• Thread starter Thread starter hoogs

lol :D troll

Yeah i'm a real troll

If you can't stick up for your own players when they're called pea hearts than what can ya do.
Coming onto a team board and questioning the heart of a player without any supporting evidence and other nonsensical crap adds nothing to the conversation. Its just baseless junk.

i.e. trolling.

I would say that collingwood have won out of that trade

Medhurst > Tarrant

Some of the *hite that gets posted sometimes is rediculous.

This is last year, both at a new club. Medhurst had a good year, Tarrant below average and still :

Medhurst 17 gms 8.5 kks 1.9 hb 10.5 pos 4.8 mks 1.4g .9p 1.4 tck
Tarrant 21 gms 9.7kks 4.2hb 13.9pos 6.4mks 1.6g 1.3p 1.6 tck

Tarrant has been AA, Medhurst has not come close.

FFS get a clue or go and post crap on your own board.

Re: Medhurst and Reid For Tarrant Has Been the Deal of the Century for Collingwood

How was his half hearted effort (in the 3rd I think) when players where throwing themselves in willingly and Meddre baulked. Even Commetti didn't let that one go.
This is not a troll as the following are simply facts and sharing an alternate view...

Firstly, Medhurst actually got in the best players for Collingwood last night with a few people in the media with his 16 possessions and ten marks, which is much more of the ball than Chris Tarrant has seen in a very long time. I will admit that he could have used it a bit better and chosen a couple of better options at times last night, but he has been better with that since he has been at Collingwood, and his consistency has improved too.

Secondly, he has been better for Collingwood than Tarrant has been for Fremantle since the trade and has at least been having a go each week, unlike Tarrant, at a much, much cheaper price which has freed the salary cap very well. Thirdly, he was just an added sweetener for the deal as Collingwood really only wanted the number 8 draft pick for Tarrant to recruit Ben Reid.

As for Tarrant, he had a poor season in 2006 at Collingwood which led to the trade, yet last year he had less possessions, less marks, and he kicked less goals than he did in 2006. He went significantly backwards on what he admitted was a poor season himself, and he has started 2008 even worse. I have no doubt that at the end of last season, Fremantle would have swapped Tarrant for Medhurst and Reid, and I believe that they would be even more certain of doing it now after Tarrant's first two performances this season.
I would say that collingwood have won out of that trade

Medhurst > Tarrant
I completely agree. I think that Ben Reid is going to be a great player for Collingwood too.
Tarrant has been AA, Medhurst has not come close.
Medhurst has been a rising star nomination, while Tarrant has not been. Tarrant had one good season out of character that resulted in All-Australian selection, and he will never go close to reproducing it. And as for Tarrant's stats that you posted, he only gets them in the middle of the ground where opposition coaches allow him to do it because they don't hurt at all, and a lot of them where in the match against Collingwood when Malthouse didn't bother manning him because he wasn't doing any damage when he had the ball. Tarrant gets paid at least 3-4 times more than Medhurst, but he doesn't even go close to being 3-4 times more productive.

Medhurst kicked 9 goals for us in a game. For those that think the Pies have turned him into a player, look back on his stats. You'll realise he played his best footy at Freo, but he can't do 'enough' of the team things. How many handballs did he have on the weekend? 0? Those shots that you all say were difficult, should have been kicked to the top of the square. Of course they were all difficult shots. That's the way Medders plays.

Medders was awesome that day, he should've kicked ten though. 16 kicks, 2 Handballs, 8 Marks, 9 goals, 1 behind.

love medders but not really depressed that we got rid of him. cant see him making any kind of solid contribution had he stayed and probably would have just ended up playing out his career in the wafl.

and last night was classic medhurst:D

should have played him through midfield more

reasonly big frame, decent pace, awesome mark and big kick.

should have played him through midfield more

reasonly big frame, decent pace, awesome mark and big kick.

Nah, been there, done that. He gets lost and doesn't have the tank.

You're not the Deeps from Mt.Lawley are ya?

I thought medhurst has improved in his time at collingwood, whereas tarrant has not.

Yeah Medders used to be pretty crap back when he was kicking bags of 9 for us wasn't he?

I must have missed all those double figure hauls he kicked last year now that he's improved so much.

Coming onto a team board and questioning the heart of a player without any supporting evidence and other nonsensical crap adds nothing to the conversation. Its just baseless junk.

i.e. trolling.
Dude we collingwood fans have a little bit more insight into tarrants strengths and weaknesses than your mob who has had the benefit of seeing him run round for all of five minutes. :D Fact is the bloke is a pea heart and has bucket loads of potential. But he will never realise that potential because of the afore mentioned pea heart, no brains and a shocking kick for goal. I bet you all thought you were getting a goal kicking messiah, hell taking out the reid part of the trade we are still in front on just medhursts performances thus far. And to think that he was just the steak knives in that trade.....

Love having Medders, added another string to his bow being rotated through the midfield

I would have been happy with a straight swap for pick 8 (Reid) let alone getting Medders and having the draft order altered so Goldsack fell to us :thumbsu:

he has improved on his last season with us but he is not the same player he once was

he kicked 95 goals in 03/04
Not being played that way anymore, if you can't rotate through the middle these days you are dead (unless you are 6ft 5) he has worked hard on his engine, good for him

he has improved on his last season with us but he is not the same player he once was

That's true , but He is getting back to it. Must be a relief to not be bagged on Radio & Newspaper consistantly over there like He was here.

02/03 Croad , Des & Jeffery copped it
04/05 CC, Medders, Des & Jeffery copped it.
06 CC , Medders , Jeffery & even Pav copped it.
07 CC copped it
08 Belly & Tarrant are copping it.

See a trend?

