Blue Dimension

Jul 18, 2007
N Mystics & GC Lightning
Just went down today to see what was going on. Went down there with the intention of getting Juddy's signature on my uncle's caricature (he does Port Adelaide's banners and did Geelong's Grand Final banner). I might post it a bit later on. Happy to say, i was able to get it :D. Going to frame it and put it up in my room.

I was late. Was able to see the boys do a few drills in the wet weather and play a bit of a game. They did pretty well to hold onto the ball considering. I'll just post some thoughts and some of the things i saw in dot points.
  • Aisake looks like an absolute monster. Huge! I cannot wait to see him out there on the park come Round 1 :D. I must say that i am most excited to see him out of everyone, even more so than the man Judd himself.
  • It looks like Bower still has a lot of defensive work to do. He was guarding Fev within the forward 50 during a small game and Fev pretty much made him look mediocre. Just needs to become more aware of what's going on around him and stay tight on his opponent.
  • Cloke's looks slim and his skills are sublime. Looks fantastic. Looks much more slimmer than he was while playing last season. :thumbsu:
  • Stevo looks large. Tbh i saw him and i thought...did he eat Lance? :confused: I guess there's still plenty of time to get into shape though. Let's hope he gets the final all clear on the 17th and can really get going. Still, watching him, he's still as classy as ever. Weaving through the boys out there.
  • Saw Judd running pretty much full out sprints. Still can't believe that he's a Blue. I keep thinking back to this time last year and reading about the public spats at board level in the newspaper, and then look at the club now. What a turn around.
  • Found it hard to distinguish all the guys running around with all the new fresh faces. You can definitely tell who the rookies are though, smallish bodies, which is expected of course. But that speaks volumes about our seasoned bunch - they've been in the gym for sure.
Feel free to post more in this thread.:)

Pity is was so wet this morning, as there could have been quite a few more there. First thing I noticed was that training was more upbeat than what it was Thursday, perhaps that was for the crowd. Leading on from that, the session seemed to be a lot better, with fewer mistakes from the players, and this was considering the ground was quite slippery.

Not much more to add from my report on Thursday, other than the drill they did on the outer wing. There was about 20 players doing a handball drill, and then whenever Ratts blew his whistle, they had to clear the area, and kick it into the F50 where Fev and Fisher were, who were manned up for Anderson and Jamison (I think it was Jamo). What I can remember, Stevens had 2 into the 50, and delivered them well, and Wiggins, Murphy and Blackwelll all had goes, and missed the target by a fair distance.

Hopefully a few memberships were sold today, and apparently the queue into the Carlton shop was out the door.

Was great to see Fev, Betts and Hampson stay out 20mins after the others had all gone in to keep signing autographs.

Was a little disappointed with Judd. He was mobbed, and when the PA guy said his name for an interview (after Kreuzer) he took off, didn't do the interview (which may have been an honest mistake) and didn't keep signing for the kids (and for me :D).

Not a major thing, but really, for one day, it's not that hard to do what Fev, Eddie and Hammo did and just stay there until no-one else wants you.

One funny moment - was walking past Jordan Russell, who didn't really have anyone around him. Someone asked him for a photo, and as they took it they asked JR......."and who are you again?":eek:

Felt a little sorry for him, but he does look quite different with shorter hair. I must admit I had a double take when I was up close to him.

Notes on training -
Jacobs is a spud. Looked like he had buttered up hispalms before training.
Kreuzer is going to be very good. Great mobility and already pretty big, compared to Hampson and Aisake......he's not that far behind. Was great in the handball game and full length of the ground drill.
Armfield was very impressive in the full length game drill, layed a number of good tackles and just kept chasing.
Cloke looks quite good for him (still slightly chubby compared to the others).
Grigg had a GPS on. The only one I noticed. May be something to do with monitoring how hard he is working on the track (re - earlier comments about lack of intensity).

The drill HBF mentioned after the handball drill with Ratts blowing the whistle and then they deliver to the forwards was in part a forwards blocking drill.
Fev, Fisher and Harts were matched on Bower and Saddo.
Bower did win one of the contest, but it was more for the forwards with the three on two.

They have their last training next Saturday and then have a 10 day break.

Setanta signed mi "Irish Permanent" rugby union top.
Gibbs, Betts, Hampson and Kreuzer signed the back of baby bears "Baby Blues" birth Certificate.
Big Dick was mingling with the fans in the Heatley stand.

