Mayne

• Thread starter Thread starter dugrene

Mayne playing in a forward line with Pav, mitch clarke(?) , Balla, Walters and
Fyfe/mora/hill/ zac/ sandi (rotation from midfield/ruck duties) takes on a different complexion.

Haven't read to the end of the thread yet, but guessing this was a drink 'n post? Pretty sure I've read some fairly insightful or well argued posts from you before. This isn't one of them. Hence the assumption.

Mentioning MJ and Mayne in the same sentence is only valid if they're used as contrasts. Mayne lacks skill but has heart. MJ has skill but lacks heart. I know which of the two I'd rather have in the team.

Lol. Yeah.

Still everything I said happened.
Hopefully next year we'll see a better Mayne.

Skinny Half Forward who has a decent mark and best asset is forward pressure

Being used as a leading/ 1 on 1 marking forward against guys who are about 10 kilos heavier and have a few cm's on him, Confidence is shot. However he still is not progressing which is a bad sign

Don' take it personally, he likes attacking logical and reasonable people.

Which fortunately renders you safe, as you will never be capable of posessing such posting ability.

hoss knows the situation.

And yeah, lose by 200 this week yakka?

300 perhaps?

I don't give a toss what other teams supporters think of our players, bring on the hate.

With Mayne, his kicking for goal is his biggest letdown this year, Pav up front with taking the no 1 defender, might just release a bit of pressure and straighten him up..:thumbsu:

As others have stated - hard to judge a 3rd tall who is playing CHF/FF because our #1 forward is playing midfield along with our # 1 small defender.

I think our player selection on match day position has been terrible. I pray that with a full and fit roster - our midfield can cope with Pav as FF and Broughton as a defender.

If we could find and settle that 2nd true tall, you would have to think it would make a big difference to Mayne.

Which fortunately renders you safe, as you will never be capable of posessing such posting ability.

hoss knows the situation.

And yeah, lose by 200 this week yakka?

300 perhaps?

Such a moron! That was my prediction of one game loser. Oh and it was right after all so it seems you are the one with no idea what you are on about. I still went to the game, enjoyed it and lost my voice before half time. Sounds like you think way too much of yourself. So why don't you leave the posting to people who actually understand Footy! Ok Muffin?

I'm sick of his lack of skill and poor judgement. Too many poor handpasses that go to a player not in a position of advantage, too many "clever" knock-ons that don't go to the team's advantage. Sometimes he just needs to take possession of the ball and wear the tackle rather than cough the ball up a the hint of pressure.

Is he playing as a forward?

Nope.

Then shut the **** up.

I'll say whatever the **** I like thanks very much.

Hasn't been just today, been the story for the last few weeks. I've brought it up in match threads in recent weeks. Playing out of position is no excuse for poor skills.

I'll say whatever the **** I like thanks very much.

Hasn't been just today, been the story for the last few weeks. I've brought it up in match threads in recent weeks. Playing out of position is no excuse for poor skills.

But you just make yourself sound stupid.

He is not a playmaker and to be judged as such is moronic of the highest order.

But you just make yourself sound stupid.

He is not a playmaker and to be judged as such is moronic of the highest order.

The bloke is afraid of being tackled, he has a tendency to go for the panic handpass just at the hint of pressure approaching. Nothing to do with playing forward or middle, as I said, he has been doing it for a while, including when he was in the forward line.

Gotta admit Mayne is starting to piss me off.

All I see now is a mop of silly hair running around in circles like the proverbial headless chook.

Too many times today he gave the ball off to players in a worse position. There wasn't even any pressure, real or perceived, it seems his first instinct is to dish off instead of kicking it himself.

Shouldn't every footballer these days be able to handball effectively when given time and space?

Mayne was shit-ass today, numerous turnovers and the vast majority with time to make the right decision. Midfield, forward who cares, basic football skill errors.

haven't read through the whole thread, but chris really needs to lift his game. right now i'm struggling to think of anything he does well apart from applying pressure and trying hard. That's commendable, but he's not a good contested mark, has shaky kicking skills, is a poor set shot for goal, handball is probably below afl standard. I like his endeavour, but it's not enough IMO.

His biggest asset is his hard leading, as the fastest player in the team.

But what isn't unusual, he hasn't been played in the that position for half a year. It's just rubbish coaching to not have someone playing to their strengths and fulfilling roles where their weaknesses are exposed.