tico

two chances to seal it ......and nothing, oh well good performances count for 0 when you lose.

tico said:
two chances to seal it ......and nothing, oh well good performances count for 0 when you lose.

You idiot!!! Macca delivered it into the forward line. Medhurst only had to pop it over to DJ who was on his own 30 meters out, dead in front.

yes mate, in the dying seconds of the game you are right. but how about his set shot bang in front to put the game away , then minutes later swerving around and just muffed it again . go back and learn the game then come and speak to me , untill then ******** off
directed at billy hunt

Plenty of players could have won us the game, or saved us the game. M Carr and Bell are two others who we could argue lost of the game. At the end of the day the game isn't won or lost because of decsions or skill errors in the last two minutes of football.

BB gun said:
plenty of players could have won us the game or saved us the game, M Carr, Bell are two other who we could argue lost of the game. At the end of the day the game isn't won or lost because of decsions or skill errors in the last two minutes of football

agreed BUT momentum is a very important part of the game... we had opprtunities to put them away that is what is disappointing

Thanks Macca,

You just lost us a game of footy with your pathetic shots on goal from 30m out for the result of 2 points and a turnover.

Who's Cook going to replace next week? Connolly said he'd be back in for the derby. I vote Macca.

The prosectution rests. Bring on the 'Macca's disposal has been excellent you're living in the past' defense.

voodoo_86 said:
Thanks Macca,

You just lost us a game of footy with your pathetic shots on goal from 30m out for the result of 2 points and a turnover.

Who's Cook going to replace next week? Connolly said he'd be back in for the derby. I vote Macca.

The prosectution rests. Bring on the 'Macca's disposal has been excellent you're living in the past' defense.

Yep, making a complete f*ck up of 3 relatively simple chances at goal in the last quarter and a bit seals the deal. Although I wouldn't let Woods' gutless efforts at the ball in the last quarter off the hook. He hasn't changed at all, still as soft as ever.

voodoo_86 said:
Thanks Macca,

Dunn and Dodd struggled to, but i would vote Macca too. schammer would be close to a return as well

This might be the last game we see him play, and hopefully its the case cos he cost us that match. In fact i think if he had of kicked the goal at 40m out directly in front we probably would have broke the back of the saints and won by 5 goals. He misses and the match changes. I would not blame medhurst, kicking to a 50/50 contest with Pav up there at the top of the square didnt seem a bad thing to do considering medhurst had a split second to decide. Sure, looking at it now it was a bad decision and maybe he should have kicked it to headland. But des was just as likely to kick it out on the full anyway.

Macca made 3 very bad efforts at goal in the last term, and apart from injuries i think that might be it, very dissapointing indeed :mad:

I thought Dunn was okay. It didn't look like he had much ground time.

Out: McManus, Woods
In: Schammer (hopefully), Cook

Sandilands and Haddrill will probably come into the side as well. Most likely for two of Dodd/Gilmore/Dunn

lets not forget pavlich missed one also when he hit the post, just another nail in the coffin.

P.S what was wrong with getting the ball to the boundary in our backline instead of setting up harvey for a goal.

tico said:
lets not forget pavlich missed one also when he hit the post, just another nail in the coffin.

P.S what was wrong with getting the ball to the boundary in our backline instead of setting up harvey for a goal.
It so stupid how people are crying about the last two minutes of football, Kosi missed a easier shot than Pav
Hamill should have score the first shot at goal he had.
Finally you can't deliberatly force the ball to the boundary.
Maybe you should be looking at which one of our midfielders was supposed to be playing on Harvey, but really who cares, we lost a game of footy to better team

BB gun said:
It so stupid how people are crying about the last two minutes of football, Kosi missed a easier shot than Pav
Hamill should have score the first shot at goal he had.
Finally you can't deliberatly force the ball to the boundary.

Bollocks, you just have to be a bit subtle about it.

Maybe you should be looking at which one of our midfielders was supposed to be playing on Harvey, but really who cares, we lost a game of footy to better team

No we didn't, that's why it hurts so much.

I still think we played overall the better football, and overall was a little bit cleaner than the saints. One of the most dissapointing losses ever. :(

This is one of those games you don't ever watch again, especially the last 10 minutes

On a positive note, Macca did keep A Jones quiet but his ball skills just aren't up to AFL standard... a little like D Banfield.

Three players ********ed up at crucial times in the last quarter:
1) McManus blew two kicks on goal that would have sealed the match;
2) M. Carr got caught for holding the ball in the pack pocket, which resulted in St Kilda getting their 1 point lead; and
3) Medhurst went for glory (I don't for one second believe he tried to kick it to Pavlich) instead of kicking it across to Headland who was 20 m in the clear, directly in front.

So what does all these mean? SFA cause we had ample opportunity to win it throughout the match. All in all I think we played as well as we could in a scrappy and untidy match. Bring on next week!!!

tico said:
yes mate, in the dying seconds of the game you are right. but how about his set shot bang in front to put the game away , then minutes later swerving around and just muffed it again . go back and learn the game then come and speak to me , untill then ******** off
directed at billy hunt

I play footy from about 8 yrs old to 29 yrs.so yes, I know the game, how about you?

Every time we loose, Macca is the favorite scapegoat.

I think he is the scapegoat because his foot skills and decision making goes out the door when there is important peice of play.

I like the guy, and think he has good toughness but when the heat is on he seems to be the first to make critical errors, and today is a classic example.

I have always called macca clownboy, half because of his hair and the other half because of his disposal.

If i am to be brutally honest the two players that my heart goes into my mouth, or i say don't pass it to........ is Des headland and Macca because of our whole squad those two players make alot of mistakes and quiet often have poor disposal.

My heart goes into my mouth with jeff farmer for a different reason, because he is alot like a box of chocolates, you just don't know what you are gonna get

FFC4EVA said:
On a positive note, Macca did keep A Jones quiet but his ball skills just aren't up to AFL standard... a little like D Banfield.

This was one thing that the TV commentators rooted up. When they said it I sort of thought what the hell. Hardly saw Macca all day offensively or defensively.

I listed to the radio in the car and they were praising Webster for his job on Aussie Jones. He was even going to the bench when Jones did and coming on to the ground when he did.

Billy Hunt said:
Every time we loose, Macca is the favorite scapegoat.

Because generally he does things that can be directly attributed to losing games. At critical times.

Missing 3 relatively easy shots, 2 at absolutely cruicial times, deserves being made the scape goat rather than 1 error from Bell/Carr after solid games or a tough decision by medhurst that proved to be wrong after slotting 3 goals.

The only thing worse than someone who will continually bag a player even if they put in an ok performance is someone who will continually argue a well deserved bagging.