MCG tenants on Grand Final day

The soccer world cup doesnt require 100k stadium nor does the superbowl.

The world cup is the biggest sporting event on the planet

In the 21st Century the World Cup Soccer Final hasn’t had a crowd of only 60k and the NFL Super Bowl has NEVER had a crowd of only 60k.

Those events may not need 100k, but they need more than 60k

I think sometimes we have to look at what we have, I have no idea why Melbourne a century ago chose to build such a big stadium in such a small country but how lucky is the a Country to have it.
Not many countries these days would build a stadium the size of the MCG because it’s not required anymore to have a stadium that size, the world revolves around money now and smaller stadiums with higher ticket prices bring the same result.
But we have this great stadium and should sometimes just say how lucky are we in this very small country.
Does that mean the AFL could not get the same financial result at another stadium? Of course it doesn’t but when you have something so great why not utilise it.
Does it provide some advantages to certain teams? Yes of course it does but that makes winning there all the more sweeter.
The MCG is a historic great stadium and it is in our country, not to bad I reckon.

The soccer world cup doesnt require 100k stadium nor does the superbowl.

The world cup is the biggest sporting event on the planet

Consistently all the interstaters have agreed that a 50 or 60k stadium wont work - 70k is around the right size for an affordable stadium that wont be a white elephant the rest of the time

The world cup is every 4 years, and it includes many different games at many different stadiums.

Superbowl is a game between the winners from 2 different leagues.

Try again. There are probably better examples you could use.

Melbourne hosted WC at the G three times in the 2010s.

WC won all three games

LOL

You don’t do numbers do you, just your feeels.
Why let facts get in the way

Well yes - wc won all 3 - if it wasnt for melbourne and carltons utter shitness and ricmonds averageness that win percentage at the mcg would be close to zero.

Furthermore We only played hawks four times in the ‘10’s at the mcg

We only play once or twice a year there so you will be struggling to find many teams we have played there more than a few times because as we are always trying to tell you - if the gf is going to be at the g - we need to play mcg tenants at the g - not in tasmania - not in the northern territory.

But yeah something about facts .....

The world cup is every 4 years, and it includes many different games at many different stadiums.

Superbowl is a game between the winners from 2 different leagues.

Try again. There are probably better examples you could use.
The world cups a perfect example

You could sell out a 5 million seat stadium

Well yes - wc won all 3 - if it wasnt for melbourne and carltons utter shitness and ricmonds averageness that win percentage at the mcg would be close to zero.

Furthermore We only played hawks four times in the ‘10’s at the mcg

We only play once or twice a year there so you will be struggling to find many teams we have played there more than a few times because as we are always trying to tell you - if the gf is going to be at the g - we need to play mcg tenants at the g - not in tasmania - not in the northern territory.

But yeah something about facts .....
Yeah almost as if the Pies touched you up what 7 times from 2010 to 2014, including a couple of finals losses to us

So yeah think it through, it isn’t hard to play at the G

You just battled to beat Collingwood, like all teams did back in the early 2010s

But yeah, bring up another s**t table that you clearly don’t understand properly

#eaglefacts

Yeah almost as if the Pies touched you up what 7 times from 2010 to 2014, including a couple of finals losses to us

So yeah think it through, it isn’t hard to play at the G

You just battled to beat Collingwood, like all teams did back in the early 2010s

But yeah, bring up another s**t table that you clearly don’t understand properly

#eaglefacts
Mate you just brought up my quoting melbourne and laughed that we only played them 3 times - yet one of the teams you quoted we played four times.

If we hadnt been scheduled to play your mob at the mcg in 2018 and beaten them - wed have gone into a gf facing a team on their home deck that we hadnt beaten there for 30 odd years.

You honestly think thats a fair shake?

You could sell out a 5 million seat stadium

Mate you just brought up my quoting melbourne and laughed that we only played them 3 times - yet one of the teams you quoted we played four times.
I said the eagles record in the 2010s was bad because you played Pies and Hawks there, and Pies and Hawks were good EVERYWHERE!

You were 0-11 v Pies and Hawks at the G from 2010 til 2018.

Take out Pies and Hawks games from the Eagles record and you have a winning record at the G!!

You are numbers don’t mix, we get it.

