McLean leaves Demons

Good calls from both of you.

It was just very un-expected, especially when he was touted as our next captain. Harrington said on the radio this morning that "there was no stopping Mclean, we couldn't change his mind" so I don't think it can be seen as a moral decision by the MFC. It's a stupid decision by Brock.

It just surprises me that a player like Brock couldn't see what direction we are heading in, clearly we are just starting to get alot of talented youngsters.

Was it the cash? Now that Nick Stevens is gone that would free up heaps of cash for the CFC.

Either way the fact that it was Mcleans decision just like it was Chris Johnsons decision, puts these to fools in the same boat!

BROCK MCLEAN & CHRIS JOHNSON can get FKD!!!

I hope we eliminate CFC out of a final, can't wait to see there faces.

Stevo is fine

Mclean -> Carlton
Pick 11 -> Melb

Then Pick 11 given to Essendon in return for Lovett.

Then Essendon use picks 10 + 11 to get Burgoyne??

Burgoyne is a seriously talented player - brilliant in patches. "Patches" is the key word though - he often goes completely missing; consistency is not one of his fortes. With a bung knee and given he's 27 going on 28 I'm not so sure Peter is worth 10 + 11. Remains to be seen - at his sublimely skilled best he is certainly as good as the best in the league. I suspect Burgoyne will go to the Hawks for their first round pick + Williams.

Maybe old news, but SEN said Sylvia and Wonna signed new 2 year deals, good to see some players know what loyalty is, looking at you McLean ya dirty traitor :)

Mclean made the right decision.

The people laying into mclean are idiots.

Tell me with this growing midfeild with a possible 2 more inclusions can fit Jones moloney and mclean in it.

Considering you dont no the circumstances of the situation maybe the club said his future wasnt certain and thus influencing this decision.

No doubt this would of been a hard decision for brocky.

He will be missed.

You'll be OK Dees. (Some of my family are Dees fans)

The guy doesn't want to be with you.
And your list is just getting better and better.

A win/win for the Dees.

Pick up another good young guy who wants to play for you guys.
You'll benefit from this.

Cheers

Mclean made the right decision.

The people laying into mclean are idiots.

Tell me with this growing midfeild with a possible 2 more inclusions can fit Jones moloney and mclean in it.

Considering you dont no the circumstances of the situation maybe the club said his future wasnt certain and thus influencing this decision.

No doubt this would of been a hard decision for brocky.

He will be missed.

Exactly- he made the right decision for himself, and actually the club. We have others that may fill his role but none had the value of Brocky. This would be one of the hardest decisions of his life.

How many of you blokes have changed companies? Gone and worked for the opposition/competition? I've done it once and it can be fckn scary. He has a used by date as a footy player and he has to make the most of it.

I remember many fans lauding the fact he had never supported one team before he was drafted because he didn't want to be disapointed. He came to the Dees and gave his all but at the end of the day wasn't happy.

We've done the best we can from this sit and right now it's hard to see the end. The one we've been waiting for- we are Melbourne; been there done that. Let's hope this works out.

This could be just what we needed- might put us back a year but if it works could almost guarantee ....

Sorry to jump into a topic that you probably don't want opposition supporters milling around in but I'm shocked that he has left. If the stories I've sifted through in this topic are true, something must have happened very suddenly to drive him to this decision.

Just stick with it guys, Bailey is a very astute coach building a side from the ground up, he'll have you back playing finals footy before long. The great thing about supporting a club going through a total rebuild like yours is that as a supporter you develop an appreciation for the process, not just the end result. When the next premiership does roll around you'll remember the hard yards being put in, and watching as the youngsters gradually find their feet to form the flag winning unit. You'll remember their breakout games, the point at which the forward structure clicked and so on. Will make a flag win very special indeed. Best of luck, and hopefully you net yourselves a quality footballer with that pick.

Sorry to jump into a topic that you probably don't want opposition supporters milling around in but I'm shocked that he has left. If the stories I've sifted through in this topic are true, something must have happened very suddenly to drive him to this decision.

Just stick with it guys, Bailey is a very astute coach building a side from the ground up, he'll have you back playing finals footy before long. Best of luck, and hopefully you net yourselves a quality footballer with that pick.

cheers mate:thumbsu:

Brock will realistically be 28+ by the time we are entering a 'premiership window'. Maybe Melbourne thought that there is some risk in his body being in decent shape at that stage. Hes already clearly getting slower and had a few injury prone seasons. He plays a really physical game so maybe they think his prime value is now.

If you read back through other threads plenty of people (including myself) have suggested that we throw him up as trade bait to see what comes back. And although I thought we would get better than pick 11 in a weak draft, this might not be a disaster.

I always thought he wasnt damaging enough with his disposal and Bailey seems big on that. I think we can cover him with Scully and Trengove added to the current list.

