madcat001

Just wondering what everyones thoughts are on Maxy? Was just ok on friday night, but he has now played a couple of games and even though he didn't get heaps of the footy, he had that ferocious look on his face every time i saw him around the ball. How does everyone think he will play on saturday? To me he is the kind of guy who could really step up and take the game by the scruff and put his stamp on it. He has had a couple of games to get back into it, now is the time if you ask me.

thoughts?

Looked badly out of sorts Friday night for sure but with those couple of runs under his belt will hopefully be working his way into some form, a very valuable player and a huge asset if he can.

Got caught a few times early in the opening stanza, but kicked a goal and looked better as the game went on. Will be good for the run.

Come Grand Final day, if Max Rooke was on the field, I know I'd want him on my side.

Got caught a few times early in the opening stanza, but kicked a goal and looked better as the game went on. Will be good for the run.

Come Grand Final day, if Max Rooke was on the field, I know I'd want him on my side.

I agree. He had a flimsy start but as the game progressed he was getting in the right positions and applying heaps of pressure (not included on the stats sheet).

He will be better for the run; he is in the leadership group, a hard nut and can play anywhere - invaluable asset in a Grand Final!:thumbsu:

After half-time he seemed to be doing his best which involves applying heaps of pressure and crashing through packs. He should be good come Grand FInal day.

I reckon he'd be one of the guys who are carrying an injury at the moment. It's not rust coming back from a prior injury, it's the struggle in playing with a current one. Carrying something.

That said, he did contribute to pulling us over the line near the end of the game, in the clinches.

imo he looked shocking, but itd be such a tough call to drop him, found his feet later on, but about the first 5 times he went near it it was not good (eg over ran ball,missed it completely, or tried to take a tackle on and couldnt)

he is one of our most valuable assets, especially for finals football where ferocity and attack on the ball is a must! a mate watching on tv who'd never seen him before described him as an 'angry man'! but invaluable to our structure as i think we were either over-awed somewhat or extremely nervous and we need his toughness come saturday...

He wasn't the only one to be a bit unbderdone on Friday, he really should have been given a run in the vfl preliminary final. He has had a shocker of a season, two big injuries and a suspension, it would be just his luck for the yuear if he had to pull out.

Maybe he should have a haircut and a shave so he looks like a footballer.
It did wonders for Mooney.
I can imagine Port players wondering who the hell had just run through them.

Maybe he should have a haircut and a shave so he looks like a footballer.
It did wonders for Mooney.
I can imagine Port players wondering who the hell had just run through them.

Good call i like your thinking :thumbsu:

I thought he was ok. If he is fit enough I think he should be minding Chad Corns on Saturday.

imo he looked shocking, but itd be such a tough call to drop him, found his feet later on, but about the first 5 times he went near it it was not good (eg over ran ball,missed it completely, or tried to take a tackle on and couldnt)

Surprisingly, I think Max was intimdated and put off his game by the physical pressure, which is not something I would have thought I'd ever say.
But, in the first two quarters, as one commentator said, 'it seems like Max Rooke has a target on his back tonight'. He got pummelled in a couple of tackles, made a couple of errors, and then it seemed like he was worried for a while (e.g. when he had a clear ball, fumbled, tripped etc... looked like he was worried he was about to be hit).

He came good by the end though, and will deal out the physical stuff this Saturday too! :thumbsu: