Melb. Storm vs. Broncos..an invitation to all...

• Thread starter Thread starter Ms.Storm

Ms.Storm

Melb. Storm
Well guys as you all know I am a real keen Storm supporter and seeing as new Sunday's game against the Broncos is usually their biggest game every year...I just want to remind everyone in Melb. using this Board if the are free, try and make it down to Colonial at 2.00 p.m. as there will be many surprises.

It will be the first time the stadium will be reconfigured to a rugby league ground!!!! It costs heaps, they why Storm can't do it every home game...something like $20,000 each time.

Also there are many Broncos fans travelling down for the game (last night against the Eels, there were also hundreds of Eels supporters also...which was great.)
Aparently there will also be a Storm train running to the ground. amongs lots of other surprises I can't really reveal.

I am just hoping the guys put in a good game to make a great day...there is a huge rivalry between the clubs, and the games always close..

Try and make it down...and if you can come down or get to know a Storm member you can experience the best supporters socialclub in the world!! (Wish the Demons had something even a quarter as good)

Hope to see some of you down there.!!

Ticket prices are about the same as afl, but your seating will be so much better!!
The atmosphere's great and you will love the "family" club people there, its like the good old days at afl..except at a modern groound.!!

I am bring quite a few afl friends who have never been to a rugby league game before!!

Cheers

I'll be there with bells on...hang on...bombers playing Port. ****...can't make it!!!!

Watch it on Foxtel whilst switching back to the game!!

Go you Broncos!!!!!!!!!!

They are really hyping up this match big time. They have made all these travel options iwth TravelLand i think, and are advertising it big time, trying to get Birsbane supporters over to melbourne.

Go you good things. Bronscos that is :)

Top Don...

You can still come to the game and watch Storm vs Broncos and also the Bombers vs. Port will probably be on tv in one of the bars so you would be able see most of the Broncos and then pop into the bar to see the 2nd half of your game game. (I am presuming that the Bombers game is interstate )

Just a suggestion, because I have done that myself!!

You'll miss a great day if you don't come..I promise!!

I was going too go..... But I slept in till 1.30! Bit late too even go I reckon!

Mags

All you guys missed out on the best game.....

Everything was perfect on the day...the crowd (though really nervous to start off with because I think of the ground configuration and people sat in different seats)....the shape of the groound added to the atmosphere...and of course the game....which was the best for ages.

I just wish the ground could be reconfigured to a rugby ground each time...it would sure attact more people.

The social club rocked after the game and just generally I had to best day at the footy for ages.

Storm have 2 more home games left one against the Panthers (Monday night game) and another against the NZ Warriors.

Come along guys, its a great game and we have a hidden treasure here in Melb. which is yet to be discovered by thousands of Victorians, who would only give it a chance!!!
The whole package is fabulous.:)

well, 2 years down the track... a lot of things have changed, haven't they?

but one thing hasn't.... the broncos are still playing this sunday

Nicko

Its just a shame that Colonial stadium turned into an afl ground....imagine if it were a rectangular shape....Storm would have thrived there as I am sure the soccer clubs could have used it as well and would have been great for league/union/soccer games/internationals and also for entertainment.

Re: Nicko

Originally posted by Ms.Storm
Its just a shame that Colonial stadium turned into an afl ground....imagine if it were a rectangular shape....Storm would have thrived there as I am sure the soccer clubs could have used it as well and would have been great for league/union/soccer games/internationals and also for entertainment.

i wasnt aware that it cost the storm $20,000 per match to move the seats around. i would have assumed the stadium would absorbed that cost.

dont worry, once olympic park gets regular crowds approaching 20,000 they will either uprgrade O Park or move back to colonial.

but you cant blame them for playing only AFL games there... it is an absolute cash cow for them. Telstra Dome averages 72,000 people per weekend through their association with the AFL.

Re: Re: Nicko

Originally posted by nicko18
i wasnt aware that it cost the storm $20,000 per match to move the seats around. i would have assumed the stadium would absorbed that cost.

dont worry, once olympic park gets regular crowds approaching 20,000 they will either uprgrade O Park or move back to colonial.

but you cant blame them for playing only AFL games there... it is an absolute cash cow for them. Telstra Dome averages 72,000 people per weekend through their association with the AFL.