We also played melbourne there most years

Bzzt
‘Most year’

Bahahahaha

If we hadnt been scheduled to play your mob at the mcg in 2018 and beaten them - wed have gone into a gf facing a team on their home deck that we hadnt beaten there for 30 odd years.
And??
Richmond are on a 14 game win streak against the Lions, should the Lions have just not played the QF?

If you knew your stuff, you wouldn’t keep trotting out s**t that isn’t relevant.

I said the eagles record in the 2010s was bad because you played Pies and Hawks there, and Pies and Hawks were good EVERYWHERE!

You were 0-11 v Pies and Hawks at the G from 2010 til 2018.

Take out Pies and Hawks games from the Eagles record and you have a winning record at the G!!

You are numbers don’t mix, we get it.

‘Most year’

Bahahahaha

And??
Richmond are on a 14 game win streak against the Lions, should the Lions have just not played the QF?

If you knew your stuff, you wouldn’t keep trotting out s**t that isn’t relevant.

Take out pies and hawks..... you mean the teams weve played 3 of our 7 grand finals against?

And leave in richmond, melbourne and carlton.... the teams weve never played in gfs....

Thats your argument?

Im struggling to think of an argument thats less compelling

Take out pies and hawks..... you mean the teams weve played 3 of our 7 grand finals against?

And leave in richmond, melbourne and carlton.... the teams weve never played in gfs....

Thats your argument?

Im struggling to think of an argument thats less compelling
It is your 'inane' argument.

Look at MCG records for the last 10 years

Collingwood, Hawthorn and Geelong are great....Eagles are bad = must be evidence of advantage

Only problem is that

Collingwood, Hawthorn and Geelong all have better win loss records away from the G in the same period!

And that of the Eagles games at the G, they have gone 4-13 against those teams

Perhaps it is just that those teams were better than you?

Hawks started rolling in 2011

In 2011 They beat WC in Tassie
2012 R4 lost by 5 points to Eagles in Perth
2012 R23 Hawks win at G
2013 R2 Hawks win in Perth
2013 R12 win at Etihad
2014 Hawks win in Tassie
2015 Hawks win in Perth

Nothing to do with the G, Hawks beat your mob everywhere (as they did to most teams from 2011 through 2016).

Yet you flogs then try and latch on to Hawks winning GFs as some kind of evidence that it is an MCG thing!

LoL

It is your 'inane' argument.

Look at MCG records for the last 10 years

Collingwood, Hawthorn and Geelong are great....Eagles are bad = must be evidence of advantage

Only problem is that

Collingwood, Hawthorn and Geelong all have better win loss records away from the G in the same period!

And that of the Eagles games at the G, they have gone 4-13 against those teams

Perhaps it is just that those teams were better than you?

Hawks started rolling in 2011

In 2011 They beat WC in Tassie
2012 R4 lost by 5 points to Eagles in Perth
2012 R23 Hawks win at G
2013 R2 Hawks win in Perth
2013 R12 win at Etihad
2014 Hawks win in Tassie
2015 Hawks win in Perth

Nothing to do with the G, Hawks beat your mob everywhere (as they did to most teams from 2011 through 2016).

Yet you flogs then try and latch on to Hawks winning GFs as some kind of evidence that it is an MCG thing!

LoL
Im starting to think you are drunk.

Let me get this straight

You want me to adjust our mcg win loss record in the 10’s to remove the teams that were great - the ones we are most likely to play if we make it to a granny

And leave in the teams that were utter pants and we were never ever going to meet in a granny

And thats your idea of making us feel better about playing the tenants of the ground at their ground in the biggest game of the year?

Just ignore the results against the good teams?

That is the single most pants on head stupid thing ive ever read on big footy. Im dead set serious. Ive never read anything quite so utterly dumbfoundingly bovine.

Has it occurred to you that if we dont beat the good teams at the mcg we will never win a grand final

As its at the fu%^ing mcg?

I mean wtf?

It's not all about WCE. This same thing applies to every team.
Yes - they all - every single interstate team - has to play a grand final at a venue where we have rarely won and when we have won its been mostly against cellar dwellers

The vast majority of times weve played good teams there weve lost.

Yep - i understand alright

You want me to adjust our mcg win loss record in the 10’s to remove the teams that were great - the ones we are most likely to play if we make it to a granny
Not adjust, just get you to grasp the context...something you struggle with

Just ignore the results against the good teams?