Not much more to report, other than I had a good day. :thumbsu:

Was a little disappointed with Judd. He was mobbed, and when the PA guy said his name for an interview (after Kreuzer) he took off, didn't do the interview (which may have been an honest mistake) and didn't keep signing for the kids (and for me :D).

He did end up doing the interview BB. The guy asked him about Twigley...didn't hear the rest.

He was out there for quite a while imo. Not as long as Fev but tbh i remember back when Kouta was the man. He would come out for a few minutes at that was it.

I waited for a while but got his autograph. Tbh i didn't even expect him to be out for as long as he was. He was mobbed today...and the weather was average...imagine on family day :eek:

Well he's getting paid 7.5 mil so in the end for him it's all worth it ;):cool:

Was great to see Fev, Betts and Hampson stay out 20mins after the others had all gone in to keep signing autographs.

Your pretty harsh on the bloke. He did stay out there for ages signing autographs and getting photo's. Id get sick of it after an hour or so too.
In saying that, all the players were fantastic, i got heaps of pics of Judd, Fev (who stayed out there till the very end) Bower, Betts, Kreuzer, and Murphy as he was leaving.
Shame about the weather but it was a great turn out.

He has been very good so far at the club BB, with signing autographs and having his photo taken. I'm sure there must have been some sort of mis-understanding somewhere.

I've been to three pre-season sessions since the national draft now and one guy just keeps impressing me. I keep waiting for his disposal to drop away, or for him to get lost in the play pieces, or duck his head or something. Armfield. Gosh he actually seems......GOOD. Pick number 46. Sweet jesus. He actually seems like he can really play. Already. Not wait to develop. Ready now. I might seem surprised but it is really because usually when you see a guy picked up at that age (nearly 21) they often can't play. Frankly they usually can't. And I heard all the stuff about him being late to footy etc but I've heard all that a million times before too.

But anyway, this guy can play. PEN him in for round one. :thumbsu:

Outside that, I was happy with Browne, might be a little behind Armfield in physical development, but no doubting he will make it too. Just a real footballer. Browne and Armfield spell the certain death of Blackwell and Bentick's football careers IMO. And Kreuzer, well he was terrific in the conditions I thought. He is relishing the work, doesn't look too much for him at all. Pencil both in for plenty of footy next year.

In all, a MUCH better session than the others I've seen. Skills were vastly improved. Seems the crowd got them up a bit. The only real disappointment to me was Bower. Fev flogged him and was only really in second gear. He just doesn't have the mental intensity to stick to his man. Who is our backline coach? Crossica? He had better start working better with Bower.

I must say some little things continue to annoy me about both Murph and Gibbs. Murph just cheating a bit on physical conditioning drills, Gibbs doing things like repeatedly taking chest marks in training (wtf is learnt by that son?). I am a massive fan of both but I think both train at 95%, TBH.

One bloke who just punishes himself, and is about to explode in AFL footy, is Walker. He is about to reap the rewards of all the hard work he has put in over the past few years. Just love his approach to the game. Stick the kid in the guts next year and just get out of his way. :thumbsu:

I must say some little things continue to annoy me about both Murph and Gibbs. Murph just cheating a bit on physical conditioning drills, Gibbs doing things like repeatedly taking chest marks in training (wtf is learnt by that son?). I am a massive fan of both but I think both train at 95%, TBH.

I have to agree here, not that I was there today but have seen a couple of sessions and have felt a few of the younger guys do this. You should always train the way you play. As Windows stated Walker is the example here and it should become the rule for some of these blokes.

Can't really have a go at the defenders, it was two defenders on three forwards.....they (the forwards and defenders) weren't taking it that seriously IMO; it was more about the clearance work taking place on the wing.

I disagree with you on Gibbs and Murphy, both were giving it their all. Murph in particular was moving very well.

And for those who have doubts regarding Kreuzer's kicking, you have nothing to worry about......although I'm not sure why you would be thinking skills would be 100% during a December session:eek:

Can't really have a go at the defenders, it was two defenders on three forwards.....they (the forwards and defenders) weren't taking it that seriously IMO; it was more about the clearance work taking place on the wing.

I disagree with you on Gibbs and Murphy, both were giving it their all. Murph in particular was moving very well.

And for those who have doubts regarding Kreuzer's kicking, you have nothing to worry about......although I'm not sure why you would be thinking skills would be 100% during a December session:eek:

CAN have a go at the defenders. Bower should be using every opportunity he can to work on manning up a guy like Fevola. 'Weren't taking it that seriously'? WHY NOT?

