Strategy MCC Grand Final Day Queue

When will you queue up at the MCC (Gate 2)

• I'm already in line

Votes: 7 16.7%
  • Friday morning

Votes: 1 2.4%
  • Friday afternoon

• Friday evening

Votes: 4 9.5%
  • Midnight - 2am

• 2am - 4am

Votes: 3 7.1%
  • 5am - 6am

Votes: 10 23.8%
  • 6am - 8am

Votes: 6 14.3%
  • After the gates open (I also like to live, dangerously!)

Votes: 9 21.4%

I'm restricted, what do people reckon is the likelihood they will end up opening it up for restricted? MCC have said they will assess after the inital queue gets through. I know most years they let a couple of restricted members through as it gets closer to bounce, but then again we haven't seen a Tiger GF in a while.

It's possible, but you'll need to be hanging around close to gate 2 and jump in quickly if they do!

G'day dude. I've been a ground attendant at the G for over 20 years. Best laugh I have all year is the massive shit fight when MCC members madly rush in to grab a decent seat when the gates open....very undignified behaviour indeed... anyway its highly unlikely they will open it up for restricted members this week. Too much demand from Richmond MCC members and neutrals as well. It's a 'fairytale' GF and everyone wants to be there. I expect the members line to stretch out to Wellington Pde by opening time on sat morning. If the Tigers were playing GWS or GC only then they would open it up. Can't recall too many times over the years they've opened it up for restricted members.
For those with standing tickets GET THERE EARLY TO GET A DECENT SPOT, that is, when the gates open at 9.30am. Otherwise you'll end up staring at people's heads all day. Good luck and enjoy the day, it simply fly's by.

It's possible, but you'll need to be hanging around close to gate 2 and jump in quickly if they do!
They said they will be selling them via Tickettek online if they do, I'll probs just sit in bed and wait on the laptop, too lazy for that :D

G'day dude. I've been a ground attendant at the G for over 20 years. Best laugh I have all year is the massive shit fight when MCC members madly rush in to grab a decent seat when the gates open....very undignified behaviour indeed... anyway its highly unlikely they will open it up for restricted members this week. Too much demand from Richmond MCC members and neutrals as well. It's a 'fairytale' GF and everyone wants to be there. I expect the members line to stretch out to Wellington Pde by opening time on sat morning. If the Tigers were playing GWS or GC only then they would open it up. Can't recall too many times over the years they've opened it up for restricted members.
For those with standing tickets GET THERE EARLY TO GET A DECENT SPOT, that is, when the gates open at 9.30am. Otherwise you'll end up staring at people's heads all day. Good luck and enjoy the day, it simply fly's by.
Appreciate the reply mate, I thought as much. Haha, even last week there were people running everywhere to try and grab a seat on level 2, very pompous of us. As I said, I'm resigned to the fact that I will be getting slaughtered at a mates BBQ on the day, and I'm not going to get hung up on it. Thanks again!

What are the actual benefits of MCC, aside from waiting a long time and paying lots of money to get something you can get through other means?
Assuming you are a full member, access to any AFL game at the MCG, access to any international cricket at the MCG. Assuming you are a proper sports nut you can quite easily make your money back compared to what it would otherwise cost you. That's not to mention the facilities which are 10x better, proper bars with full strength beers in glasses.

Do all full members have access to this GF?
How many years does it take to be a full member?
What's the cost before you are a full member?
What are the benefits before you are a full member?

G'day dude. I've been a ground attendant at the G for over 20 years.
Hey mate interested to get your thoughts on our situation as I've never had to queue up for the MCC. We have a mate who has an annual guest pass which will get him into the game in the mcc but not on Level 2/3. Accordingly we want to get a spot on Level 1 and as close to the front as possible. What time do you think we need to get there to camp out for a decent spot on Level 1. Cheers.

Do all full members have access to this GF?
How many years does it take to be a full member?
What's the cost before you are a full member?
What are the benefits before you are a full member?
Yes.
20 odd years until you are restricted. probably 5-10 before you are full.
The only difference in price is a joining fee of about 600 and then you pay an extra 200 a year compared to a restricted member, effectively the cost of a GF ticket.
The only difference really between full and restricted members is the ability to attend the GF.

A mate of mine called the MCC to ask his question and they said it's very unlikely that restricted get in.

Id just keep an eye on the MCC Facebook and Twitter page, they normally keep people pretty well updated there

Yes.
20 odd years until you are restricted. probably 5-10 before you are full.
The only difference in price is a joining fee of about 600 and then you pay an extra 200 a year compared to a restricted member, effectively the cost of a GF ticket.
The only difference really between full and restricted members is the ability to attend the GF.
And before being a restricted member you are a provisional member. From what I've heard new provisional members are going to be waiting a while before they become restricted members.
Provisional members miss out on all the big block busters, particularly relevant if you are a Tiger supporter.

Hey mate interested to get your thoughts on our situation as I've never had to queue up for the MCC. We have a mate who has an annual guest pass which will get him into the game in the mcc but not on Level 2/3. Accordingly we want to get a spot on Level 1 and as close to the front as possible. What time do you think we need to get there to camp out for a decent spot on Level 1. Cheers.

You’ll be able to sit on l2/3 for the grand final because everyone who gets in is a full member so they don’t bother checking. For level 1 I’d get there probably 3 hours before gates open

I believe that's what I have!

Beware. Admission is always subject to capacity. Unless you have a reserved seat in which case you can rock up any time you may find that you get to the ground and can't get in if you leave your run too late. Only 8500 walk ups will get in.

Thousands turned away this morning apparently.
c5240656c8e4aaa3701ea0c435e48214.jpg

What are the actual benefits of MCC, aside from waiting a long time and paying lots of money to get something you can get through other means?
If footy is all you're interested in, I reckon AFL membership is a far more attractive and value for money prospect. The wait lists are shorter (but also growing by the year). More and more people seem to be working this out.
I waited about 8 years to become a full member but I think that has blown out to over 10 years now.
My card has been used to secure a GF ticket the last 3 years. This year will be the first time I'll be using it myself! Although I doubt I would have been able to get one if I wasnt a full member.

I'd be getting there around 3-4am. Sounds tough but that's the price you have to pay for being a Richmond fan nowdays!!!!!!
Once you've grabbed your seat you can always go back home or to your car for a few hours sleep. The MCC reserve will be full by 9.30am tommorow I reckon. Maybe a few L4 seats in the back rows will be left by then.

Strategy MCC Grand Final Day Queue