mud n blood

Oct 18, 2000
"When a naked man is chas
Brisbane Lions
Lions & Coorparoo Roos
That's right .... and you heard it first on Big Footy !!!!

Mayne Football Club took the AFLQ (previously QSFL) to court on grounds of unjust eviction from the comp 2 years ago !!! As of yesterday, they won the right to full admittance back into the AFLQ premier division, with an undisclosed $$$$$ payout.

All previous Tigers players are now eligible to come back to the club immediately. Training began this week, and at this stage they will be playing out of John Wren Oval, the old Kedron ground.

Now the powers that be just need to get a club back into the Western Suburbs to have a comp that caters for all of Brisbane .... perhaps Western Magpies (West.Dist. / Sherwood) again ?

------------------
Anyway, that's what I reckon ........

mud n blood

This was the question that Mayne wanted answered in court. The draw came out 2 years ago and they weren't in it !!! Basically, they hadn't been in a GF since 1982 - hardly a selection basis for eviction.

Unlike the South Sydney case in the NRL, there were no criteria put to the clubs to weed out clubs not up to scratch. The best news is that all of Mayne's past players had clauses in the contracts with their new clubs to allow them to come back if Mayne were re-instated.

Thus 52 players at training the other night - amazing at 2 days notice!

That's great news! It's been a point of discussion at the Coburg-Fitzroy egroup as the initial pressure to exclude Mayne Tigers came from an AFL commissioned report into football in Queensland that was basically along the lines of 'How can we make the Brisbane Lions corporate structure feed off the game in Brisbane.
Mayne were seen as 'not on board'in the Lions business plan.
I don't know if these jokers, the AFL, understand what drives people to footy, it certainly isn't money.
Great news about the training numbers too!

Go tiges!

A couple of the hardheads I drink with are Mayne stalwarts, and they're still spewin' that they lost their ground (Windsor Pk) to a girls school of all things! To make it worse, they only just put up top-class lights months before getting the arse.

But they are playing out of another great old ground, the old Kedron oval.

I also see now that the Western Magpies (merger between Western Districts and Sherwood) have also been admitted to the AFLQ thus eliminating the bye. Good decision by the league for a change!

I'll see how Mayne go for numbers on-field this season .... I actually found my old boots on the weekend - dried mud and all !!!! Now this could be funny .... I dare not tell my wife, though!

The admission of Western Magpies to State League is mildly dubious. It was based on the club's financial strength and not on field performance.

They only finished about 7th in the AFLSQ first division last year. Now they have 7 weeks notice to rebuild the team into a State League outfit? They'll be the whipping boys of the comp for a few years yet.

They still desperately needed a west-side club, irrelevant of on-field performance. Remembering that club season performances are cyclic, their turn will come. Shit, West Brisbane won the flag in '96 after both merged clubs had won dick for years leading up to it. I even remember five SQAFA flags in a row that Sherwood won before entering the then QAFL.

I'm also fully aware of the Magpies' performances last year, but the club is still needed in the comp. It's only a matter of time before much of the younger talent around the area starts petering into Chelmer again, and others are enticed back to the club now that it's back in the top league. (You only have to look at the Coorparoo story to understand what I mean)

Anyway, I don't see them being the whipping-boys at all. I personally don't rate Redlands or Mounties any higher than Mayne, Magpies or Labrador. I think the bottom half of the table will be as tight as a fishes arse. I do agree though, that the top three (ie Sharks, Eagles, Cubs) will be a cut above the field.

Do you know which clubs most of the Mayne players have been pulled from? I'm thinking that Northern Eagles may have been decimated.

Not decimated, but a mate of mine reckons they've lost 3 seniors, Western Magpies 2, and Morningside 1. I think most ex-Mayne players went to lower division clubs anyway out of protest(ie AFLSQ), so that won't impact too much on AFLQ playing stocks at other clubs.

Mayne back in AFLQ !!!!