Melbourne drafting blunders mount

Don't hate Melbourne. Theirs and Carlton's losing, tanking culture disgust me. Reserve my hate for Carlton (and a few other obvious targets) because they come at it with a cheating mentality. With Melbourne it seems more like a welfare-type dependency. I sincerely hope you can break the vicious cycle, but as in the real world, it can be difficult to break free of the circumstances in which you find yourself. I guess the analogy falls down a little because in reality people are often born into welfare-dependency, whereas Melbourne appears to have embraced it willingly.

We were never going to get Scully, Trengove, Watts or Natainui because we don't fall so low as to need the hand up. I'm happy with the talent we have recruited in the last couple of years with the picks we've had. Especially Ziebell.

Intersting the over a 3 year period North finished:
05 - 5th
06 - 14th
07 - 4th

In 06 they sent players in early for surgery, played young players in order to 'get ready for next season' (also managed to get themselves a top 3 pick in the highly anticipated superdraft).

If they were a chance of finals they would have played differently and players would ahve kept playing.

But of course that's not tanking, because that wasn't the buzz word back then...was it?

Intersting the over a 3 year period North finished:
05 - 5th
06 - 14th
07 - 4th

In 06 they sent players in early for surgery, played young players in order to 'get ready for next season' (also managed to get themselves a top 3 pick in the highly anticipated superdraft).

If they were a chance of finals they would have played differently and players would ahve kept playing.

But of course that's not tanking, because that wasn't the buzz word back then...was it?

And we finished fourth the next year, not going on a proper tank like you lot.

Then there's the Mr Rude flog who just copies whatever you've posted previously.

Shit team, shit posters.

Take a look at that {[DEMON]} flog , post something about Melgorne Wasteland Club not having the best young talent in the league and he carries on like a bitch untill mummy tucks him back in bed for the night.

Shit Team, shit posters.

Take a look at that {[DEMON]} flog , post something about Melgorne Wasteland Club not having the best young talent in the league and he carries on like a bitch untill mummy tucks him back in bed for the night.

Shit Team, shit posters.

At least im always here win lose or draw.

Unlike wambat who only ever seems to turn up on the Bay coming off a win. Bandwagoning gutless squib who cant handle to the truth and abuse.

I guess we wont be seeing you next week hey?

Unlike wambat who only ever seems to turn up on the Bay coming off a win. Bandwagoning gutless squib who cant handle to the truth and abuse.

Good man. That which doesnt kill you make you stronger.

Quality over quantity mate.

No-one ever said that.

Ziebell is more comparable to a James Hird than a Wayne Carey.

Not really.

I rate Ziebell but he doesn't have anywhere near the natural touch for the game that Hird had.

SLF, you intrigue me. Sometimes I read your posts and think 'This guy has a clue', then at other times I am like WTF (I'm aware this is on the Bay, but still it is an awful thread. Barnzys posts on the first page are even more cringeworthy :o _/

Only saw the second quarter on the weekend before the missus had me out in the garden. Didn't notice anything special from the dees, although it seemed apparent that anybody drafted before 2009 has had a losing culture ingrained in them. But what about the wunderkinder, how did they fare with the rest of the spuds dragging them down?

But did you watch the game calabrese? What was your assessment of the boys?

(And looking at the posts above mine it seems to be predominantly Melb/West Coast. Which reminds me - who won the NicNat/Jackie battle? Nil all draw was what I heard.)

But did you watch the game calabrese? What was your assessment of the boys?

(And looking at the posts above mine it seems to be predominantly Melb/West Coast. Which reminds me - who won the NicNat/Jackie battle? Nil all draw was what I heard.)

Yes, I was at the game. The thing is, people are basing the performances of one very bad game across the board as evidence that Melbourne have drafted poorly.

Watts is a natural talent. He was OK. Not even close to being good or great. OK. 15 possessions, 2 goal assists (only 6 kicked for the day), 2 strong contested marks. I think that considering the delivery into the forward line and West Coasts constant zoning, he did better than most. I would put him in Melbourne's best for the day, but that's not really anything to be giddy about. Melbourne were really bad on Saturday. The entire team.

