Max King

• Thread starter Thread starter PJays

That's because they were born in the 60's. They were tall 40 years ago, hence why they were key position players.

Access to protein and other factors has increased average height in Australia so it's all relative.

True, and I am not saying this is an excuse but it is undoubtably harder for a 200cm player to kick the ball accurately compared to a 188cm player.

Still, King should be better, but he does have a more difficult situation than earlier generations of key forwards.

I think your analysis is great for a 5 year old. Any intelligent adult will pick many holes in it.

Great waste of time to prove very little.

Well there wasn’t too much analysis in my post, mainly just facts showing where Max sits in the AFL for average scoreboard impact in 2022. I didn’t invent the facts, I just posted them.

But if you are an intelligent adult, pick away at the detail in the post all you like, I welcome it. 😁

True, and I am not saying this is an excuse but it is undoubtably harder for a 200cm player to kick the ball accurately compared to a 188cm player.

Still, King should be better, but he does have a more difficult situation than earlier generations of key forwards.
Interesting theory, I'd say anecdotally that we're getting more agile as well for bigger heights, hence why we have midfielders the size of the old key forwards. I recon the bigger factor would be game style and the running that key forwards now have to do would leave them much more tired having shots at goal. Back in the Dunstall / Lockett days they barely left the forward 50 and only really played 1-1 unless a defender wanted to have his face caved in.

This is a massive reach 🤣 The reason people are ripping in is because Saints fans have been saying he's a generational talent all year
So we rip apart Ugle Hagan the same way, Do we? Not a stretch at all.

If he played for literally any other Victorian team (especially a Big 4 team) or an interstate team from a footy state this thread would be at least twice as large with the pile on. Your victim complex is wrong
Deluding yourself with that thinking. Saints are aways attracting more criticsm than any other team.

I don't agree.

Personally, having played my footy as a key forward, my main interest in footy has always been kicking goals and watching guys kicking goals.

Nothing bothers me more than a potential gun young key forward that is wasting their career because they can't fu***ng kick!

It's infuriating to be honest.

It's infuriating because it's not a particularly hard skill, and secondly because it should be relatively easy to teach.

And obviously, it literally costs their team games.

FWIW, I reckon the focus on King would be higher if he were at a big market club.
Sorry, did you play in the AFL. You undersand the pressure of having to performance each and every week.

Your lack of self-awareness is astounding
I like how you point out where I am wrong instead you attack my character. Every game day thread for the Saints has the most amount of pages each week. Max King has been attacked from week two of the season, three separate threads about how bad the Saints are and you think I am not self aware. Okay.

Interesting theory, I'd say anecdotally that we're getting more agile as well for bigger heights, hence why we have midfielders the size of the old key forwards. I recon the bigger factor would be game style and the running that key forwards now have to do would leave them much more tired having shots at goal. Back in the Dunstall / Lockett days they barely left the forward 50 and only really played 1-1 unless a defender wanted to have his face caved in.
Was going to say similar, the modern players need to do a **** ton more running at a higher intensity and would definitely be a factor

If anything, Dogs fans have been saying Jamarra plays nothing like Franklin. He's quick and agile for his height, sure, but he's much more of a deep, contested marking forward who is quick on the lead.

Has been showing some moves up the ground though, tbf. But he's been ripped to shreds by the media until he started playing well a few weeks ago. The same media who started the whole comparison with Franklin.

Comparing someone to someone else is not saying they are the next Franklin.

I’m not a dogs fan and the way he plays IS like Franklin. So what.
It is when they literally said "he's the next Franklin". Saying he plays like Franklin is different but that's not what was being said. But this is beside the point that Max King is more scrutinised because he plays for St Kilda.

With the spotlight going to be firmly on him from here on in in regards to his kicking at goal meaning he’ll be under immense pressure every time he has a simple shot, it might be worth him seeking a trade to the GC to play with his brother and getting out of the AFL fishbowl in Melbourne.

Much better chance at some genuine team success too instead of the messiah complex that’s been happening to him from saints supporters since being drafted.

But he's been ripped to shreds by the media until he started playing well a few weeks ago.
I wish Max got the same amount of being "ripped to shreds" as JUH.

The same media who started the whole comparison with Franklin.
Because the Dogs fans started it and we all know that majority of media guys don't have an original thought of their own. Trawling twitter and Bigfooty so they can regurgitate someone else's point of view.

It is when they literally said "he's the next Franklin". Saying he plays like Franklin is different but that's not what was being said. But this is beside the point that Max King is more scrutinised because he plays for St Kilda.

I’ve literally seen 0 dogs fans say this

He’s not scrutinised more mate.

He’s scrutinised appropriately because
A) he IS a good player
B) he could be better
C) he has a notoriously well publicised problem. Players who can’t catch/mark a ball, hit a target by hand, make a tackle, whatever, they don’t get put under the blowtorch. Key forwards who can’t kick do.
D) he has a twin who plays the same role
E) he plays for a team who is on the fringes of being good so they NEED their blue chip capable players to stand up and when the season has been on the line he hasn’t.

That’s not disproportionate criticism. I think you’ll find most people in this thread think he’s a gun but quite simply he hasn’t produced enough yet to become the player that most of us think he can be

He’s scrutinised appropriately because
A) he IS a good player
That's a lie, he's scrutinised because some Saints fans have called him elite to early.
B) he could be better
So could 90% of players, you will never get perfect games from any player for 23 weeks straight.
C) he has a notoriously well publicised problem. Players who can’t catch/mark a ball, hit a target by hand, make a tackle, whatever, they don’t get put under the blowtorch. Key forwards who can’t kick do.
So the fact he's kicked more goals than points is a indication that he has a problem? He's a young kid who didn't perform in a very big game for our team, he will learn from this and get better. Rather have it happen now and not in a grand final.
D) he has a twin who plays the same role
Has nothing to do with the scrutiny he gets, Ben didn't play this year. Grasping at straws.
E) he plays for a team who is on the fringes of being good so they NEED their blue chip capable players to stand up and when the season has been on the line he hasn’t.
I wonder how many other forward would go if they were constantly double to triple teamed all game. Max hasn't had the opportunity to take a game by the scruff of the neck because our f50 entries have been deplorable.
That’s not disproportionate criticism. I think you’ll find most people in this thread think he’s a gun but quite simply he hasn’t produced enough yet to become the player that most of us think he can be
I think you will find that most are salty because he plays for the Saints as per my original point.

That's a lie, he's scrutinised because some Saints fans have called him elite to early.

So could 90% of players, you will never get perfect games from any player for 23 weeks straight.

So the fact he's kicked more goals than points is a indication that he has a problem? He's a young kid who didn't perform in a very big game for our team, he will learn from this and get better. Rather have it happen now and not in a grand final.

Has nothing to do with the scrutiny he gets, Ben didn't play this year. Grasping at straws.

I wonder how many other forward would go if they were constantly double to triple teamed all game. Max hasn't had the opportunity to take a game by the scruff of the neck because our f50 entries have been deplorable.

I think you will find that most are salty because he plays for the Saints as per my original point.

Alright mate everyone else is wrong and you’re right.

King is f***en shit.