer, you should try it sometime, it is a big bold world out there.

[/B]

It's a big bold world populated by bush pigs like Sandie so be careful.

Turdlow
Logged in under an unregistered name to abuse me this time? Don't you have any balls at all.
rolleyes.gif

Also, why didn't you reply to the other part of my post about the roll of a forward, or aren't you able to rationally discuss football because you don't have any football knowledge.
biggrin.gif

------------------
Frodo does not exist outside of Tolkien's imagination

[This message has been edited by sandie (edited 18 February 2001).]

Hey just a point here ?

Lance Whitnall has turned backing out of the pack almost into an art-form and is applauded in the media and elsewhere as an intelligent and shrewd forward whose use of space is so creative he can seemingly create it out of nothing.

Lloyd uses alot of the same techniques and is blasted for being 'soft' ????

WTF !!!!???!!

Look, I hate Lloyd as much as the rest of yuo but why do so many people around here have to keep dreaming up daft excuses to have a go at him all the time !!??

Lloyd stinks, and I hate his guts but I'm not going to dream up some whopper to try and explain my rage - why should I ?

Cousins and Lloyd are in the same class - POTENTIAL champions.

Originally posted by jod23:
Dan - Cousins is the same age is he a champion?

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
Lloyd stinks, and I hate his guts but I'm not going to dream up some whopper to try and explain my rage - why should I ?

Just for the record, why exactly *does* he stink?

Originally posted by jod23:
Dan - Cousins is the same age is he a champion?

Just about. It depends on how you define champion. There is a difference between champion and legend.

I think a 22 year old, who has won a Coleman Medal, kicked 109 goals in a season, played state footy, led his club in kicks in 2000, is humble and a role model, should be classified as a champion. The fact that he is 22 is irrelevant. All this means, is that he can get better.

I would rate Cousins as nearly the same quality as Lloyd - a young champion. But, like I said above, it all depends on how you define champion.

Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
Lloyd stinks, and I hate his guts

You know, I really am surprised at some of the things that are said on this forum.

Matthew Lloyd is everything a young footballer would want to aspire to be. He is humble, he is talented, he doesn't drink or smoke, he is natually compettive, fair and role model. I wonder if the reason people don't like him, is because he plays for Essendon?

I hate Carlton but I think Kouta is a tremendous player and person. He conducts himself extremely well, is fair, doesn't gloat of brag. He is a great individual on and off the field. I don't let my petty dislike for Carlton affect my admiration for some of their players.

Matthew Lloyd is a sensational young human being. One of the most humble young men you could ever meet. Why BSA would think this about him is beyond me.

Originally posted by Michele:
Where ARE the bragging Essendon supporters? Come on guys - it's only the Ansett Cup and you only lost to PORT!

Hey. I'm here....I'm not ashamed of my team and I'm certainly not in hiding. Don't you worry, the Bombers will be back!

------------------
Essendon, the most powerful and best run club in the league.

What about a 22 year old CAPTAIN, role model, gentlemen and a damn good footballer.

Cousins is a potential champion as is Lloyd but neither are there yet. I think you have to do a lot to be a champion, a few more years for both and we'll see.

Originally posted by Dan24:
I think Lloyd is a champion. If not, then he is very, very close.

He is 22, and has just kicked 109 goals in a season. he is magnificent mark, is brave, quick, fair, a good kick.

An amazing statistic from 2000 was that he led Essendon in kicks. That's right, he had more kicks than any other Essendon player. Nornally, a midfielder has the most kicks, but Lloyd with his propensityy to push up the ground gathers kicks at will.

He is a young champion and probably Essendon second best player.

No...Lloyd is NOT a champion, is nowhere near a champion. If he kicks 100 goals next year as well, then he is on the way. Dunstall is a champ, Plugger was a champ, Ablett was a champ, Hudson was a champ,
Tim Evans, Scott Hodges and Ken Farmer were local champs as they performed year in year out...Lloyd has had 1 very good year and 3 good years...a few more 100 goal years then he can be classed as champion. I would say he is a star

Originally posted by Dan24:
Just about. It depends on how you define champion. There is a difference between champion and legend.

I think a 22 year old, who has won a Coleman Medal, kicked 109 goals in a season, played state footy, led his club in kicks in 2000, is humble and a role model, should be classified as a champion. The fact that he is 22 is irrelevant. All this means, is that he can get better.

I would rate Cousins as nearly the same quality as Lloyd - a young champion. But, like I said above, it all depends on how you define champion.

Llyod has done twice as much as cousins has, and i wouldnt class Lloyd as a champion. You use that word loosely. Brownlow medallists are champions as they are the best of the bunch. Champions define fantastic players for a long period of time (blight, plugger, dunstall) they are champions...i would not class Lloyd in the same league as those guys...yet. The key word is potential...he has potential to take the league by storm, whether he does is up to himself. Then he can be classed as champion. He is a star at the moment, not a champion