Murph you obviously weren't watching closely enough. He's too often happy to pull up just short in a drill. Yes he moved well, but he just doesn't seem to be pushing himself 100%. Does enough not to be noticed. And as for Gibbs, my point wasn't about 'trying' it is about using every minute of every session to improve yourself. He rarely kicks on his left, even in training, he takes chest marks when he should be taking it out in front in his hands, he scouts the pack instead of getting in there and learning to win more contested possessions. It is not good enough Effes.

And Kreuzer still floats his kicks, needs to punch through them.

Thanks for the reports guys.Its even raining here in Perth.Would have loved to have been there.Good to see people getting into the spirit of things and turning up during December

Was a great day today, although I arrived 20 minutes late and the thought of an umbrella completely crossed my mind so me and the bag were left soggy as could be. I got a picture with Eddie Betts holding Eddie Bear so that's always good. Anyhow, a few things I picked up on.

*Sammy Jacobs had far from a good day, doesn't have the pase to keep up with most of the boys. Whilst they were doing the long kicking/handballing drill down the centre of the ground he just looked so vulnerable.
*Scotto may be in a little bit of strife. After spilling a mark, giving off a sloppy handball and followed up by an indirect kick, he screamed out something that sounded like 'truck' in front of the kiddies. Good one Scotty:)
*Fevola's hands were absolutely spot on today. Some very classy marks and a beautiful punt from 50 for his first goal of the season:)
*I loved the way that a few of the boys stayed out well after they were due back in the club rooms, and all classy for Carlos to come out and sign autographs when it was time for them to leave:) Still managed to stay out with Fev and co so that was good.
*I ended up adding Thorny, Carrazzo (I forget to get him to sign my number), Fev, Carlos, Kreuzer, Griggbert, Bower and Sammy Jacob's autographs to the collection. I felt bad for Sammy as there was far from the biggest crowd asking for autographs from him. Such a nice fella he is, very talkative which is great to see:). Ooh, and I got a hand shake with Carlos, one of my many dreams, and geez that fella has a good grip.

Not a major thing, but really, for one day, it's not that hard to do what Fev, Eddie and Hammo did and just stay there until no-one else wants you.

One funny moment - was walking past Jordan Russell, who didn't really have anyone around him. Someone asked him for a photo, and as they took it they asked JR......."and who are you again?":eek:

Felt a little sorry for him, but he does look quite different with shorter hair. I must admit I had a double take when I was up close to him.

Notes on training -
Jacobs is a spud. Looked like he had buttered up hispalms before training.
Kreuzer is going to be very good. Great mobility and already pretty big, compared to Hampson and Aisake......he's not that far behind. Was great in the handball game and full length of the ground drill.
Armfield was very impressive in the full length game drill, layed a number of good tackles and just kept chasing.
Cloke looks quite good for him (still slightly chubby compared to the others).
Grigg had a GPS on. The only one I noticed. May be something to do with monitoring how hard he is working on the track (re - earlier comments about lack of intensity).

The drill HBF mentioned after the handball drill with Ratts blowing the whistle and then they deliver to the forwards was in part a forwards blocking drill.
Fev, Fisher and Harts were matched on Bower and Saddo.
Bower did win one of the contest, but it was more for the forwards with the three on two.

They have their last training next Saturday and then have a 10 day break.

Setanta signed mi "Irish Permanent" rugby union top.
Gibbs, Betts, Hampson and Kreuzer signed the back of baby bears "Baby Blues" birth Certificate.
Big Dick was mingling with the fans in the Heatley stand.

Not much more to report, other than I had a good day. :thumbsu:

Glad to see I wasn't the only one punching the seat in front of me every time he dropped the ball.... I left the training to get my hand attended to it was that bloody and bruised.

Was Darren Pfeiffer there? If so, what were your opinions of him?
Yeah, he was there. Pretty sure he started in the rehab group and was standing next to Judd for the "slips catches".
Hard to get much of an impression.

Apologies to CJ if he did the interview, but as for getting sick of it.........nup.....sorry.......if it wasn't for the members and fans, and kids he would be worth exactly nothing.
As I said, it wasn't a big deal, and he did spend quite a bit of time signing........just thought for this one day, with everyone stranding in the rain for him, that he could have gone on a bit..........but again - no big deal.......I'll move on.

At the end of the session Jacobs was working on handball drills with Teague, Grigg was working on his short passing with Lappin (and Ratts gave him some tips on how much to spin the ball back - a bit to technical for me........is there a correct amount of back rotation for a short kick?), and Austin, Jamison and someone else who I've forgotten were kicking to one another, a bit of extra practice.

