MCG

soyouthink10

Obviously this is our first hit out this year at the MCG.

How do you guys think it will unfold us?

Will it suit our style? Or will it be a problem?

I am unsure and would be really interested to hear some thoughts. Obviously being able to play good footy at the MCG is so important as all finals are played there unless we head interstate if that is on the cards for us !

It'll be dry.
Melbourne area

Sunday 22 July

Summary
partly-cloudy.png

Min 7
Max 15
Partly cloudy. Winds south to southeasterly and light.

http://www.bom.gov.au/vic/forecasts/melbourne.shtml

Will be there with 3 or 4 Richmond mates. It will be my birthday so I couldn't think of a better present than the boys proving that we don't require Etihad to play our best football. I honestly think if it is dry (which TT has shown it is predicted to be) that the expanses of the 'G will suit our game style. It requires a high level of skill to execute at pace, and the width of the MCG will only make it easier to cut holes through the middle. If it's wet....not so confident we can produce the disposal efficiency required to make our game style a winning style.

Don't see the MCG being a major problem at all - our game style held up in Hobart, and its a match we should win.

I certainly won't be using the ground or conditions as excuses if we don't get over the line.

I think our recent MCG record is pretty good - probably because we usually play only Richmond or Melbourne there. I'm looking forward to it as well. I don't mind Docklands but the MCG is a very different experience.

Don't see the MCG being a major problem at all - our game style held up in Hobart, and its a match we should win.

I certainly won't be using the ground or conditions as excuses if we don't get over the line.
Our out door record this year is ordinary in general not many wins!

It will be my birthday so I couldn't think of a better present than the boys proving that we don't require Etihad to play our best football.
Heh, it was my birthday last week when we slapped Carlton around. Hopefully you can enjoy yours too. :D

I think the wide open spaces could expose us a little bit. If we have a big first half I could see us being a bit sluggish in the second half. Hopefully it is a slow sluggish first half then we can open them up in the second.

Our out door record this year is ordinary in general not many wins!

Thats true, but our form line when playing those games is different to now, plus the opposition needs to be accounted for in those losses.

PA is the only game we dropped outdoors that we were expected to win, and we all know what happened there :mad: Plus the MCG is hardly foreign to the majority of our players.

Will be there with 3 or 4 Richmond mates. It will be my birthday so I couldn't think of a better present than the boys proving that we don't require Etihad to play our best football. I honestly think if it is dry (which TT has shown it is predicted to be) that the expanses of the 'G will suit our game style. It requires a high level of skill to execute at pace, and the width of the MCG will only make it easier to cut holes through the middle. If it's wet....not so confident we can produce the disposal efficiency required to make our game style a winning style.

I'm still not so confident regardless of the weather.

Yeah. I was talking about this with a mate last night. If we continue the form we've created over the past month, I don't think it matters which Richmond turn up (Richmond of earlier in the year that looked the goods/Richmond of last week that were deplorable) - we'd have them covered. They do have a few decent inclusions - Martin, Maric particularly - but I think even if Petrie doesn't come up, Tarrant & Hansen (with Pedo coming in also trying to prove he's worthy) would still be a decent forward line to worry a leaky Richmond defence. Without Ziebell, it is a huge opportuntiy for Cunnington to prove he has what it takes, which personally I think he has it in spades. I guess it is just a matter of transferring our good form to a ground we haven't played on this year as yet, and dealing with a few unforseen lineup changes. If we are going to be a really good side going forward beyond 2012, a couple of untimely outs can't be an excuse for losing to a bottom 8 side.

I agree if we turn up as we have last month Richmond cant win. However, im not sure the real North Melbourne will turn up outside the dome.

No problem at all. I cannot wait to get back there again and they should be able to adapt fairly easily.

That being said, in my opinion it definitely will not be a blow out.

A kick in it*.

*would love to give the ticker a rest and have a comfortable victory.

Have to admit Im more nervous about this game than the Carlton game. Be interested to know how many of the lads have never played there b4.

Well 21/22 from last weeks games have played at the MCG at AFL level before, so excluding Ziebell it makes 20.

Sam Gibson will run out there for the first time.

From the blokes who are on the extended bench: Cunnington, Greenwood, Garlett and Pederson have also played at least one senior game at the old girl.

I think the wide open spaces could expose us a little bit. If we have a big first half I could see us being a bit sluggish in the second half. Hopefully it is a slow sluggish first half then we can open them up in the second.
I reckon we'll be going hard all day. Percentage could still play a big part in us making the 8 & we can't rely on thumping GWS in the last game of the year.

And their silence can throw their own players off their game as well.

So true mate, I like!!! Gee I just hope the players start having their games faces on during the training sessions. Nothing like taking a leaf out of Pagans text book of coaching ( where he talked up all possible scenarios for the forthcoming game ) What Richmond will want to do to us etc this coming sunday.

This game Im nervous about.