Max King

• Thread starter Thread starter PJays

🄰 Love BigFooty? Join now for free.

Ah, so he was not even the main forward in his team, he was only one of four equal main forwards….😁
Just because you're the main forward doesn't mean the team goes to you 100% of the time mate. Even spread, but sure Lewis had a great game. We pushed him wide for a lot of his shots so probably kicked as accurately as you would expect.

Jeez lucky for you he didn't live up to your expectations, margin would have been seriously nasty.

Was nasty enough - worst performance from Hawthorn in a long time. I'll keep an eye on him now though.

It's good to see Saints fans so excited. As the Willy / Biff Loman of Australian sport, fantasy and going early is part of St Kilda's survival despite failure superceded by more failure.

ā€œPop! I’m a dime a dozen, and so are youā€

What's the actual point of this post, just something to make yourself feel better?

In the short/medium term, I think his development will depend somewhat on the Saints having a strong forward line around him. Currently it seems to be working well with Membury there, one of Ryder/Marshall rotating as another tall, Wood chipping in, etc. Spreading the load makes it much harder for opponents to double-team and aggressively go after him personally.

If it gets to the point where he is forced to bear the KPF load alone, and it becomes a game of "Just bomb it long to him and expect him to outmark 3 other blokes", it might get very difficult for him.

In time, he may well develop into that Hawkins-like forward, where he really can dominate a forward line by himself and the Saints really can "Bomb it long to Maxy". But for now, it's important that the Saints help protect him by opening up as many different avenues to goal as possible.

A 22 goal effort with multiple 3-4 goal kickers looks like they're on the right track so far.
Ratts made the comment in the presser after the game that we were too King-conscious early in the game.

Ah so even being completely fed for a significant part of the game three separate teammates kicked just as many goals as King. 😁
No, even being completely double and triple-teamed because we were so predictable he still kicked 4 goals, gave off two others, missed 3 others, and took 7 marks inside 50.

I'm sensing a lot of jealousy in this thread from supporters of teams that don't have Max King in them, I'd be jealous too if I was them, he is a weapon.

No, even being completely double and triple-teamed because we were so predictable he still kicked 4 goals, gave off two others, missed 3 others, and took 7 marks inside 50.

Jeez. I actually want the Saints to do well. But you are sounding way too much like a Carlton supporter. šŸ˜‚

Lol @ anyone saying Max King isn't a jet, or underrating him. Unreal form, playing super good footy and high on confidence. Who else is there? Naughton is a defender turned forward who can't kick to save his life, McKay whilst a Coleman medalist is great but until he presents at the footy like King he won't string together big performances like this week in, week out.

Naughton and McKay probably have more attributes on paper but until it translates into consistent performances how can anyone argue that Max King isn't the premier forward in the comp right now?
Errrr….17 other clubs jealous of St Kilda. 😱. I. Don’t. Think. So. 😁

And yes, anyone would take Max King off of the Saints.

Errrr….17 other clubs jealous of St Kilda. 😱. I. Don’t. Think. So. 😁
As the top contributor to this thread you have spent the entire time shit stirring & trolling. Quite frankly it’s incredibly boring & it has brought the conversation down to the gutter. Have you got nothing better to do?

13BFFDF7-493C-4F41-A8CC-F3C4FA9D5BC4.jpeg

No worries, next time I'll start a thread on that draft's #1 pick, Sam Walsh

Cos you know, I watch heaps of Carlton matches and I know Walsh's game inside out

I've done plenty of research on him, and I'll contribute something worthwhile. People will love it

Yeah, I watch Carlton every week.

And some forum purist thinks you shouldn't start threads on your own players :oops:
The biggest issue with this is posting it on the main board and expecting insightful discussion from greater than 1% of replies as these days it's full of degenerates and a poor man's bay13, exhibit A is the excessive use of emojis and short replies that don't contribute anything.

You could write a quality analysis and be met with a "yeh but nah".

My 2cents - king is going great, beneficiary of some much improved ball movement, the paddy/Marshall combo and a squad that's not messing around with structure each week or even mid game at times. Definitely a great forward line centrepiece so long as we keep getting the ball in there, brings it to ground when he's out of position a lot and we are getting reward at ground level with our forward pressure play. Like many I think we will be elite for a long time in the current saints style and team composition.