Not being played that way anymore, if you can't rotate through the middle these days you are dead (unless you are 6ft 5) he has worked hard on his engine, good for him

I don't know what you guys are on about. Medders 03/04 goal scoring prowess was a thing of the past at the Dockers too when Pav was moved to CHF and he came into his own. He's not playing that dissimilar a role with the Pies and is generally in about the same form. He did rotate through the middle with us and he was OK at times, but could only do it in bursts because, as someone said, he just doesn't have the engine, and he still doesn't. He's a 'burst' type player and his burst is pretty good too.

There is little I've seen of Medders at the pies that was significantly different with the Dockers. The only difference is whats around him, he just couldn't get lost in the system (so to speak) as he can at the Pies. The fact is that at the time (and maybe we still do :() needed a genuine forward who can take pressure of pav, and Medders just wasn't fully suited to that role. The hope was/is that Tarrant is - and the fact is he has got more hope of filling that role than Medders does simply because of the type of player he is. Conversely, with Rocca and Cloak up and running, well Medders is the perfect jack of all trades forward that can fill the gaps (as he did pretty well vs Bris). Everybody's a winner! (perhaps the start of this season aside)

Nah, been there, done that. He gets lost and doesn't have the tank.

You're not the Deeps from Mt.Lawley are ya?

nah i'm not

i don't think 'doesn't have the tank' is a good enough excuse for someone that was in the system for so long. He should have been groomed for that position over the preseason and increased his fitness. He's not some old guy with no fitness, he's relatively young and there's no real reason why he coudlnt' get his fitness up to at least an acceptable standard as a midfielder.

I thought medhurst has improved in his time at collingwood, whereas tarrant has not.
Good to see somoene has sense on this board. Medhurst has been great the last 12 months for the pies. Great first 2 games this year. Gotta laugh at hoogs, living in denial, attempt to claim that Medhurst lost the game when in reality he was one of the best. Good signs though, he realises Freo ____ed up and so does everyone else. Even the most biased mod on this site realises :)

Fremantly, again, got r*ped in a trade. Time to stop trading me thinks :)

Thats when he was a focal point in the fremantle side. Collingwood, a much better side with a much better forwardline dont rely on Medhurst as much. Is turning out to be a great lead up forward.

Tarrant on the other hand looks disinterested.

Medhurst and Tarrant are different kinds of players and the comparison is probably irrelevant.

Medhurst is a dangerous small-medium forward who played really well for the Dockers until Connolly decided to try to turn him into something else for the sake of team flexibility. I recall Malthouse has actually said in the press that the key to coaching Medhurst is to let him play his natural game.

In 2003/2004 Medhurst was instrumental in winning a few games for us. I can still remember a snap over his shoulder in a memorable win against Brissie at Subi. He was our poster boy. Then CC basically r**ted him in terms of his confidence and playing style.

Like Polak, Medhurst is playing exactly the way he did at the beginning with the Dockers but in a different environment and with some more maturity and so they are more appreciated.

Its pretty simple, Medders is still Medders - his good can be brilliant, his bad is shithouse. He is just in a different team now that needs him more.

tarrants bad is wonderful:)

i agree with you guys medders hasnt changed much hes just under a decent coach now for the first time in his career.

Good to see somoene has sense on this board. Medhurst has been great the last 12 months for the pies. Great first 2 games this year. Gotta laugh at hoogs, living in denial, attempt to claim that Medhurst lost the game when in reality he was one of the best. Good signs though, he realises Freo ____ed up and so does everyone else. Even the most biased mod on this site realises :)

Fremantly, again, got r*ped in a trade. Time to stop trading me thinks :)

I'd ask what you're smoking, but it's kind of obvious with the name 'Bob Marley'.

Like others in this thread, you haven't looked at the stats for Medhurst over his career.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-collingwood-magpies--paul-medhurst

He has averaged 1.6 goals a game for his career with 10 disposals. He managed 1.4 goals last year for an average of 10 possessions.

He kicked 9 goals in a game for us. His most for Collingwood has been 4 in his 3rd game, though he hasn't improved on, or mirrored that effort since.

He is doing exactly what he did at Freo, at Collingwood. We didn't want someone who can run around and get 16 kicks, but 0 handballs, as was the case on the weekend. He has the worst accuracy for goal in the league this year, because he takes too many difficult shots instead of centring or setting up an opponent when he is on a tough angle in the forward 50m.

This year he is averaging 1 goal and 2.5 behinds a game. You think that is a good performance do you. I didn't see Paul in any official best player lists on the weekend.

Go smoke some more reefer mate.

I agree that medders is playing for collingwood exactly the way he played for us, however, Pies fans seem to consider him a free set of steak knives. Their lower expectations of him result in them being much happier with him.

I always liked him and felt he was a bit hard done by at freo. Hope he does very well, except when playing us.

I'd ask what you're smoking, but it's kind of obvious with the name 'Bob Marley'.

Like others in this thread, you haven't looked at the stats for Medhurst over his career.

http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pc-collingwood-magpies--paul-medhurst

He has averaged 1.6 goals a game for his career with 10 disposals. He managed 1.4 goals last year for an average of 10 possessions.

He kicked 9 goals in a game for us. His most for Collingwood has been 4 in his 3rd game, though he hasn't improved on, or mirrored that effort since.

He is doing exactly what he did at Freo, at Collingwood. We didn't want someone who can run around and get 16 kicks, but 0 handballs, as was the case on the weekend. He has the worst accuracy for goal in the league this year, because he takes too many difficult shots instead of centring or setting up an opponent when he is on a tough angle in the forward 50m.

This year he is averaging 1 goal and 2.5 behinds a game. You think that is a good performance do you. I didn't see Paul in any official best player lists on the weekend.

Go smoke some more reefer mate.
I think we know who is halfway through a brick of hash. Hoogs = NFI.