Was a great day today, although I arrived 20 minutes late and the thought of an umbrella completely crossed my mind so me and the bag were left soggy as could be. I got a picture with Eddie Betts holding Eddie Bear so that's always good. Anyhow, a few things I picked up on.

*Sammy Jacobs had far from a good day, doesn't have the pase to keep up with most of the boys. Whilst they were doing the long kicking/handballing drill down the centre of the ground he just looked so vulnerable.
*Scotto may be in a little bit of strife. After spilling a mark, giving off a sloppy handball and followed up by an indirect kick, he screamed out something that sounded like 'truck' in front of the kiddies. Good one Scotty:)
*Fevola's hands were absolutely spot on today. Some very classy marks and a beautiful punt from 50 for his first goal of the season:)
*I loved the way that a few of the boys stayed out well after they were due back in the club rooms, and all classy for Carlos to come out and sign autographs when it was time for them to leave:) Still managed to stay out with Fev and co so that was good.
*I ended up adding Thorny, Carrazzo (I forget to get him to sign my number), Fev, Carlos, Kreuzer, Griggbert, Bower and Sammy Jacob's autographs to the collection. I felt bad for Sammy as there was far from the biggest crowd asking for autographs from him. Such a nice fella he is, very talkative which is great to see:). Ooh, and I got a hand shake with Carlos, one of my many dreams, and geez that fella has a good grip.

He's one of a kind:thumbsu:

Was stoked to get my no.17 jumper signed! He had a laugh at me cause i had one for him to sign and the white one for the rest. Managed to get Fev, Judd, Murph, Hampson, Gibbs, walker and Kreuzer also.

Must admit Tex looks great, really sharp, he always seems to bulk up really big in pre-season before toning down. Made me watch some early 2007 footy this arvo and pre getting injured in the Hawks match, his disposal and attack on the ball was first rate. I think he'll get his game together in 08!

Armfield impressed with his work ethic, looks a good size already. It was nothing close to match simulation, but his endeavor was first rate and i think that might get him a jumper early next year if not round 1.

Stevo has always looked like he preferred a beer over the gym in his spare time and he now looks like he needs a bit of running under his belt. Not sure why he is carrying so much, he has been on cardio for a few weeks now. Maybe not enough yet to drop what he needs. Disposal is as always, spot on.

One thing i picked up is that they seem to be a lot more vocal than this time last year. Whether we have matured a touch or Ratts is promoting it, i'm not sure!

He's one of a kind:thumbsu:

Was stoked to get my no.17 jumper signed! He had a laugh at me cause i had one for him to sign and the white one for the rest. Managed to get Fev, Judd, Murph, Hampson, Gibbs, walker and Kreuzer also.

Must admit Tex looks great, really sharp, he always seems to bulk up really big in pre-season before toning down. Made me watch some early 2007 footy this arvo and pre getting injured in the Hawks match, his disposal and attack on the ball was first rate. I think he'll get his game together in 08!

Armfield impressed with his work ethic, looks a good size already. It was nothing close to match simulation, but his endeavor was first rate and i think that might get him a jumper early next year if not round 1.

Stevo has always looked like he preferred a beer over the gym in his spare time and he now looks like he needs a bit of running under his belt. Not sure why he is carrying so much, he has been on cardio for a few weeks now. Maybe not enough yet to drop what he needs. Disposal is as always, spot on.

One thing i picked up is that they seem to be a lot more vocal than this time last year. Whether we have matured a touch or Ratts is promoting it, i'm not sure!
Your right, Tex is really giving it his all out there, but what a person does on the training pitch is a whole lot different in pressured circumstances. I think next year is a major test next year for Walks. I may not be a question of is he worth keeping at Carlton seeing as he is still a quality player, but it will be a question on how good he wants to be.

Stevos been out of the game since round 3 so unfortunately it's expected. Now that he's running full flight again he should trip down the fat before pre-season. If not, well... Judd anyone:D

I'll get the negative off my chest firstly. Was in the queue around Juddy, holding my 16 month old girl. This 40+ aged woman just starts pushing me out the way. I'm getting crushed while holding my daughter & told her in no uncertain terms. She just looked at me & said 'I have to get his signature'. She then proceeded to bump 2 other little kids out of the way. In the end, I was concerned about my daughter, and thus, missed out on the photo opportunity with Juddy because I got out of there. This stupid $h!thead woman (wearing an orange jumper, you know who you are if you're reading this) was downright dangerous to kids queuing up to meet Juddy. You are VERY lucky I do not believe in violence against women!!

