MCDFNL 2025 discussion

• Thread starter Forest St End
  • Start date
  • Tagged users None

How many locals are playing at Talbot next year in there ones team? Looks like a lot of travelling from Melbourne and surrounding areas

With a population of just 400, it seems small. I estimate that about 60% of their club members are from Ballarat, similar to many clubs in this league.

Sherm41, how are they managing to pull all this off? They must have some strong recruitment capabilities, but I hope it doesn't come back to haunt them.

How many locals are playing at Talbot next year in there ones team? Looks like a lot of travelling from Melbourne and surrounding areas
What do you classify as local?
-Do they have to still live in the town?
-Do they have to live in a nearby town?
-Is it years served at the club?
-Do they have to of played juniors?

There is never going to be a lot of locals from a small country town. I think most clubs in the league would be in a similar position. These days people move out of the area looking for opportunity.

With a population of just 400, it seems small. I estimate that about 60% of their club members are from Ballarat, similar to many clubs in this league.

Sherm41, how are they managing to pull all this off? They must have some strong recruitment capabilities, but I hope it doesn't come back to haunt them.
A lot of recruiting comes down to connections these days. We’ve been fortunate to have a coach who has lots of connections.

New players also bring about new networks and new connections.

Winning games also helps.

What do you classify as local?
-Do they have to still live in the town?
-Do they have to live in a nearby town?
-Is it years served at the club?
-Do they have to of played juniors?

There is never going to be a lot of locals from a small country town. I think most clubs in the league would be in a similar position. These days people move out of the area looking for opportunity.
Sorry I Probably should rephrase that. It honestly looks like Talbot are recruiting a hell of a lot of players from Melbourne which is not a cheap exercise. So my question is how many of the team reside in melbourne?

The simple answer is, yes, we’ve got more coming from Melbourne than previous years.

That’s where our coach comes from so it’s only natural that he has connections down that way.

It no different to getting a coach from Ballarat, Bendigo or Geelong. They will recruit from areas where their connections are.

All recruits cost money, some just cost more than others based on a number of factors.

The simple answer is, yes, we’ve got more coming from Melbourne than previous years.

That’s where our coach comes from so it’s only natural that he has connections down that way.

It no different to getting a coach from Ballarat, Bendigo or Geelong. They will recruit from areas where their connections are.

All recruits cost money, some just cost more than others based on a number of factors.
Good luck for next year

Respectively, being on a committee at a footy club gives you access to the “official” books. Most committee people would have no idea of the inner workings of the football departments at clubs and what payments are being made.

The top 6 in this comp would be spending over the cap no worries at all.

I’ve been on the committee at a couple of clubs over the years and was heavily involved in a footy department at one, so have a fair idea of how it all works.

I watched a number of teams play live this year in this comp and the Central Highlands so you get a feel for things. Carisbrook’s mid year recruits wouldn’t have come cheap. Navarre clearly topped up late to make a run. Talbot clearly paying a bit but had them from the start. Trentham loaded up a bit this year, good on them got the choccies. Natte have always paid plenty, but are very well run and family oriented. Reckon they’ll start to struggle over the next couple of years. Harcourts recruits out of the Bendigo league each year and that wouldn’t be cheap.
Apart from
It looks like Talbots is following what teams like Carisbrook, Trentham, Natte, and Harcourt have been doing for the past five years. When a team that has been struggling starts to do well, other clubs in the league often react negatively.

The word from the caravan park suggests that there must be a strong club atmosphere if they’ve managed to keep their entire team from last year and retain all there locals also which have battled it out over the past 10years

Maybe reiny Gunther’s cardboard is paying off finally.
I can’t recall Brook, Trentham, Natte or Harcourt going on a two year recruiting spree quite like Talbot.

Trentham the team to beat, no doubt 😀
Considering they are reigning premiers and beat Talbot quite convincingly at their home ground missing 4 of their top 8 players including their ruckman I would say yes they still sit as the team to beat ahead of Talbot.
Also pretty naive to think Talbot are the only team recruiting and improving for next year 😂
Carisbrook also looking better with Butler a massive inclusion.
Talbot recruiting well but they didn’t even make a prelim - so coming from a fair way back

Great to see Creek bringing a few bodies in with a crew coming out from Melbourne. Can’t find too much info on them all but I believe Daniel Watson is a decent player. Hopefully they can continue to add to their list.

Rumours are that Avoca are a bit of a mess at the moment. Have barely re-signed anyone with no recruits on the horizon. Creek might get them this year!
Watson is a previous B&F at Watsonia. He's a good player even though he has not played as much football in recent years, but he'll help Creek!

Brendan Mcredmond paying a lot of blokes under the table through his company for talbot.

"Haha, I’ve known him since school, and I can confidently say he wouldn’t be giving shit . He’s a local at Talbot and has been supporting the club for quite a while being there major sponsor

Defamation is serious, especially when it comes to slandering a guy and his business.

Time for Maryborough to get their act together and put together a respectable pitch to the clubs. As I’ve said before, it’s put up or shut up time. No more excuses, just roll the sleeves up and get the footy club back up and running.

I’m very hopeful they’ll be let into the comp. Hopefully their committee and supporters going nuclear at all the other clubs on social media doesn’t have a lasting effect.

Time for Maryborough to get their act together and put together a respectable pitch to the clubs. As I’ve said before, it’s put up or shut up time. No more excuses, just roll the sleeves up and get the footy club back up and running.

I’m very hopeful they’ll be let into the comp. Hopefully their committee and supporters going nuclear at all the other clubs on social media doesn’t have a lasting effect.
I hope so. Ive only lived In town for 18 months but from what I hear from people close to it, the culture within the club was very toxic. I think that's why a suprisingly large amount of people have no sympathy for the club. If they were to come back I hope for the club and towns sake there's alot of fresh faces including on the committee.

Needs a clean out basically.

Just had a beer with a Navarre icon. Telling me that they’re bringing quite a few in from St Arnaud and Avoca next year. Not all senior quality but handy additions across both grades. They’re pretty confident they’ll improve next season.

Few young fellas heading across from Avoca to Talbot as well.

Co-coach Nick Birthisel will be the St Arnaud link. Good time to get a few of his old mates with the Saints struggling on field. They are building nicely, and i'm sure they are leaving no stone unturned trying to get Josh Fowkes back.

I can see why a few of the young crew at Avoca might be getting fed up out there, but are they better off looking for senior opportunity elsewhere or doing something about it where they are? Hamilton is a good player, but as a 5 pointer he will struggle to see regular opportunity at the Botters unless there are plenty missing from week to week.

Talbot incoming recruits:
-Micallef: 5pp
-Cullinan: 2pp (Maybe 3)
-Mcdermott: 3pp
-Tarzcon: 4pp
-Alkemade: 4pp
-Brock: 4pp
-Hamilton: 5pp

That's 27 points from the announced recruits so far, though i don't think Cullinan will be good enough for seniors there and also Hamilton will be squeezed out for that reason. I'm sure he is leaving decent money behind at Avoca. Probably says more about Avoca.

MCDFNL 2025 discussion