It also damages the playing surface for football.

They had the bottom tier moved in for the Bruce Springsteen concert just prior to the footy season and the grass was dead and marked for weeks.

Storm should win considering the Broncos are playing the Blues tonight;) .

Mabye a crowd of 10-12k will turn out. Not too bad for RL in Melbourne considering the Melbourne media bias and conspirarcy to wreck RL in Melbourne;) ;)

It's a pretty decent place to go and see concerts and stuff - a friend of mine used to work for RMIT and they used it for their graduation ceremonies and any other large gatherings. It plays host to stacks of non-sports thingies during the year (and runs at quite a handsome profit).

They just seat everyone out on the oval...

Yeah, it buggers around with the grass, but they're getting better at fixing with the surface.

Now, as the AFL are actually in the process of buying Colonial over the course of the next (I think) 25 years, and were a major player in even getting the thing built in the first place, why would they want it permanently rectangular? The idea is that it's an adaptable arena - watching rugby or soccer matches there isn't any worse than a lot of the rectangular grounds in Europe that have running tracks and other spaces around them.

Anyway - why build a huge rectangular field stadium when there's only a crowd big enough to justify it once or twice a year? Yeah, rugby tests get big crowds in Melbourne, soccer internationals get big crowds in Melbourne - but the clubs that play there week in week out need to get 20-30k crowds weekly before a large rectangular stadium is worth it.

Richo

[i.
Anyway - why build a huge rectangular field stadium when there's only a crowd big enough to justify it once or twice a year? Yeah, rugby tests get big crowds in Melbourne, soccer internationals get big crowds in Melbourne - but the clubs that play there week in week out need to get 20-30k crowds weekly before a large rectangular stadium is worth it. [/B]

I totally dispute that idea of yours.

Sure at the moment, huge crowds aren't getting to say league/soccer/union games.......but they will further down the track....the population is getting bigger and bigger....and we need a decent rectangular stadium here in Melbourne to show off our so called *Sporting Capital of Australia* status.;)

Whose to say the with the much better facilities at the Dome, league and soccer/union and aths. would thrive a lot quicker in a few years, than it is now.

You don't build the stadium first, then hope for the crowds.

It's supply and demand - who on Earth would put the millions of squillions of dollars for a new garagantuan stadium, when there's already a perfectly serviceable rectangular field down at Olympic park which isn't even being filled? If you're really desperate for a class rectangular stadium, revamp ollie park and save on cash. It's in a great location, it's coping with crowds at present, what more do you want?

Seriously - why do they need a new stadium at all? The Lions didn't bother with a new stadium - they pulled out the dog track at the Gabba and built 30,000 new seats (although this only happened after they started filling what they already had).

AND ANYWAY...

The AFL put up a lot of the money to build Colonial.

And they are in the process of buying back off channel seven.

So why the heck would they want to ave spent all that time and effort on a ground they couldn't actually use?

i dont recall the storm ever having crowds at Colonial that even went close to filling it, and they spent a whole year there.

Originally posted by nicko18
i dont recall the storm ever having crowds at Colonial that even went close to filling it, and they spent a whole year there.

But thats because everybody is brainwashed in Melbourne, and the media is biased, and it wasn't converted into a rectangular arena for the Drizzle games, and it was gunna rain that day (oops thats right it has a roof), and they would have attracted bigger crowds except the game was live against the gate, and Collo hates us as he has a conflict of interest, and ummm... did I mention the media, that David Hookes has individually destroyed RL reputation........blah blah blah:rolleyes:

Originally posted by Joffaboy
But thats because everybody is brainwashed in Melbourne, and the media is biased, and it wasn't converted into a rectangular arena for the Drizzle games, and it was gunna rain that day (oops thats right it has a roof), and they would have attracted bigger crowds except the game was live against the gate, and Collo hates us as he has a conflict of interest, and ummm... did I mention the media, that David Hookes has individually destroyed RL reputation........blah blah blah:rolleyes:

hey.....that's exactly what i said!!!!:D