Max King

• Thread starter Thread starter PJays

You do realise he ripped Geelong a new one both times we played them last year yeah?

He also comprehensively beat Andrews in our win over Brisbane up there last year.

And he had 3 goals up in the blink of an eye against Wietering following on from his 6 against West Coast, until the rest of the team stopped playing and we hardly got it anywhere near him for the rest of the game. Ended up with 4.

Was also giving Balta a lesson early in our game against you last year before again the rest of the team pulled up stumps and we ended up going down by 80 points.

Ok, so that’s 3 games out of 22 and he’s not even getting the best defender, that’s my point.

Rich- Saints kicked 6-7 goals in a row before he kicked his first.

Well someone did not actually watch the game then.

In that sequence King kicked goals 4, 5, 7 &8.

His first gave St Kilda the lead.

1649662735197.png

We were already done.

Err no. See above. Or do the Tigers throw in the towel after 3 goals in a row against them, with a whole quarter to go and less than a goal behind?

He also started kicking goals once grimes went down,

He also started kick more goals after Higgins went off.

Grimes was having a quiet game and was mainly on Hayes. Only 1 mark and 5 disposals in two thirds of the game. Very low by what Grimes used to be capable of.

a 32 year old Tarrant gave him a bath for 3 Qtrs.

Just a pity hat the game goes for 4 quarters then.
I think he was up against Rioli for the 4th qtr, massive mismatch like a mentioned previously.

Err no.

King is still inconsistent, but he is also still young and has played just 42 games. In another season or two he will have a stronger body, be more experienced and will probably be more consistent.

View attachment 1369331

Err no. See above. Or do the Tigers throw in the towel after 3 goals in a row against them, with a whole quarter to go and less than a goal behind?

Grimes was having a quiet game and was mainly on Hayes. Only 1 mark and 5 disposals in two thirds of the game. Very low by what Grimes used to be capable of.

Err no.

Jeez, anyone would reckon he is the next George Young the way you clowns are carrying on. 😂

LOL, I haven't actually made any claims about how good Max King is in this thread.

I was just rebutting a poster who that was making bogus claims about the goal scoring sequence of King in the Tigers game.

And yes Young on a dodgey knee made for a pretty good full forward.

Ah yes, Max “The Junk Time” King strikes again, I don’t understand why people rate this guy. He is one of the biggest downhill skiers I’ve ever seen. He gets given a bath against any competent defender and only gets goals against mismatches. He won’t get anywhere playing at St Kilda, yet people are already putting him in the HOF, crazy.

Agreed he is flipping shit and a bust. End thread

What's the actual point of this post, just something to make yourself feel better?
It's called trolling. It's the interwebz version of having a few drinks and forgetting about life for a while.

View attachment 1369331

Err no.

King is still inconsistent, but he is also still young and has played just 42 games. In another season or two he will have a stronger body, be more experienced and will probably be more consistent.

I’d rather take Balta, although he’s not as good a forward as King his versatility makes him more valuable. I’d like to see how King goes in Def or Ruck, he’d blow over like paper hahah

You'd take Balta over King? Are you joking?

Who cares how King is as a defender or ruck? haha he's going to be a genuinely scary prospect for any defender in the comp, if he isn't already. Did anyone care if Rooey could ruck or go into defense? I was certainly happy seeing him at half-forward dominating instead but sure Balta might be more versatile.

Seems like Max King is not that good. We could use an agile tall forward so Max King come along and the Saints can take our future 2nd rounder as compensation. Surely that would be fair a deal for the Saints right?

I bet you'd take Matthew Richardson over Tony Lockett too, cos Lockett only played full forward but Richo finished his career on the wing.

I'd like to see how Plugger goes on the wing!

I bet you'd take Matthew Richardson over Tony Lockett too, cos Lockett only played full forward but Richo finished his career on the wing.

I'd like to see how Plugger goes on the wing!

If you think 1 year on the wing is the same as what I’m saying about Balta you have no clue and need to go to bed.

Lockett is better than Richo what a stupid comparison.

If you think 1 year on the wing is the same as what I’m saying about Balta you have no clue and need to go to bed.

Lockett is better than Richo what a stupid comparison.

Assuming you're being serious and not trolling.....

It all depends how good the players are.

An All Australian who only plays one position is obviously still more valuable than a good contributor who capably plays multiple positions. Even multiple important positions.

But if someone can play All Australian level at multiple positions, or All Australian level at one position and very good footy at another (say Dusty Martin or Gary Ablett Junior, midfielders but could switch forward and kick a bag of goals) then that's probably the most valuable type of player.

But, King has been at All Australian level as a KPF over the past 13 games. What position is Balta playing AA level at?

You'd take Balta over King? Are you joking?

As a utility yes, Balta is one of our best defenders and forwards. He can also help in the ruck. He has played well in finals whereas King hasn’t shown he can (and probably will never will) achieve ANYTHING significant in finals. Even Membrey and Butler and better than him in your own team ffs hahah

Assuming you're being serious and not trolling.....

It all depends how good the players are.

An All Australian who only plays one position is obviously still more valuable than a good contributor who capably plays multiple positions. Even multiple important positions.

But if someone can play All Australian level at multiple positions, or All Australian level at one position and very good footy at another (say Dusty Martin or Gary Ablett Junior, midfielders but could switch forward and kick a bag of goals) then that's probably the most valuable type of player.

But, King has been at All Australian level as a KPF over the past 13 games. What position is Balta playing AA level at?

King won’t get AA this year so that doesn’t even matter. Probably wait to see how the boys turn out. They are a similar age and will both get AAs in the future. Balta has played forward for like 3 games and has kicked a bag of 3-4 I think, imagine how good he’d be if he played as many games as King as a forward.

Seems like Max King is not that good. We could use an agile tall forward so Max King come along and the Saints can take our future 2nd rounder as compensation. Surely that would be fair a deal for the Saints right?
Mate we would accept a 4th and a bag of twisties for king.

2nd is just too much.

As a utility yes, Balta is one of our best defenders and forwards. He can also help in the ruck. He has played well in finals whereas King hasn’t shown he can (and probably will never will) achieve ANYTHING significant in finals. Even Membrey and Butler and better than him in your own team ffs hahah

Go watch the elimination final of 2020 and see how King goes.

King won’t get AA this year so that doesn’t even matter. Probably wait to see how the boys turn out. They are a similar age and will both get AAs in the future. Balta has played forward for like 3 games and has kicked a bag of 3-4 I think, imagine how good he’d be if he played as many games as King as a forward.

Please tell me you're no older than 14?