Anyway, on the positives, not a bad day. Fev's hands in the wet were awesome. Took some good grabs. And his effort in staying out much later than most others was terriffic. He had been out there for ages & was still there when we left. Joking, chatting, signing & posing for photos with everyone. Top effort Fev:thumbsu:

Got some good photos of myself & my daughter with Carrots, Fish, Carlos, Jacko & Fev. Will try to post them when I work out how to??? (not technically minded).

Great turnout from the Blues faithful in shocking weather.

I enjoyed the day and appreciated the players attitudes towards the fans on a crappy wet day!!

What i didn't like was the adults that went ferral and started pushing, screaming and clawing their way through the kids, lancing them with their umbrellas just to get a photo on their shitty VGA camera on their mobile phones!! Very classy!!

Also, its nice to see Stevo has not lost any of his arrogance!! Maybe a wave from the changing rooms might of been sufficient..But judging by the way some over the over 30 circle behaved, he might have had to put on a neck brace!!

I'll get the negative off my chest firstly. Was in the queue around Juddy, holding my 16 month old girl. This 40+ aged woman just starts pushing me out the way. I'm getting crushed while holding my daughter & told her in no uncertain terms. She just looked at me & said 'I have to get his signature'. She then proceeded to bump 2 other little kids out of the way. In the end, I was concerned about my daughter, and thus, missed out on the photo opportunity with Juddy because I got out of there. This stupid $h!thead woman (wearing an orange jumper, you know who you are if you're reading this) was downright dangerous to kids queuing up to meet Juddy. You are VERY lucky I do not believe in violence against women!!

Anyway, on the positives, not a bad day. Fev's hands in the wet were awesome. Took some good grabs. And his effort in staying out much later than most others was terriffic. He had been out there for ages & was still there when we left. Joking, chatting, signing & posing for photos with everyone. Top effort Fev:thumbsu:

Got some good photos of myself & my daughter with Carrots, Fish, Carlos, Jacko & Fev. Will try to post them when I work out how to??? (not technically minded).

Great turnout from the Blues faithful in shocking weather.

i think i also got it by the old b#$ch!!

I hear you Roy Park Blues. The shocking behaviour of some adults in queues for players was unbelievable. Really made a negative impact on the day.

I think this can be avoided by organising a more orderly way to meet & greet the players. Not just mob them when they walk out onto the ground. I couldn't believe that was the way they went about it.

Anyway, I'm trying to focus on the positives now. Andrew Walker busted his ar$e & looks phenomenal, I was surprised by Murph's upper body build (has bulked up a fair bit) & Kreuzer's tackling in the match sim was pretty good. Looks like the wraps on him are spot on, he is much more than just a ruckman/forward - works hard to tackle, smother, chase & make position.

Grigg was working on his short passing with Lappin (and Ratts gave him some tips on how much to spin the ball back - a bit to technical for me........is there a correct amount of back rotation for a short kick?)

No way, I love this about Ratts. He's really nailing down on the specifics of our boys' games. We will never become a top team whilst our skills are poor. Some of our blokes disposal are way too shit considering how long they've been in the game. But now, I've read so many training reports about how Ratten is focusing individually on our boys and on the specifics. I think it's absolutely brilliant! He's trying to get as much out of them and trying to get them to improve as much as possible. I think our boys are seriously benefiting from Ratten's past experience in the game. He was a champion, and our boys are so lucky to be learning from him IMO

He did end up doing the interview BB. The guy asked him about Twigley...didn't hear the rest.

He was out there for quite a while imo. Not as long as Fev but tbh i remember back when Kouta was the man. He would come out for a few minutes at that was it.

I waited for a while but got his autograph. Tbh i didn't even expect him to be out for as long as he was. He was mobbed today...and the weather was average...imagine on family day :eek:

Well he's getting paid 7.5 mil so in the end for him it's all worth it ;):cool:
Totally agree with you here. Juddy stayed out for a decent period of time signing autographs i also thought.Didnt keep a check on exactly how long but it would've been at least 45 minutes to an hour at a guess,which i think was quite reasonable.
Funny thing i did see though was Juddy even getting his photo taken wearing a xmas hat with a family,which was really cute i thought :)
Crappy weather,but loved seeing the boys training and the chance to get up close and have a chat with a few as well.:thumbsu:
Bring on 2008!!

Meet & Greet + Training 15/12/07