On a more random note, just went to get some juice from the fridge, and as i was drinking it i saw the Visy sign on the carton. Just reminded me of what a dirty criminal Dick Pratt was, and how much i hate those thieving cheats Carlton :)

Brock will realistically be 28+ by the time we are entering a 'premiership window'. Maybe Melbourne thought that there is some risk in his body being in decent shape at that stage. Hes already clearly getting slower and had a few injury prone seasons. He plays a really physical game so maybe they think his prime value is now.

If you read back through other threads plenty of people (including myself) have suggested that we throw him up as trade bait to see what comes back. And although I thought we would get better than pick 11 in a weak draft, this might not be a disaster.

I always thought he wasnt damaging enough with his disposal and Bailey seems big on that. I think we can cover him with Scully and Trengove added to the current list.

Pretty well said. One of Moloney, Jones or Brock was going to start missing out on selection once the #1 and #2 start getting a feel for the game, and with Moloney finally fit and Jones getting better each game Brock needed to be at 100% to get regular games, and fellas like Grimes get more of a run in the middle. Will it hurt us short term? Maybe but probably not as much as you would think and if he was struggling to make the best 22 this time next year what would we have got for him? Pick #30?

He's not a traitor. He just saw the writing on the wall and took a better opportunity for himself and gave the club a chance to grab 3 quality players from this draft.

"I'll speak to Melbourne and see whether there might be something else that they might want to give back our way. At this stage, what we've agreed on will make the deal happen."

That was from Carlton's Steven Icke.

Sure Steven, how about we chuck in Jones, Morton and Grimes because you're a nice bloke?

"I'll speak to Melbourne and see whether there might be something else that they might want to give back our way. At this stage, what we've agreed on will make the deal happen."

Sure Steven, how about we chuck in Jones, Morton and Grimes because you're a nice bloke?

Daniel Bell, and we'll pay for his cab fare to Visy Park.

Is it possible that the Fevola trade talk will stall McLean to Carlton? If Stkilda offer up Ball and a draft pick for Fevola that IMO should be enough to get the deal over the line. If that happens Carlton might not be as interested in McLean and seek to offload there pick 11 for a decent KP forward instead.

Ending the trade week with Ball + Draft pick and a replacement KP forward IMO is a great result.

Is it possible that the Fevola trade talk will stall McLean to Carlton? If Stkilda offer up Ball and a draft pick for Fevola that IMO should be enough to get the deal over the line. If that happens Carlton might not be as interested in McLean and seek to offload there pick 11 for a decent KP forward instead.

Ending the trade week with Ball + Draft pick and a replacement KP forward IMO is a great result.

Why do St Kilda want Fevola?

How could St Kilda afford Fevola?

Where does Fevola fit in with St Kilda?

If Carlton don't finalise the McLean deal they will forever be known as the scummiest cheats in the competition

Then again, what'll change?:cool:

Why do St Kilda want Fevola?

How could St Kilda afford Fevola?

Where does Fevola fit in with St Kilda?

Well he does like hugging their players after losing to them.. dont even want to imagine what hed be doing with them in the showers after a win :eek:

No chance of the saints.

Why the F would they want that loose cannon F'ing up their mojo... Beside Ross Lyon stated today they are 100% not interested.

It'll be Collingwood. Eddie will get it done. Plus he can control his "media profile".

Probably right, either that or the AFL will find some way to make sure he ends up at Sydney, continuing their tradition of poaching middle aged full forwards from Victorian clubs :o

will Brock leave Melbourne even if he can't get to Carlton?
What if the Fev trade puts a stop to carlton wanting to trade their 1st round pick for some reason. Will he still leave and go to another club?
Obviously purely hypothetical, but has he 'quit' the club never to come back at all, or will he come back if he can't get to Carlton?

I think he has quit the club yes...he seems to want a 'fresh start', at least that's his explanation.

By the way, was watching the Dees win over Port Adelaide today (hehe) and the first goal of the second quarter interested me...

Mclean takes the ball in the middle, in the open and strolls to the 50. Instead of lining up the goals he decides to chip it short to a leading jurrah (not too bad an option!). However, his kick is terrible and missed the mark by 10 metres. Jurrah is a freak and manages to pick up the loose ball and handpass outside of the 50 to Moloney. He strolls to the 50 and slots a long bomb through the middle.

Moloney > Mclean

if Chook wants back in, id welcome him back, though i may be on my own there

Does anyone think the Saints could be offering up Ball (and maybe a 2nd rounder) to the Blues in exchange for Fev?

Then they would get their hard midfielder and have no need for Brock.

This is more theoretical than anything else, but it does make some sense in any case.

There begging us to offload one of our players to them. Hopefully we can sweeten the deal by adding one of our other quality players maybe Juice or Bell we may even pay some of there contract Fevola style, as most people believe around here 2 average players = a quality pick, we will get the trade done through weight of numbers and free up more picks on our list.