matthew scarlett v stephen silvagni

• matthew scarlett

Votes: 43 32.1%
  • stephen silvagni

Votes: 91 67.9%

Nah mate, I don't hate any player.....I just think that as a footballer & a full-back in particular, Silvagni was an over-rated cheating flog, whose entire focus was on his man instead of the ball & actually playing football.

There'd be more than a dozen full-back I've seen who were far better footballers.

Umpires turned a blind-eye to his blatant cheating, because of his name & the fact they are so hesitant at paying frees directly in front of goal....His so-called 'style' was a blight on our game & should never have been allowed....Much like the Selwood duck n shrug of today.
12 full backs not just better, but FAR BETTER? Cmon mate, this is not the bay.

That is just pure hating on someone. You can dislike aspects of his game, and still acknowledge his greatness.

Silvagni was great at 2 things; Hanging onto blokes so they couldn't run & jump at the ball.....And somehow managing to convince the umpires not to penalise him for the blatant cheating, on most occasions.....If you call that greatness, then so be it.

Yeeeeowwwwww.

626429-2eba9bc6-cdc5-11e3-8e96-6a6704b39a47.jpg

Have you ever seen what Lockett did to his direct opponents?

Go and watch some 80s and 90s footage man.

Face it, you don't like SOS because he got the better of your man Dunstall.

It's funny how he never names these players. Probably thinks Rance is one of them, lol.

Have you ever seen what Lockett did to his direct opponents?

Go and watch some 80s and 90s footage man.

Face it, you don't like SOS because he got the better of your man Dunstall.

I seldom missed a game throughout the 80's & was super spoilt seeing 7 Grand Finals in a row....I also got to see 7 Premierships from 1976-1991 inclusive in the Michael Tuck Era....The example I provided of souvlaki in the goal-square, having a ginormous sook against the Bombers in the 1993 granny, is a perfect exemplar of to what extent he was a sore loser & a cheating flog.

Bunghole did well enough on him, to the point that Souvlaki felt the need to cave his forehead in with his knee in order to stop him.

SOS was the master at holding a forward by the waist to prevent them from getting a full jump at ball and when they did get a good run at it, he would chop the forwards arms at the final second.
Where he dominated a forward was in a wrestling duel and many a forward made this mistake time and time again.

SOS was the master at holding a forward by the waist to prevent them from getting a full jump at ball and when they did get a good run at it, he would chop the forwards arms at the final second.
Where he dominated a forward was in a wrestling duel and many a forward made this mistake time and time again.

Couldn't wrap his octopus arms around Locketts' waist though.....LOL.

You know a player has obtained GOAT status when he still gives opposition supporters an assblasting nearly two decades after he's retired.

Stay mad.

It's probably more of a case of recognizing just how difficult it was for forwards back in those years.
It also highlights the brilliance of recent key defenders who had to do it the hard way. Players like Brian Lake, Darren Glass and Matthew Scarlett not only beat their opponents, they excelled.
Alex Rance and Michael Hurley are today's dominant key defender who beat their opponents and also hurt the opposition (most of the time).

I think Stephen Silvagni and Chris Langford would have been able to adjust to the ruling interpretations of today's game but back in their day, they were extremely fortunate body checking, jumper holding and arm chopping were often overlooked.

It's probably more of a case of recognizing just how difficult it was for forwards back in those years.

Kidding? They had the ball directed their way most of the time, one out against their opponent, who they could shove under the ball or literally pull them off balance if they were stronger at holding their ground; loads of space to lead into and work with and without a second or third defender putting on a block.

This thread has descended into bizarro make shit up territory.

No, not kidding.
And this talk about forwards had the forward fifty all to themselves without any second or third defender cutting their space is nonsense.
Why do you think guys like Lockett and Ablett were always getting reported?
You dropped back into their leading path and you had to be prepared to cop it.

'Bizarro make shit up' is someone who didn't believe Silvagni got away with a lot as a key defender.
Same 'bizarro make shit up' if Geelong fans refuted Tom Lonergan got away with a lot during his time as key defender.

