Injury Max King's knee

• Thread starter Thread starter Mowman

Jeez can you actually imagine him playing some footy for us again? Would be a massive lift. Surely he's aiming at VFL in a fortnight or so.

VFL fixture has home games as:

This week Richmond (probably too soon)
The Suns ( 25 days time)

Coburg away sandwiches these games (2 weeks away). But that just seems unrealistic as it’s away and you can’t control the quality of the ground etc

Animated GIF

You Can Do It GIF by chuber channel

I'd dearly love to be proven wrong with Max playing for Sandy in a few weeks then back into the senior team for the last few months of the season...but I just can't get past the likelihood of hearing about another "minor setback" which turns from 2-3 weeks into TBC and the whole cycle repeats.

Anyway you look at it is hard to see Max having much impact this season. Even if he is ready to go in 2 - 3 weeks it is going to take him quite a while to get back into AFL match day mode. I wold think the club would be happy to use the games Max can play this year to just get his confidence and timing right. Not to mention fitness.

Also, I gotta say I don't think King's presence would do much for us unless we change our method of forward entries. When indiscriminately bombing it long to a pack, King isn't going to make much difference compared to what we already have.

Now if he is isolated one on one and that also means that Sharman and Owens are up against the second and third defenders, with everyone leading and using space in a coherent manner then we could be dangerous. Add in Higgins, Ryan, Hall and Nas as goal scoring threats and the forward to ine could be very potent with some thoughtful delivery. But I think Lyon truly believes in the bomb it deep and lock it in ideology.

What were we bemoaning when King was playing his last games? Constantly bombing it long to King. I'm guessing that's exactly what we'll resume doing if he ever makes it back.

I agree as good as can be he is not going to be our 2026 saviour, he has simply missed too much footy. I cant believe others wanting him to be re-introduced straight back into the AFL side, that would put unecessary pressure on the kid.

He should be eased back via the VFL and it might even be worth him playing more than one game there just to get some match fitness and feel back. He hasnt played for 2 years, it is going to take some time for him to get going let alone having full confidence in his body.

Imagine a forward line with a fit King and the Flying Viking...
Taura’s output last week was 2 kicks, 1 handball, 1 mark (albeit a MoTY contender) and 1 goal. Was just marginally better the week before. I have no doubt he will develop into a gun player but right now he is having very little impact and is still some way off being an attacking threat. Would just temper any expectations of a two headed forward line monster with Max.

I would like to see Tauru in for a couple more games at FF, as there seems to be no system in forward half, so at least having a big target might help those coming down the ground a bit, and it would help in his development. Swinging players all over the place, especially young inexperienced guys, doesn't help development or settle a team- it's what you experiment with in the VFL. If Max ever returns, then we gain one more skilled tall.

It's round 3 or 4 isn't it? There's heaps of time for him to make an impact, the season has barely started.

If he gets back the impact he will have will be enormous.

It will be nerve wracking though half expecting the next injury even before he plays.

I wouldn't read too much into the TBC tag. They are just doing that to take the pressure off the Club and Max with respect to setting hard deadlines. I could see him playing in some form 2 weeks after the Bye.
I think youre right and i think its the right approach its just WAY too late, the scrutiny exists because we spruiked him coming back so much prior.
Put him straight back in, what's the point of playing VFL.

Done that once before and he got targeted.
Nah, terrible call. Nothing can test and load the way game minutes can, cant do that on the big stage its exactly why we have a stand alone VFL team. I wouldnt leave him there too long (2-3 weeks max pun intended) but straight in off 2 years no games is ridiculous.
Tom Morris said this morning he is being told to look for another club by those around him.
It pains me to say it but i actually reckon there is some truth in the rumor. Friend and family would be looking at a fairly ****ed last 2 years for him with clear issues with the clubs management of his injuries and considering options.

I also expect thats as far as it goes, i couldnt imagine Max or his manager entertaining it and i certainly couldnt see the club entertaining it either. Pure speculation im sure but i can see a part of it being true whilst also being pointless.

Why would he look elsewhere when the club has done everything possible to support him.
If someone thinks another club has a good track record with injury management plus getting out of the footy bubble would help him and his fitness and mental health i could see why they might think it. Ultimately im saying i can see the logic in the suggestion (noting i cant see how he or the club would make it happen).

Wed want a decent trade haul and no one is giving that for him.
Well they won’t take him to Adelaide post bye rounds you wouldn’t think so that home game in a month looks most likely ?.
If we assume hes still a minimum of 4 weeks away from senior consideration (which id suggest is very very aggressive) then hes potentially available round 9 v GC in Darwin, no way in hell is he playing that game so the following week round 10 v Richmond would be the game and given round 11 is a short turn around (5 days) and a trip to Perth id expect youd rest him again. I believe it when i see it but i could see that being the internal roadmap.
Also, I gotta say I don't think King's presence would do much for us unless we change our method of forward entries. When indiscriminately bombing it long to a pack, King isn't going to make much difference compared to what we already have.

Now if he is isolated one on one and that also means that Sharman and Owens are up against the second and third defenders, with everyone leading and using space in a coherent manner then we could be dangerous. Add in Higgins, Ryan, Hall and Nas as goal scoring threats and the forward to ine could be very potent with some thoughtful delivery. But I think Lyon truly believes in the bomb it deep and lock it in ideology.

What were we bemoaning when King was playing his last games? Constantly bombing it long to King. I'm guessing that's exactly what we'll resume doing if he ever makes it back.
I think its more the structural thing plus hes going to split more contests than Sharman and Owens can when theyre opposed to Andrews/Weitering etc. I broadly agree with you though.