That is the single most pants on head stupid thing ive ever read on big footy. Im dead set serious. Ive never read anything quite so utterly dumbfoundingly bovine.
You blokes do it all the time

Eagles are 3-10 in your time period against Pies and Hawks in non GF games at the G

But Eagles are 1-1 in GFs

Just like it is non-vic v vic as 9-9 in GFs

Yet you ignore the GF results showing any H&A advantage that may exist doesn’t seem to hold in GF.
Has it occurred to you that if we dont beat the good teams at the mcg we will never win a grand final

As its at the fu%^ing mcg?
No s**t.

You hv proved that when good enough you win, and when up against a better team you lose.

Yet are still fixated on the ground...you are like C.Scott, a nuffie ranting for the sake of ranting....primarily because you know you have the biggest advantage in the league with an actual proper home ground advantage - just like C.Scott

Yes - they all - every single interstate team - has to play a grand final at a venue where we have rarely won and when we have won its been mostly against cellar dwellers

The vast majority of times weve played good teams there weve lost.

Yep - i understand alright
That applies to all teams and grounds.

Nobody gave a s**t in the late 90s when Richmond, Collingwood, Melbourne and Hawthorn were s**t.

Teams had a great record at the GABBA for a decade, not because the ground is tough...because Brisbane were poor:

The vast majority of times you play a team better than you, you will lose.

Hawthorn were a better team than Sydney, Freo and West Coast.

Richmond were a better team than GWS

Dogs had a better September than Sydney (who already lost a final to GWS)

WC were a better team than Collingwood

Funnily enough the better team wins

Adelaide choked, mentally weak teams tend to do that

That applies to all teams and grounds.

Nobody gave a s**t in the late 90s when Richmond, Collingwood, Melbourne and Hawthorn were s**t.

Teams had a great record at the GABBA for a decade, not because the ground is tough...because Brisbane were poor:

The vast majority of times you play a team better than you, you will lose.

Hawthorn were a better team than Sydney, Freo and West Coast.

Richmond were a better team than GWS

Dogs had a better September than Sydney (who already lost a final to GWS)

WC were a better team than Collingwood

Funnily enough the better team wins

Adelaide choked, mentally weak teams tend to do that
Amazing how much stronger most teams are playing at their home ground.....

Adelaide richmond is the single greatest example of home ground advantage at the g

Both teams were dynamite at home and lame away.

Yet one team - the lower ranked team played at home and the higher ranked team played away.

Adelaide richmond is the single greatest example of home ground advantage at the g

Yet one team - the lower ranked team played at home and the higher ranked team played away.

Got to give it to Adelaide, even with all their faults, they dont whinge half as much as West Coast fans.

Yeah I tend to disagree we were bad away from VIC in 2017.

Rd 6 Adelaide hammered us by 76 points - they finished 1st
Rd 9 GWS beat us by 3 points - kicked a goal in the last minute and our winning goal was overturned on dubious evidence - GWS finished 4th
Rd 15 we beat Port away by 13 points - they finished 5th
Rd 19 we beat GC away by 33 points - they were trash
Rd 21 Geelong beat us by 14 points at their pencil ground - they finished 2nd
Rd 22 we beat Freo away by 104 points - they weren't much chop

Overall, we finished 3W and 2L in interstate matches. Including the Geelong game, that's 3 and 3. Considering the 3 matches we lost were against teams that finished 1st, 2nd, and 4th (with two of them very close matches), that's not too bad. So the whole Richmond were garbage away from the G in 2017 just isn't true.

The Crows shat themselves while the Tigers enjoyed themselves. Richmond punished them through pressure until the Crows folded. You can’t blame the oval for that. While I agree there is an advantage to the home side, that didn’t stop the Eagles winning the GF against the Pies at their home ground. I remember seeing your salty posts in 17. When the Eagles won last year, I thought it would shut you up, but no, you keep banging on about it.

This argument is pointless,
West coast beat a quality Collingwood outfit on their home ground in 2018.
Nothing can change the fact the gf is at the g.
And the funniest thing is, the thing that cost west coast their chance at a flag was getting pumped at home to hawthorn, a ground which has arguably the greatest home ground advantage in the league.
If west coast had won the flag this year we wouldn’t hear a word, it’s only when they lose that it’s #VICBIAS #FIXture and all the other whinging responses they come up with. Sore losers