Toast Matty Taberner

He said, she said, (in your case no-one is sure).

I've met salim malik and Dormammu at training, and I'm pretty sure that both would have a beer with me anytime. In fact Dormammu and I are planning to meet soon and salim malik is too old to be nasty.

So, lets see...

I've also met a fair few bastards, and lovely lasses, at a BF meet-up years ago...and we all got pretty pissed. Stronzo actually had to hold my hand on the way home...he has such nice hands. Ripper has a lovely hat.

In fairness, I was pretty crook back then.

However, funnily enough, no-one seemed to want to bash me back then either.

So, maybe they, your source(s), are spineless chumps like you, who bitch behind peoples back, or

You are making shit up again.

Name names or man up.

You complete and total goose.

You're telling the story and defending yourself to the hilt.

Going on the rancour on here I reckon if he had a gun and two bullets, you get both.

Meh, he'd be too frightened that he'd chip a fingernail to pull the trigger.

You're telling the story and defending yourself to the hilt.

Yes, yes I am. And you've got no reply it seems.

Give it a rest you two.

Maybe have a chat with the Jedi Princess on how to operate the ignore function? Or to stop threatening violence and slandering me without evidence?

That would be a good start.

Very happy with how Tabs leads and positions himself, just get a bit more bulk on that frame and keep working on defensive pressure and he will be a very good forward for us.

This year if Keplar or Gumby can make it back then come the pointy end I would probably err with them as 2nd tall forward but give Tabs another year....

Even as it is this year, poor chopper has had an ordinary start to his year with his kicking for goal. I would be hesitant to pull out Taberner if Mayne was fit to play but with Walters likely missing longer term we just go taller in the forward line by playing Pav, Tabs/Kep, 211/Clarke, Mayne, Ballas and a defensive forward/rotating midfielder.

In case it hasn't already been posted, here is the most obvious arm chop on Tabs. Seemed pretty clear cut... even the commentators called it.

http://www.fremantlefc.com.au/video/2014-04-13/rd-4-pearce-over-the-shoulder-snap

Worked out quite well in the end though. ;)

Can't quite tell but it looks like Margetts again... I thought he screwed us a number of times in the first half with non-calls. He did pick up a truly blatant marking free later in the game, but he either chose to put the whistle away (not really a bad thing) or he seemed to feel like ignoring marking frees and head high contact/in-the-back that should have gone our way on quite a few occasions in the first half.

Means bugg3r all considering the end result, but I remember thinking in the first half that if we'd gotten a couple of them we might have been able to get on top a bit earlier. Scared the dog off the couch and got a couple of dirty looks from my wife, with some of the blue language I was directing at Margetts in the first half. Am pretty sure it wasn't anti-Margetts prejudice either.

He's probably played 4 more games than you'd expect from a skinny tall taken in the rookie draft, at this stage I feel his only real weakness is his relatively skinny frame. Someone taken that late should have way more flaws I feel. Before anyone pulls me up on it I have no issue with his marking, probably still has massive welts on his arms from all the arm chopping he suffered through yesterday. Even had he dropped every mark (which he didn't) his positioning and continued leads are extremely impressive for a forward his age IMO.

I don't think he'd played a lot of games in the TAC from memory. Wasn't a full season I don't think, so he might have slipped through the net of a few teams that weren't watching it closely enough.

EDIT: Checked...
http://www.bordermail.com.au/story/1180460/dockers-had-matt-tabbed/
"FREMANTLE revealed it closely followed Matt Taberner’s form with Ovens and Murray club Myrtleford this season.
[...]
Taberner, who played for the Murray Bushrangers late in the season, had been invited to train with Fremantle and the club’s general manager of player management, Brad Lloyd, said the Dockers liked what they saw.
“We watched him play throughout the year at Myrtleford and Murray and thought he deserved the opportunity to train,” Lloyd told The Border Mail.
[...]
“Matt played mainly as a 19-year-old this year for Myrtleford under Stan Magro, who was a big supporter of his.
“He’s done a week of training with us and he can run with our best endurance runners.”

Stan Magro had a fair bit to do with South Freo, so maybe that was the connection back to us.