I seldom missed a game throughout the 80's & was super spoilt seeing 7 Grand Finals in a row....I also got to see 7 Premierships from 1976-1991 inclusive in the Michael Tuck Era....The example I provided of souvlaki in the goal-square, having a ginormous sook against the Bombers in the 1993 granny, is a perfect exemplar of to what extent he was a sore loser & a cheating flog.

Bunghole did well enough on him, to the point that Souvlaki felt the need to cave his forehead in with his knee in order to stop him.
Well, it was touched. If score review existed back then, it would've been a point. I would've been bitching in his position and so would you.

One of them mentioned Leppa as clearly better.

I remember one time Whitnall kicked 9 on him, got so frustrated he threw his shoe. Big red certainly had the wood on him.

Yet SOS was selected at FB ahead of both Southby and Doull in Carltons toc. But keep up the stand up comedy with Varys over there.

Doull was never a full-back proper.....Stop-gap at best.

He'd walk into a team of the century on a half back flank.....So much for any anti-Carlton bias on my behalf.....Jesaulenko too for that matter.

But SOS?.....Jeepers....Spare me.....All of Dench, Southby & Kel Moore were way better footballers & defenders in an era where they had to contend with the likes of Hudson, Wade, McKenna, Jesaulenko, Templeton, Roach & Blight.

Debut season as a 17-18yo. Very talented footballer even at that age.

Seems some posters in this thread have an availability heuristic issue with SOS and images of him wrestling in the square is all they can conjure; outside their heads though, Silvagni was much, much more than that.

Debut season as a 17-18yo. Very talented footballer even at that age.

Seems some posters in this thread have an availability heuristic issue with SOS and images of him wrestling in the square is all they can conjure; outside their heads though, Silvagni was much, much more than that.

Because they're clueless.

The "12 FBs far better" comment was especially funny.

But SOS?.....Jeepers....Spare me.....All of Dench, Southby & Kel Moore were way better footballers & defenders in an era where they had to contend with the likes of Hudson, Wade, McKenna, Jesaulenko, Templeton, Roach & Blight.
Then why wasn't Southby selected ahead of him in the FB position in the Carlton TOS?

Lockett, Carey, Dunstall and Ablett were every bit as good as those players you mentioned, probably moreso because it's almost universally regarded that Ablett Snr and Carey are GOAT contention. Wade? Blight? Better than Carey? GTFO.

Couldn't wrap his octopus arms around Locketts' waist though.....LOL.
Lockett rated SOS as his toughest opponent.

SOS....was a freak..watch his debut season as a 17 year old on carlton board...scary good.Ad that he kicked over 200goals..geez...played on and beat the greatest forwards the game has seen...modra..a.lynch...s.rocca...lioyd..hird...ablett...dunstall..lockett...carey...richardson..sumich..tredrea..g.lyon..etc....enough said.

SOS....was a freak..watch his debut season as a 17 year old on carlton board...scary good

That would be the same season where a hobbled & broken down old man in Peter Knights bagged 9 goals on him out at Princess Park.....Yeah....Scary-good.

Lol, NEWSFLASH - aging champion of the game got one over a 17yo in his 4th game league footy.

Even in that game SOS was Carlton’s BOG. Took a couple of absolutely pearler marks too.

Yours is a pale retelling lacking many facts, like you do with most of SOS’s career.

Lol, NEWSFLASH - aging champion of the game got one over a 17yo in his 4th game league footy.

Even in that game SOS was Carlton’s BOG. Took a couple of absolutely pearler marks too.

Yours is a pale retelling lacking many facts, like you do with most of SOS’s career.

Not at all.

I was there & saw every Knights speccy over the kid & every goal with my own 2 eyes.....Took the kid to the absolute cleaners in giving him an aerial lesson he'd never forget.

I guess it was after this game where SOS decided that it was a good idea to wrap his octopus arms around every good forward he played on thereafter....So as not to be exposed so badly as utterly inept in that department.

I was there & saw every Knights speccy over the kid & every goal with my own 2 eyes.....Took the kid to the absolute cleaners in giving him an aerial lesson he'd never forget.

Yeah nah sorry. Filtering out what you don’t like and keeping what you do may work inside your own head, but there’s a whole wide world of actual events that aren’t dependent on your recollections.