As for NicNat, I think he's allowed a game off every now and then. He is pure talent to the core. I still think Watts will be the better player. But that's based on their positions. I look at the game's great ruckmans and compare them to the game's great KPF and there aren't many ruckmans that outdo them. That's not saying they're not great, but I think KPF are far more adaptable to a match than a ruckman is. Ruckman is typically very one dimensional imo. But NicNat will be the very best of the ruckman. He will win a flag at West Coast, and will probably one day captain the side.

Pretty even on the day. While Watts was probably more effective for his team, the sheer presence of NicNat on the day, as well as his two big marks and decent ruck work, make it pretty even. 0-0 draw is probably pretty accurate.

Appreciate that, far too measured and considered for the bay of course (not to mention rational).

Two more questions while your on a roll:

If Naitanui will be one of the best ever ruckmen, but Watts will be a better player based on being a KPF alone, will Watts be one of the best KPF? TBH I don't think he'll be another Carey, but could he be say a Pavlich?

Secondly, I wasn't being entirely flippant about an ingrained culture of losing. The few times I've seen Melbourne play this year there just seems to be a different attitude in their players with the fewest games. Am I just imagining things?

Appreciate that, far too measured and considered for the bay of course (not to mention rational).

Two more questions while your on a roll:

If Naitanui will be one of the best ever ruckmen, but Watts will be a better player based on being a KPF alone, will Watts be one of the best KPF? TBH I don't think he'll be another Carey, but could he be say a Pavlich?

Secondly, I wasn't being entirely flippant about an ingrained culture of losing. The few times I've seen Melbourne play this year there just seems to be a different attitude in their players with the fewest games. Am I just imagining things?

He won't be as good as Carey. I don't think anyone ever will be. He will be good.

I have always been worried about a losing culture, ever since I started supporting in 1990. But I think the tide is turning. I have NEVER been this optimistic as a Melbourne fan. With Daniher, I wasn't sure how to feel. I do feel now that he created a culture where finishing mid-table was expected. I don't think he ever strived to get Melbourne a flag, and that was pretty evident in keeping decent-to-mediocre players around for far too long, something Richmond is now paying for. We were good, but never good enough, but he always kind of accepted that. To me, that's as bad as a losing culture. I think he could have potentially destroyed this club. And I mean that. There was a time when we were on the brink of collapse because of the rabble he left. The last thing a club needs to do when it has no money, no home and no members is finish last two seasons in a row. That was Daniher's doing. We had no choice but to rebuild. Not just to win games, but because we had no marketable assets and no superstars, and if we continued staying mid-table, we would never get the draft picks needed to get to that point. That's the basic fundamentals of rebuilding.

Now I am optimistic and confident. I have NEVER felt like that.

But Saturday sucked. And so did Round 1. And so did the Norf game. But I expected that. I still don't expect a finals appearance until 2012. I think we'll ultimately peak around 2016. Whether that is as a premiership team or just another mid-table team, I guess we'll just have to wait and see. But I am confident of the former. I've never felt like that. I've always kind of expected the team to fail. I don't this time.

So to answer your question, I don't think that losing culture is an issue anymore. We haven't accepted mediocrity in the past two years, we've just dealt with it and copped it because it was a formality, and we've drafted pretty aggressively while taking plenty of chances. To me that shows signs of passion. And I don't think the players that will lead this club to a flag have really been part of that losing team, because most only came to the club in 2009, 2010, and have spent much time at Casey. We have an absolute crap load of players still to come in, both injured and at Casey.

Players like Miller, Bruce, Green, Rivers, Moloney, McDonald, Macdonald, Jamar, Davey, all of the club leaders have all played a CRAP LOAD of finals footy, and even a Grand Final in some cases. Richmond has a losing culture. Not Melbourne. We just have to deal with losing every 10 years, because inbetween we're never quite good enough, and when we peak, we falter at the last hurdle (which is what happened in 2004/2005/2006).

Everyone thinks we've been crap for years. We've been crap for 2007, 2008, 2009. We've improved dramatically this year. We'll be inconsistent, and I expect a few more beltings, but we'll be decent. We were the 3rd most successful team from 1998-2006. Not sure how a losing culture could come out of that.

Comrades, if you are looking for something to read over the holidays, there are worse options than this thread. Page 7 is where it gets interesting. The Bay is lesser without Brad Roo (Mario) and Trengove is God (super-phaser / Yze Magic). The wisdom of the OP's premise, moreover, is highly questionable.

Biffinator.