McGuire vs Kennett

Jul 20, 2014
Hey Guys,

With McGuire starting to come under the pump, thought I'd get all your opinions on who has been and was the better president for their respective clubs

Thanks again!!!

McGuire both acquired the best coach in the land (Malthouse) then pretty much kicked him out of his job (after he took the club to a GF) and put in an untried coach who has all but destroyed a team which most had as having the best and scariest young list in the AFL all for the sake of what was effectively a marketing exercise. Having said that McGuire (and thus Collingwood) does do a lot more community service then what they have to and go above and beyond. For example the homeless housing program they have.

Kennett has let his mouth fly and has some embarrassing quotes. However between Dicker and Kennett they handmade one of the most dominate eras in footy history and made what is now a powerhouse club on and off the field.

Nothing against McGuire. However with what Kennett (and Dicker) would win most comparisons imo.

Not really a fair comparison. McGuire has been the president of Collingwood since 1998. Kennett was only in charge of the Hawks 2005-2011.

Both presided over periods where their clubs became powerhouses but in Kennett's case the bulk of the heavy lifting was done before he got there.

The Hawks had a tiny membership base and posted a 7 figure loss in 1996. They were on the cusp of merging when Ian Dicker took over.

Kennett piggy backed off of Dicker's work, if he had his way he'd have sacked Clarkson and moved our HQ to Tassie, Collingwood have been consistently competitive on field since McGuire took over (making 4 grand finals since 98 not counting the draw is quite solid, and with no other president laying the foundations) and the Pies are probably in the best off field position of any club. I hate both of them fyi.

I don't think I've ever been as pissed at Hawthorn as when Kennett sent that public apology to the members after some random loss, it was embarrassing. A good president knows when to shut up, and he never could.

Both Maguire and Kennett have been very good for their respective clubs. Both are egomaniacs however and can never actually not let a story be about themselves.

Do any Hawks supporters have a view on the legacy of Ian Dicker? He did save the club didn't he along with Don Scott.

Most rate him higher than Kennett, as noted by many in this thread. Dicker is revered by many at hawthorn for the work he did in terms of saving us from extinction (which is what it would have been) and then building us into a strong viable club. Kennett took us to the next level and made us a power club, but Dicker was the one that got us back from the brink and moved us in the right direction.

In regards to the OP, I think what Eddie has done for Collingwood is more than what Kennett did for Hawthorn. Eddie has not only seen the growth of Collingwood to the off-field powerhouse they are currently, but he has made them relevant again. They were a rabble when he took over, they were largely irrelevant in the footy landscape, which for a club like Collingwood who used to be hated was odd. He has been able to re-establish them as a powerhouse club, re-established the hatred many had for them. He's made a lot of errors, but the wins he's had far outway them.

Kennett knew when his job was done. Eddie passed his "best by" date several years ago. For this reason my vote is for Kennett.

Presidency of a football club cannot be for life, and life in prison is about 12 years.

Good to see the amount of people identifying Dicker as the man.

Not only did he save our club, but I've heard first hand of the donations he made to families effected by the bushfires of Black Saturday, and the guy is an absolute treasure.

Not that Kennett hasn't also been involved in some brilliant programs himself, but he was a bit of a mouthy flog.

I think Kennet gets a lot of undue credit for Hawthorns success. As has been said by a few above, Dicker and Dunstall were the most influential people behind the scenes in setting up this Hawthorn team.

Kennett wanted to Clarkson sacked a few times, FFS.

Do any Hawks supporters have a view on the legacy of Ian Dicker? He did save the club didn't he along with Don Scott.

I'm a little biased as I am related to Ian Dicker, but he is the greatest asset we have at the club. When he became President, he told the members to strap ourselves in for a few years of pain while he built a workable financial structure. Once the club was in a sound financial position, he then turned his focus to on field success.

He did it well. Get your off field structure sorted first, then concentrate 100% on your on field structure. Without the Ian Dicker influence, we'd still be struggling, we may not even be around.

McGuire vs Kennett