Melbourne Cup

• Thread starter Thread starter gbear

I may have said this before, but cant wait to get to Living Legends.

Channel 7 did a story on it, Might and Power is there and he's a sweetie. :hearts:

I did that a number of years ago now. Got to see Better Loosen Up which was awesome!

It's funny how Might and Power and Doriemus really don't like each other given that only a lip separated them in the Melbourne Cup.

Oh and a word of warning... watch out for those Zabeel horses. The tour guides will no doubt word you up on them.

I did that a number of years ago now. Got to see Better Loosen Up which was awesome!

It's funny how Might and Power and Doriemus really don't like each other given that only a lip separated them in the Melbourne Cup.

Oh and a word of warning... watch out for those Zabeel horses. The tour guides will no doubt word you up on them.

Lol thanks for the tip

Do you get to actually walk around inside the paddocks or do they just come up to the fence..

Lol thanks for the tip

Do you get to actually walk around inside the paddocks or do they just come up to the fence..

They will mostly come up to the fence... carrots will do that!

This is where my comment about the Zabeel horses comes into play. Some will likely try to nip you if you lean on their fence the cheeky buggers!

They will mostly come up to the fence... carrots will do that!

This is where my comment about the Zabeel horses comes into play. Some will likely try to nip you if you lean on their fence the cheeky buggers!

Oh ill take plenty of carrots and apples dw about that.

Managed to inadvertently pretty much avoid it this year, which is easier to do when the race is at midday WST. Was busy all morning and didn't pay attention to TV or social media. By mid arvo most people have moved on to something else.

Have to say I recommend it. Avoided the sad regulars and annual 'experts' at the TAB, didn't give any money to those nauseating sports betting apps and didn't need to sift through endless social media posts alternating between #blessed and #cruelty.

In addition, if the injury to COM was repairable he would have been taken to the Equine Hospital at Werribee immediately and treated. Even if it meant that he would never be able to race again. This actually happens quite often. Kings Will Dream was injured in the Cox Plate and immediately taken to Werribee but you wouldn't know that would you because it didn't happen on Cup day?

They didn't even take it to the equine hospital for x-rays. They just put up the tarps and shot the poor ****er.

According to specialist equine surgeon Doctor Ian Fulton it's pretty rare that race horses are shot.

In the last 12 months in Victoria, 43,000 individual races events have taken place but there have only been 22 requirements to euthanise a horse.​

Yet this is the 6th horse to die as a result of the Melbourne Cup since 2013. That is a huge over representation. Are they more likely to shoot a horse that gets injured during the Melbourne Cup? Or are these elite horses being pushed beyond natural limits that cause these injuries?

Managed to inadvertently pretty much avoid it this year, which is easier to do when the race is at midday WST. Was busy all morning and didn't pay attention to TV or social media. By mid arvo most people have moved on to something else.

Have to say I recommend it. Avoided the sad regulars and annual 'experts' at the TAB, didn't give any money to those nauseating sports betting apps and didn't need to sift through endless social media posts alternating between #blessed and #cruelty.

The public holiday is what you need. Spend it with people you like, food, drinks, whatever you want.

I usually go to a BBQ where half of us are glued to it and the rest don’t even watch it.

They didn't even take it to the equine hospital for x-rays. They just put up the tarps and shot the poor ******.

According to specialist equine surgeon Doctor Ian Fulton it's pretty rare that race horses are shot.

In the last 12 months in Victoria, 43,000 individual races events have taken place but there have only been 22 requirements to euthanise a horse.​

Yet this is the 6th horse to die as a result of the Melbourne Cup since 2013. That is a huge over representation. Are they more likely to shoot a horse that gets injured during the Melbourne Cup? Or are these elite horses being pushed beyond natural limits that cause these injuries?
Or is it the difference between Australian and foreign owners?

The public holiday is what you need. Spend it with people you like, food, drinks, whatever you want.

I usually go to a BBQ where half of us are glued to it and the rest don’t even watch it.
Doesn't help people outside Melbourne who don't get the public holiday

This is the current list of horses. Looks like they are not there.

Looks like an old list. Better Loosen Up has since passed on at the ripe old age of 30.

Zavite i think is the special little character i've been referring to. He is a Zabeel.

I'm pretty sure i remember that BLU and Might and Power were best mates and shared a paddock together as well.

I'm 100% in favour of WA getting the day off. We used to get Perth Cup day off, but that's because it was New Year's Day which is a horrible date for a horse race. A Summer racing carnival in Perth in general isn't a great idea anyway. It's nice on a 20-something day with the sun shining and a bit of breeze. It's ****ed when it's stinking hot and there's and Easterly.

Most workplace Cup 'parties' here involve some kind of light lunch, sitting down to watch the race and then everyone back to work because it's only just after midday when it's run and done.

Looks like an old list. Better Loosen Up has since passed on at the ripe old age of 30.

Zavite i think is the special little character i've been referring to. He is a Zabeel.

I'm pretty sure i remember that BLU and Might and Power were best mates and shared a paddock together as well.

Yeah idk why but i thought Doreimus was dead also.

They need to update that list, i got it straight off the website.

Have never been to the Spring Carnival but is the Melbourne Cup better or worse than other race meets?

The few times I've been to the races over here it's been much more enjoyable going to the Railway Stakes or just a regular race round than the Perth Cup which is really just a lot of bogans in queues.

Have never been to the Spring Carnival but is the Melbourne Cup better or worse than other race meets?

The few times I've been to the races over here it's been much more enjoyable going to the Railway Stakes or just a regular race round than the Perth Cup which is really just a lot of bogans in queues.

I've been to two Oaks Days and one Moonee Valley night races.
Each were a great day/night out from my pov.

Havent been in years tho.

Yeah idk why but i thought Doreimus was dead also.

They need to update that list, i got it straight off the website.

Yeah, Doriemus died back in 2015!

I wouldn't be surprised if there are some new one's there that aren't on that list.

It makes me sad that people still support sports where animals die regularly for our pleasure. It's pretty ****ed up when you consider animals suffer broken legs and get put down just for ****wits with a gambling addiction. I feel that Bomberboyokay would agree with me.

It makes me sad that people still support sports where animals die regularly for our pleasure. It's pretty ****** up when you consider animals suffer broken legs and get put down just for *******s with a gambling addiction. I feel that Bomberboyokay would agree with me.
So, I'm guessing you're a vegan and don't eat/wear any meat products either? Because, you know, animals are dying for your pleasure every time you have a steak instead of a salad.

I also assume you'd be anit-fishing as well? I mean those fish are getting hooks put through their face just for someones amusement.

So, I'm guessing you're a vegan and don't eat/wear any meat products either? Because, you know, animals are dying for your pleasure every time you have a steak instead of a salad.

I also assume you'd be anit-fishing as well? I mean those fish are getting hooks put through their face just for someones amusement.
Yes to all of those things. It was a nice attempt at trapping me but all of those things are true because I'm not a bad person.

the best part with this line of thinking that if there was a hardline vegan who did all of these things you would dismiss them as an hysterical leftie *** complaining

Yes to all of those things. It was a nice attempt at trapping me but all of those things are true because I'm not a bad person.
To be honest I'm ok with that and I reckon most people respect that decision (even if you disagree with it). It's the hypocrisy of people who hand pick this cause (or any other) but don't have the conviction to stand by their belief and continue harming animals through their life choices whilst being so vocal about their supposed mistreatment.