Bit more of a connection than that matey ;)

After retiring from playing football, he began a career in coaching. Initially he coached South Fremantle for four seasons and then East Perth for two in the WAFL before becoming an assistant coach for Collingwood. He then moved back to Western Australia to become an assistant coach for Fremantle Football Club, who sacked him in 1998 when Damien Drum replaced Gerard Neesham as senior coach. In 2005 Magro sued three directors of the club, Gerard McNeill, David Hatt and Ross Kelly and the club itself for $200,000 in lost earnings and damages.[1] He was awarded $43,000 by the courts, but this was later overturned on appeal, although an undisclosed out of court settlement was paid.[2] Magro returned to WAFL coaching in 2001, leading the Perth Football Club for five seasons.

He said, she said, (in your case no-one is sure).

I've met salim malik and Dormammu at training, and I'm pretty sure that both would have a beer with me anytime. In fact Dormammu and I are planning to meet soon and salim malik is too old to be nasty.

So, lets see...

I've also met a fair few bastards, and lovely lasses, at a BF meet-up years ago...and we all got pretty pissed. Stronzo actually had to hold my hand on the way home...he has such nice hands. Ripper has a lovely hat.

In fairness, I was pretty crook back then.

However, funnily enough, no-one seemed to want to bash me back then either.

So, maybe they, your source(s), are spineless chumps like you, who bitch behind peoples back, or

You are making shit up again.

Name names or man up.

You complete and total goose.

You are always welcome to have a beer with probably the oldest poster on any board ,me slicedndiced
If weird is the criteria to not having a beer with someone I would have been having a lot of drinks on my own:D

PS JMT is an OK young guy .Think the both of you have got of on the wrong foot.Meet up for a beer before a game if youre in town and have a yarn
with some of the posters. Think you,ll be pleasantly surprised at their different persona away from here

You are always welcome to have a beer with probably the oldest poster on any board ,me slicedndiced
If weird is the criteria to not having a beer with someone I would have been having a lot of drinks on my own:D

PS JMT is an OK young guy .Think the both of you have got of on the wrong foot.Meet up for a beer before a game if youre in town and have a yarn
with some of the posters. Think you,ll be pleasantly surprised at their different persona away from here

Yeah, but if he's a dickhead, and I call him a dickhead, then he's gonna want to bash me. And I don't want to embarrass the poor lad.

Bit more of a connection than that matey ;)

I have fond memories of Stan the man
He was Don Haddows second in command when Haddow was coach of South's and they where crap at this stage
In those days the coaches box was on the boundary in front of the clubrooms and I was 3 sheets to the wind ,pissed of at Haddow and Souths and mouthing of not stop at anybody who would listen behind the coaches box
Stan obviously had enough of my rubbish and rushed out of the box jumped the fence and grabbed me by the throat.I still have nightmares at what he might have done to me but thankfully for my teeth and general well being he had 2nd thoughts about the consequences I guess and let me go and re jumped the fence .Those where the days of real passion:D

Keyboards and opinion forums do funny things to people. There would barely be any conflict at all if forums about our favourite teams were discussed in person rather than easily misconstrued when in writing. They certainly wouldn't deteriorate into the brawls on here, afterall - we all support the same team.

I was happy with Tabs' output. I had a feeling he'd have an alright day seeing as it was probably the first time he's been named in a team we weren't expecting to be mauled by. It was the ideal opportunity for him to come out and show us his wares, and we got a taste. The SCG might not be such a great ground for him though considering the lack of room to lead on.

Stan's brother used to load trucks down at the Arnott,Mills and Wares Biscuit factory on South Terrace salim malik.He was a Magro without the aggro,still built like a bobcat tho':D

Keyboards and opinion forums do funny things to people. There would barely be any conflict at all if forums about our favourite teams were discussed in person rather than easily misconstrued when in writing. They certainly wouldn't deteriorate into the brawls on here, afterall - we all support the same team.

I was happy with Tabs' output. I had a feeling he'd have an alright day seeing as it was probably the first time he's been named in a team we weren't expecting to be mauled by. It was the ideal opportunity for him to come out and show us his wares, and we got a taste. The SCG might not be such a great ground for him though considering the lack of room to lead on.

Spot on .The pre GF meeting in Melbourne at the Carlton Pub with most who post on here was one of the best footy nights I've been to
There was nil animosity from a huge cross section of supporters.Meeting posters in person give a whole new meaning to a blind date;)

Stan's brother used to load trucks down at the Arnott,Mills and Wares Biscuit factory on South Terrace salim malik.He was a Magro without the aggro,still built like a bobcat tho':D

Scon are you of an earlier Fremantle vintage
If you remember Mills and Wares you must be

The girls who worked at the biscuit factory had a very unusual initiation for the young guys who started on the floor there.
It involved a milk bottle and then trying to get it of an enlarged private part:p