McPhee

• Thread starter Thread starter bLuEMoOsE

He showed a bit but we had a lot of defenders who were probably better than him at that stage.

Definitely a late bloomer. He struggled at Essendon for a fair portion of last year. Coming on really well now which is good to see.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
He showed a bit but we had a lot of defenders who were probably better than him at stage.

Definitely a late bloomer. He struggled at Essendon for a fair portion of last year. Coming on really well now which is good to see.

Pfft

Originally posted by error404
Cuddly Connolly didn't rate him as a player.:(

Still going with the Cuddly crap?

Bit of a toolish effort really?

You are a dockers supporter aren't you? I really hate people who insult their own team especially when the teams going ok. Go support Richmond if you wanna do that (they seem good at that).

He showed form at freo.
We saw in him what 14 clubs before us did not see.
He wanted to go home.
We wanted headland.
You take the good with the bad.
Bit like the schammer situation except he wont be going home :)

Originally posted by funky_monk
Still going with the Cuddly crap?

Bit of a toolish effort really?

You are a dockers supporter aren't you? I really hate people who insult their own team especially when the teams going ok. Go support Richmond if you wanna do that (they seem good at that).

Oh..... I get it..........it's all rainbows and lolliepop.

Oh...... I get it .......... dodgy insults against our own coach is a great way to support your team.

Feel free to criticise Freo/CC when ever you want about things they have actually done but a Mark Viduka/_Dudd quality insult against your our team for no apparent reason is pretty weak.

Originally posted by funky_monk
Oh...... I get it .......... dodgy insults against our own coach is a great way to support your team.

Feel free to criticise Freo/CC when ever you want about things they have actually done but a Mark Viduka/_Dudd quality insult against your our team for no apparent reason is pretty weak.

OK Funky. I've been with the Dockers since day dot and have accepted we aren't going to be part of September action......... until now! If you want to believe all is going to plan, great but don't tell me I'm not allowed to question the coaching staff. I don't rate Cuddly just as he doesn't rate certain players.

Everyone has a right to an opinion (of course).

I'd say Pav, Hase and Schammer re-signing (all during our form slump) just might mean CC might just be sort of around the mark. Or at least the players that matter "rate him".

Stability and a plan of any description is something this clubs NEVER had so again CC must be doing a bit right and if playing T Lo or Macca is "the answer" to Freo being the team we want it to be I'll be very suprised.

There is no doubt that we have improved overall. Our largest losing margin is 31 points which is a huge turnaround from even last season.

Our defence is in the top few every week for points conceeded but with a new forward line they are taking time to gell particularly with the midfield being a bit short staffed.
The signs are there.
Carr Improving
Shammer back (How much did we miss him when he was cleaned up or missing? )
Headland is about to expode
Browne has been a relevation
Snake is starting to look like a forward
Farmer is starting to show a lot

Error, although you are entitled to have an opinion , it would be better to wait until round 22 and if things are as bad as you think, you have my permission then to let loose. ;)

He was a revelation in their shocking year of 2001 and was one of the few players to show some intestinal fortitude at that time. When Connolly came in at the start of 2002, he basically made him earn his place all over again and hardly played at all that year so he later asked to be traded.

Cuddly Connolly didn't rate him as a player.:(

Fair go, in the 2002 press conferences whenever McPhee had a quiet game Connolly was the first to defend him, saying he was going to be a top player.

There were plenty of docker fans who didn't rate him half as much as Connolly.

We were dead set on getting Headland over . At the time he was the absolute flavour of the month and was going to solve all of Freo's midfield problems. Leigh Matthews was being a tight arse saying he wasn't going to trade him therefore we had to give up a fair bit to get him.

Do you really think we need a player like McPhee in our team at the moment with Hayden, Woods, McPharlin running around attacking from half back?

I'd much rather a fit, in form Headland in our team, and hopefully we'll get that sooner before later.

Originally posted by Kenny_01
He showed a bit but we had a lot of defenders who were probably better than him at that stage.

Definitely a late bloomer.

Who were they??

A late bloomer my arse, he's not even 22 yet! Freo stuffed up and under rated him. As for Headland, I know which one of the two would be of more use to Freo at the moment.

I wouldn't have thought he was a late bloomer. I and my mates rated him right from his first game. Was disappointed when we let him go, but those are the hard decisions the club have to make if you want to move forward.

Originally posted by RIPPER_46
Error, although you are entitled to have an opinion , it would be better to wait until round 22 and if things are as bad as you think, you have my permission then to let loose. ;)

Sorry Ripper_46 but I just cant come to terms with Cunningham in / Macca out and as you know, opinions are like a.ss holes..... we all have one.

McPhee was rated highly but in 2002 when CC took over, McPhee spent alot of the season in the WAFL or the injured listed due to OP. This is the time where positions where up for grab and due to his injuries others players jumped in front of him, Hayden, Grover etc.

We wanted Des so we had to use something good for a trade, unfortunately McPhee was part of the deal.

That's life.

Originally posted by mick ryan
Who were they??

A late bloomer my arse, he's not even 22 yet! Freo stuffed up and under rated him. As for Headland, I know which one of the two would be of more use to Freo at the moment.

Not sure about more use, but McPhee is definatley in better form, attacks the footy harder, and seems to be playing with more passion. When Freo got Headland they were in need of a goalkicking midfielder, and at the time Headland was a standout.

From a North supporter, id take McPhee over Des. Headland's disposal is overated.

It was Connolly fault that he left the dockers. McPhee fits better into the Bombers game plan anyway. Adam has a much bigger chance of winning a flag were he is now than he would if he stayed with the dockers. Troy Longmuir kicked 7 goals yesterday, but hey Chris Cornflakes I guess you dont care. He's not a favourite of your so who cares. Gee Chris my mate pulled a stat out on Friday night. It was the average goals that Farmer kicks away since joining the dockers. Also considering that Farmer is'nt a regular at every day training session, WHAT DO YOU SEE IN THE WIZ?
Luke Logan

Originally posted by Luke Logan
It was Connolly fault that he left the dockers. McPhee fits better into the Bombers game plan anyway. Adam has a much bigger chance of winning a flag were he is now than he would if he stayed with the dockers. Troy Longmuir kicked 7 goals yesterday, but hey Chris Cornflakes I guess you dont care. He's not a favourite of your so who cares. Gee Chris my mate pulled a stat out on Friday night. It was the average goals that Farmer kicks away since joining the dockers. Also considering that Farmer is'nt a regular at every day training session, WHAT DO YOU SEE IN THE WIZ?
Luke Logan

Let us know how you go getting a CC or Freo interview Luke, real professional piece of writing. I like the grammar too!