Votes: 70 38.0%
  • Brett "BRETT DELEDIO" Deledio

Votes: 98 53.3%
  • damn i put in a third option by accident... Van Berlo

Votes: 16 8.7%

Calcium Man said:
Did you not see what Cooney did to adelaide on Saturday, 33 possies and 5 goals. MClean is a great player who is very consitent but Cooney's best is judd like. Give the choice again i think Mclean might go to second in that draft but Cooney would still be the no. 1 pick.

Cooney can really dominate no doubt, and he kicks more goals than Brock.

But give me a guy who plays injured and still averages 24 a game and supplies the forwards with excellent delivery over a guy who plays 3 good games a year.

Infamy said:
Compare Deledio next year to McLean this year
McLean is over a year older than Lids and is in his 3rd season, Lids his 2nd

Fair enough, I'm more looking to the future. Everyone would say Brock is better so far, but hten I think most would agree that Deledio has that "x-factor" (which is such a ghey term I hate myself for using it) where he could really be anything.

As I said though, I would rather a player like brock, than a player like Cooney or Deledio. Just my personal opinion, and it doesn't amke other peoples less valid, I just think mine makes more sense.

I definately reckon McLean but Deldios still a gun.

Also...wats this bulltish about give deldio a year and we'll see.

Mclean barely played first season and overall has played only two games more than Deledio. Plus Deledio is taller and heavier than Mclean. I dont see how this argument makes any sense at all. Same games and just as mature body...

Nathan Jones will be a gun
25 possies 70% game time.....you freak

Gaza_Stripper said:
I definately reckon McLean but Deldios still a gun.

Also...wats this bulltish about give deldio a year and we'll see.

Mclean barely played first season and overall has played only two games more than Deledio. Plus Deledio is taller and heavier than Mclean. I dont see how this argument makes any sense at all. Same games and just as mature body...

Nathan Jones will be a gun
25 possies 70% game time.....you freak

gotta agree jonesy looks the goods,jones,bate,mclean will be ripin it up in a few years

rick James said:
You're joking right? Do you even know who Brock McLean is?

Stop it.....I hve only just stopped laughing at you.....

You are a cracker....

Both future guns, you'd pick more on team balance because you'd be happy to have both on your list.

I took McLean because he will be more consistent & a genuine ballwinner, and West can't go on for ever (and Cross will need more support than just Boyd in the accountable midfielder stakes). A team who would want a bit more pace and/or flair like the pies or bombers would probably be better served with lids.

demondude said:
this poll is bs!

mclean is and will always be a class above deledio, seriously would u pick an uncostested, cheap kicks player compared to a rolemodel 20 year-old who gets the hard ball.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/ft_player_compare?tid1=12&pid1=1382&tid2=15&pid2=1484

stats may not really matter, though mclean beats him in avg disposals, goals, tackles and deledio beats him in umm...well...hitouts & behinds, which are very important stats in todays game LOL

Well done in getting those stats to show that Brett is not only one year younger but also one year younger in experience yet has only 2 games less on McLean

mini_me316 said:
Well done in getting those stats to show that Brett is not only one year younger but also one year younger in experience yet has only 2 games less on McLean

Err, that shows that AFL experience wise, they're about even. McLean has played two more games, and is significantly better. McLean has missed some games through injury, in fact, were it not for his injury last year Deledio would never have earned the Rising Star award.

If McLean had played 20 more games, then yeah, you could say that Brett hasn't had as much development or experience. But as it stands, Brock has adjusted to AFL much better/quicker than Deledio.

they are 2 completely diffrent types of player as you said mini me. do you think terry wallace is asking him to go and get the hard ball? im sure his instructions would be to wait out the back run with the ball and use his foot skills which in my eyes are better than mcleans to setup a forward.and he is not really need as an in an under player when you have Johnson, Polo and others you need someone to handball it to.

on the other hand though brock mclean is a GUN and will be for some time

Emmo said:
they are 2 completely diffrent types of player as you said mini me. do you think terry wallace is asking him to go and get the hard ball? im sure his instructions would be to wait out the back run with the ball and use his foot skills which in my eyes are better than mcleans to setup a forward.and he is not really need as an in an under player when you have Johnson, Polo and others you need someone to handball it to.

on the other hand though brock mclean is a GUN and will be for some time

That's pretty much it isn't it.

McLean reminds me heaps of Ratten and West (except he's a better kick than both of them) whereas Deledio is more of a carrier.

Considering Melbourne haven't had a player like McLean since Viney, I'm glad we got him - as I think you need his type to really win finals.

rick James said:
Considering Melbourne haven't had a player like McLean since Viney, I'm glad we got him - as I think you need his type to really win finals.

I think its the other type of player that wins you finals. The flashy players with lots of pace and ability to kick goals. Akermanis, Mcloed, Pickett, Long, Judd all come to mind.

Brock Mclean. Yes I'm biased, but he is still one of the most amazing young players I've ever seen.
In 2-3 years time, he will be one of the top 5 midfielders in the league, alongside Judd, Hayes and whoever else steps up. Once he gets past his OP, he will be unstoppable. He only plays 70-75% gametime, and yet manages to rack up 25+ disposals nearly everytime he steps on the field. No cheap possessions either. He had 9 clearances and 8 hard ball gets on the weekend. The guy is just a machine. Couldnt be happier with him. Colin Sylvia on the other hand....

rick James said:
Err, that shows that AFL experience wise, they're about even. McLean has played two more games, and is significantly better. McLean has missed some games through injury, in fact, were it not for his injury last year Deledio would never have earned the Rising Star award.

If McLean had played 20 more games, then yeah, you could say that Brett hasn't had as much development or experience. But as it stands, Brock has adjusted to AFL much better/quicker than Deledio.

He is younger in both mind and body to McLean because McLean has had that extra year to build up his body, to get used to being in a new team, get up to the standard of AFL level and several other things.

rick James said:
McLean has missed some games through injury, in fact, were it not for his injury last year Deledio would never have earned the Rising Star award.

You do not know if McLean would have won the award or if it would have still gone to Brett because all of the games McLean would have played had he not been injured might have been crap so you cannot say something like that if it hasn't happened.

tomthetiger said:
Melbourne have the perfect mix of talented youngies and talented oldies, and talented middies. All they need (or maybe they dont) is a star CHF.

Star CHF's grow on tress..