Apart from 5 minutes against Fremantle, one quarter on a novice player v Richmond and some junk time goals what has he done this year? Ok, he has taken 11 contested marks, but apart from that what has he done? Ok, he is averaging 15 disposals per game, but apart from that what has he done....?
Classic ruse by Meteoric Ruse here

You sound like the old Demtel ads... in reverse

Apart from leading the Coleman, what else has he done?

Apart from leading the comp in contested marks, what else has he done?

Apart from taking two games by the scruff of the neck in the 2nd half and leading St Kilda to victory, what else has he done?

What else?

Nothing? He must be useless!

Max King is a passenger. In the same way that Geelong weren't a "premiership contender" in 2013 and 2020 hey? ;)

I think you're a bit more obsessed with me than I am obsessed with Max King :thumbsu:

Ah yes, Max ā€œThe Junk Timeā€ King strikes again, I don’t understand why people rate this guy. He is one of the biggest downhill skiers I’ve ever seen. He gets given a bath against any competent defender and only gets goals against mismatches. He won’t get anywhere playing at St Kilda, yet people are already putting him in the HOF, crazy.

Ah yes, Max ā€œThe Junk Timeā€ King strikes again, I

People keep referring to junk time

Yesterday he kicked most of his goals when the game was won, agreed

But against Freo- Saints 13 points down in 3rd term. King kicks 3 in a row. Saints 5 points up. Saints go on to win by 10

Against Richmond- 4 pts down at 3Qt time. King kicks the first 2 goals of the 4th. Kicks 2 more later in the term. Saints win by 33

He was one of the most influential players on the ground in the 2nd half of both games

I mean, say he's overrated, unproven, whatever

But "junk time guy" Etc is false

But against Freo- Saints 13 points down. King kicks 3 in a row. Saints 5 points up. Saints go on to win by 10

Against Richmond- 4 pts down at 3Qt time. King kicks the first 2 goals of the 4th. Kicks 2 more later in the term. Saints win by 33

He was one of the most influential players on the ground in the 2nd half of both games

Stop taking the bait.

Trolls are clearly here to stir the pot, they don't actually believe what they are saying just trying to get a reaction which you're giving them.

Ah yes, Max ā€œThe Junk Timeā€ King strikes again, I don’t understand why people rate this guy. He is one of the biggest downhill skiers I’ve ever seen. He gets given a bath against any competent defender and only gets goals against mismatches. He won’t get anywhere playing at St Kilda, yet people are already putting him in the HOF, crazy.

Exhibit B

But against Freo- Saints 13 points down in 3rd term. King kicks 3 in a row. Saints 5 points up. Saints go on to win by 10

Rich- Saints kicked 6-7 goals in a row before he kicked his first. We were already done. He also started kicking goals once grimes went down, a 32 year old Tarrant gave him a bath for 3 Qtrs. I think he was up against Rioli for the 4th qtr, massive mismatch like a mentioned previously.

hawks- obviously junk

Freo- It’s Freo, they have one of the worst back lines in the league.

This guy is like Mason Cox, plays 3 good games a year against bottom 10 teams. If he gets 4 goals against Melbourne, Cats or lions you let me know.

Pains me to say it but he would have to be the most valuable player in the league, It's scary how good he is going to be.

I think of all the mistakes the Suns have made in the past, not drafting both King twins will be the one that comes back to bite them. Especially if one or both of Luko and Rankine leave.

If he gets 4 goals against Melbourne, Cats or lions you let me know.
You do realise he ripped Geelong a new one both times we played them last year yeah?

He also comprehensively beat Andrews in our win over Brisbane up there last year.

And he had 3 goals up in the blink of an eye against Wietering following on from his 6 against West Coast, until the rest of the team stopped playing and we hardly got it anywhere near him for the rest of the game. Ended up with 4.

Was also giving Balta a lesson early in our game against you last year before again the rest of the team pulled up stumps and we ended up going down by 80 points.