MCDFNL 2026 discussion

• Thread starter Thread starter Tandy

What association do you have with Talbot Pete, or are you having a crack at a couple of Ex Riddell premiership players here

You've got the cat by the tail champ, the players are legends.....I'm watching the club to see if they give the boys the support they deserve. I mentioned the club, not a player 🤷‍♂️

Scary to think that a couple of their key backs in Hogg and McBride are smashing Bintangs in Bali!
Both teams had notable absentees, and in the context of Round 1, it’s far too early for definitive judgments. There’s a long season ahead, and plenty of scope for systems and structures to be refined as sides settle.

Sneaky_Beaver53, what’s the goss from your game? Brook just too good on the day?

You've got the cat by the tail champ, the players are legends.....I'm watching the club to see if they give the boys the support they deserve. I mentioned the club, not a player 🤷‍♂️
Righto, sounds like we’re really lifting the standards then. We’ll get the valet parking sorted for the boys on arrival, complimentary mocktails at half-time, and a warm towel waiting as they walk through the rooms. Might even throw in post-game massage chairs, personal locker room attendants, and a charcuterie board instead of oranges.

And seeing as it’s Talbot, we’ll upgrade the caravan park too—private sites for each player, powered slabs, ensuite vans, maybe even a little turn-down service with a mint on the pillow before game day.

Anything else you reckon we should roll out to serve them at the level they deserve, champ? 😛

Round 1 over reactions are fantastic. Plenty of teams won the flag this week in what would probably be a first for the league and many leagues across Australia.

Two games that were of mild interest Navarre and Natte with Navarre getting on top with a few still to come in, and secondly the Lexton Maryborough game. I thought Lexton had recruited ok and Maryborough had done sweet fa but the Giants come out and got the win. Could be a long year for Lexton if thats the case (assuming they had everyone around I understand round 1 and 2 are usually a bit hit miss).

Other than that Carisbrook with an early statement, Harcourt trying to amend a wasted chance last year along with Talbot. Will be plenty of good footy this year and also plenty of floggings would be on the cards too.

Both teams had notable absentees, and in the context of Round 1, it’s far too early for definitive judgments. There’s a long season ahead, and plenty of scope for systems and structures to be refined as sides settle.

Sneaky_Beaver53, what’s the goss from your game? Brook just too good on the day?
Good to hear from you mate, hope you're well and the van is in good knick. Starting to get cold over this way.
See what you did there with the deflection - well played 😜. $30k well spent on Saturday I hear.

Yes, some key players missing which didn't help but Brook far too good for us on Saturday.
Just like Natte were in round 1 last year.
Can you remind me again what happened after that? Sorry mate, grandkids have been working me overtime lately and memory is a little grey. Old age I guess.

Good to hear from you mate, hope you're well and the van is in good knick. Starting to get cold over this way.
See what you did there with the deflection - well played 😜. $30k well spent on Saturday I hear.

Yes, some key players missing which didn't help but Brook far too good for us on Saturday.
Just like Natte were in round 1 last year.
Can you remind me again what happened after that? Sorry mate, grandkids have been working me overtime lately and memory is a little grey. Old age I guess.
Good to hear from you too mate — still ticking along nicely. Just had solar put on the van, so I’m basically living the dream now… off-grid and dodging the cost of living crisis 😛 Plenty of room for two as well if you need somewhere to park up after a beautiful day out at Talbot — premium caravan park views straight onto the oval, can’t beat it.

Brook are very good, no doubt — classy outfit, recruited well and Wetho will have them humming. They’ll be thereabouts again.

Funny you mention that Round 1 loss last year… I keep hearing our season’s over already, so it’s a nice little reminder of how those things can turn out. Long year ahead yet.

And I’ve got to say — with grandkids keeping you busy, I’m impressed you’re still firing off BigFooty posts. Did you type that up yourself or scratch it onto a slate board and get one of the young ones to upload it for you? 🤣

Went and watched the Giants v Lexton on Saturday. Lexton very young. Giants have def improved. Great to see young Bates back at the Giants he can play and Rhys Egan played well back in Giants colours. Whilst they won’t be world beaters I don’t think they’re a bottom 3 outfit this year which makes me happy.

Round 2

Creek vs Talbot - Creek have recruited which is great to see. Would love to see them rise up the ladder. In saying that Talbot should win comfortably I would hope.

Navarre vs Newstead- Whilst Newstead had a good win last week, Navarre at home for me. 5-7 goals.

Harcourt vs Dunolly - Harcourt with some handy inclusions this week, will be too slick for Dunolly. 70+ points.

Maldon vs Lexton is probably match of the round. Always tricky to play Maldon at home. Both teams are young. Flip of the coin.

Carisbrook vs Natte, another great game after an extra time thriller last year in the prelim. Brook should be too strong. 40+ points.

Avoca vs Giants- Giants with a great start to the year last week, Giants too strong here.

Harcourt vs Dunolly - Harcourt with some handy inclusions this week, will be too slick for Dunolly. 70+ points.
I ventured out to watch a bit of this game. I grabbed a record at the gate, was shocked to see Dunolly had, at a guess, only 15 players listed. From what I could see though they fielded two full teams in both the reserves and seniors. Hats off to them, that’s a bloody good effort.

Footy wise, the Lions moved the ball with relative ease as they were much fitter and better skilled than the Eagles. In patches the Eagles muddied the game up well to stop the bleeding, this game had potential to blow out to 180+.

Harcourt seemed to be undersized in their ruck stocks. Their usual suspects played well. Jack Threlfall is an absolute star, he would have to be top 5 players in the comp.

Dunolly have some talented players on the park, but the gap between 1 and 22 on their list is going to make things very challenging this year.

I ventured out to watch a bit of this game. I grabbed a record at the gate, was shocked to see Dunolly had, at a guess, only 15 players listed. From what I could see though they fielded two full teams in both the reserves and seniors. Hats off to them, that’s a bloody good effort.

Footy wise, the Lions moved the ball with relative ease as they were much fitter and better skilled than the Eagles. In patches the Eagles muddied the game up well to stop the bleeding, this game had potential to blow out to 180+.

Harcourt seemed to be undersized in their ruck stocks. Their usual suspects played well. Jack Threlfall is an absolute star, he would have to be top 5 players in the comp.

Dunolly have some talented players on the park, but the gap between 1 and 22 on their list is going to make things very challenging this year.
What’s happened with Dunolly? They finished mid pack last year and finals the year before.