McGuane Back to McGone.

• Thread starter Thread starter wart101

Aaron Edwards isnt the answer either !

We shouild be getting games into Griffiths,Astbury,McBean,Elton - These players are whats going to have to stand up when we need them.

McGuane,Edwards,Lonergan,stephenson are just insurance so we dont fall too far down the ladder and hold our current ladder position

i love Hardwick and what he has done so far , But the coaching staff look to have gone into self preservation mode by playing players with 0 future or upside

We knew what they were doing before this all started.
You draft for talent and trade for depth. They've stuck to the plan as they outlined at the start.
So for all those that burst into tears last year when our year derailed with injuries we traded for depth. So when Maric did his ankle, the big O came in, Lonergan for Tuck.
Griffiths, Astbury need to demand a spot. They haven't.
McBean looks impressive at Coburg. Stick figure, but looking on the way.
Elton, same, a bit ahead of McBean but not good enough yet for CHF at AFL level...although surely not far off.
I reckon they're building these blokes like the good sides do, rather than chucking them in the deep end.

We knew what they were doing before this all started.
You draft for talent and trade for depth. They've stuck to the plan as they outlined at the start.
So for all those that burst into tears last year when our year derailed with injuries we traded for depth. So when Maric did his ankle, the big O came in, Lonergan for Tuck.
Griffiths, Astbury need to demand a spot. They haven't.
McBean looks impressive at Coburg. Stick figure, but looking on the way.
Elton, same, a bit ahead of McBean but not good enough yet for CHF at AFL level...although surely not far off.
I reckon they're building these blokes like the good sides do, rather than chucking them in the deep end.

So what you are saying is that even though we have recruited depth , We remain about the same level between 8-12 on the ladder whilst missing out on having a good look at potential young players we might have gotten and perhaps might of unearthed another Foley perhaps ( Rory Atkins ) maybe

Short answer, yes.
But our ladder position is not because depth players have not performed. More like the top level not producing in those crunch games eg Freo.
Unearthing future Foleys doesn't have to happen in the ones, right now.

As a strong supporter of Mcguane to keep his spot during the pre-season etc... Its time we tried something else. To his credit he has fought out every game he has played as has reasonable stats for a 3rd tall. Its just a pitty that Vickery isnt held as accountable as Mcgaune and a few other have too.

I really hope Aaaaaaazzzzzaaaaaaaaa can spark up the forwardline but I really dont see our game plan suiting him at all. Hopefully we have decidedto be more attacking and take more risks going forward.
My sentiments too...McG has not been doing enough - goals or tackles - may as well have a look at Edwards.

I'm very interested to see if Edwards can perform for us. Hope he gets a few games to prove himself..

A great lead apparently - hope he leads to someone who can kick....

Short answer, yes.
But our ladder position is not because depth players have not performed. More like the top level not producing in those crunch games eg Freo.
Unearthing future Foleys doesn't have to happen in the ones, right now.
So So Wrong !!

Recruiting Depth players like Lonergan,Edwards,Stephenson will never get us anywhere.
I was on here advocating the recruiting of Jack Hannath 201cm 102kg 21 yo taken by freo with #8 psd but we decide to go the Rookie selection with stephenson --- You tell me which is better

[quote="Harmichael, post: 28524411, member: 130896"]Most people here bleed yellow & black. Should we all be given a run too?[/quote]

Unfortunately these people get so attached to dud players its like not accepting that your kid is just not good enough - You try and see the positive in everything they do and keep wishing they will get to the next level .

Guess what at 27yo thats as good as it gets & Its not good enough

So So Wrong !!

Recruiting Depth players like Lonergan,Edwards,Stephenson will never get us anywhere.
I was on here advocating the recruiting of Jack Hannath 201cm 102kg 21 yo taken by freo with #8 psd but we decide to go the Rookie selection with stephenson --- You tell me which is better

Well I wouldn't know Jack Hannath if he jumped up and bit me on the arse. But ok, if he could have came straight in and been no1 ruck when Ivan went down, then yes we should have picked him. And at 21 sure he's got time on his side. Saw he got a kick and a handball yesterday.

So So Wrong !!

Is that SumTing's brother?

Firstly, can the personal abuse, secondly how about you name these alleged "A graders" that have played more bad games than McGuane yourself before you go shooting off your mouth/typing fingers.
No need to insult me mate!!!! I have an opinion and you have yours, I am happy to listen to yours without insult can you please do the same for me!

My bad, sorry! Just don't like the condescending tones of your replies, that crap sets me off!

A graders, Maric deledio and cotchin could all do with being ommited!
Deledio back to vfl to learn how to break a tag, cotchin go bak and learn how to kick efficiently and Maric go back an learn everything!

yeah...he is one that rare breed that are walk up starts in also rans and serve a purpose for a while, as they look for upgrades..good luck to him he is carving out an AFL career though..

He's playing good footy for Port mate, would walk into our best 22 and improve our team.

Well I wouldn't know Jack Hannath if he jumped up and bit me on the arse. .

Pretty sure he played for Freo against us and took a good grab across 1/2 back and did a big part to save the game for them. Can't remember the rest of his game...
SO I like the idea of recruiting ready made ruckmen - guys like Ty, take too long to develop in the 1sts and even after 5 years nobody is sure if he is any good or not. Same will go for McBean, Elton but at least they're not high draft picks.

I agree Orren was kind of a strange choice given his age and lack of senior footy. But even at his age he could have 2, 3 years in him.

Just had a look at the stats for the game and Hannath, as their 2nd ruckman, had about the same hitouts as Ty, but Vickery kicked 3 goals to his none...

But Hannath is only getting games cos of Sandi's injury - if he was at Rich. he'd have played just the 1 game.

My bad, sorry! Just don't like the condescending tones of your replies, that crap sets me off!

Deledio back to vfl to learn how to break a tag, cotchin go bak and learn how to kick efficiently and Maric go back an learn everything!

I hate to say it but I do agree with you to a certain degree, I think cotchin has been doing enough to keep his spot, lids has gone quiet for a few games but is still A grader but he wouldn't want to keep going the way he is, Maric has been very bad IMO but Stephenson isn't much better I think, we are ****ing when it comes to rucks, this is all my opinion though.

Are you serious? Deledio won't learn how to break a tag by playing in a comp that he is miles better then the rest, he will go back and have 40 touches and a few goals.

I hate to say it but I do agree with you to a certain degree, I think cotchin has been doing enough to keep his spot, lids has gone quiet for a few games but is still A grader but he wouldn't want to keep going the way he is, Maric has been very bad IMO but Stephenson isn't much better I think, we are ******* when it comes to rucks, this is all my opinion though.

Stephenson may have set the bar high after his debut, should of kept him in for a third game, bit unfair to judge 1 good game and 1 not a good game.

Are you serious? Deledio won't learn how to break a tag by playing in a comp that he is miles better then the rest, he will go back and have 40 touches and a few goals.

If tuck was sent back to learn things in the vfl, why should it be any different for anyone else?