**McGuire looks certain to step down**

Lonie_from_50 said:
Yeah, I hope he does, I don't know what exactly his new job will take him too in levels of time off. He will certainly stay involved in the club though.

Yeah would be sad to see the great man go, Also sad to see people miss quote movies.......

Do what ever I feel like... gosh.....

Fool

NICK THE PIE MAN said:
Will be terrible to lose Eddie.

But he will still be our unofficial president, still working behind the scenes with Swanny, I'm sure.

Dont worry, I will lead the club forwards.

jabso said:
Lonie IMDB.com isn't the greatest thing to quote for accuracy.
It can be edited by almost anyone. Someone wrote a fake Futurama movie plot just to prove that anyone can put anything on the site.

Yeah, but I was just trying to prove a point. That is the most recognised site, for quotes!

Coin_Toss said:
What does Sheehan know about Collingwood? Nothing.

We all know Sheehan hates Collingwood in general and Eddie in particular, he probably just wrote the article to try and destabalise us.

I think Eddie should stay this year at least after that if he finds he can't put the time in then he should step down. That way he could also groom a successor in case they are required.

Quinzate1 said:
So I assume Eddie will still be commentating for Ch9?

As far as I've heard he has to leave all his on air roles if he gets the job, certainly Footy Show and Millionaire have been mentoined.

I could be wrong though am sadly out of the media loop as I moved to NSW in the off season, especially with the season approaching am feeling very much out of the loop.

eddiesmith said:
I would happily take over, all I ask is $100,000 a year and all you can eat Parmas :)

I would then appoint David Cloke as coach of Collingwood and we will win the next 4 AFL premierships with Jason as captain, Cam and trav as Vice captains :)
Sorry to say you wouldn't get my vote. :)

jabso said:
I think if he does decide to leave he will stay heavily involved in 2006 or even 2007 (but less so) to train the new president. I would like the new president to come from within the current regime so that they can pick up where Eddie left off and continue in his direction, I don't know why Sheehan's article didn't consider Greg Swann, I think he is the obvious replacement.

I would rather keep swann as ceo . While it isn't as high profile it is just as important and Swanns job is to keep the club financial and he is the best at it in the league. I would be rapt if Ned was the next pres. Very media Savy and very switched on. He has made a mint with Elite sports so obviouslt knows what he is doing. Also seems to be one of the few managers that has the respect of most in the football community . Ed will not be around forever so when the time comes vote for ned i say!!

fcain71 said:
As far as I've heard he has to leave all his on air roles if he gets the job, certainly Footy Show and Millionaire have been mentoined.

I could be wrong though am sadly out of the media loop as I moved to NSW in the off season, especially with the season approaching am feeling very much out of the loop.
Disappointing if so. The Footy Show won't be the same without him.

In my opinion teh president should be a public figure with dosh and connections. Maguire has the best of all three, hopefully he will stay. he has done such a good job, that i reckon he should be presdient of australia

magpies42 said:
In my opinion teh president should be a public figure with dosh and connections. Maguire has the best of all three, hopefully he will stay. he has done such a good job, that i reckon he should be presdient of australia

Maybe if he was the "presdient" of Australia he could over haul the education system, eh?

guess_who said:
Also sad to see people miss quote movies.......

Do what ever I feel like... gosh.....

Fool

guess_who said:
Watch the movie!!!

Any who, let's not get of track even though I started it.

A bit too much of it being OT, especially as it is a bump,

Watched the movie yesterday. Guess_what Guess_who, call me a fool all you want, but mate, it sort of backfired on you big time. Thinking your just so smart, calling people a fool, but I have to say, you are a bloody TOOL...WATCH THE MOVIE :p :rolleyes:

**McGuire looks certain to step down**