Melbourne Public Transport

Correct, he asked if I wanted to pay the $75 upfront fee and I said 'with what?'

I was incredibly polite and apologetic to them though, and they were quite sympathetic of me, saying that they themselves forget things when they're in a rush, and that it was just my bad luck but they understood where I was coming from. Told me to appeal the fine when it comes in the mail, so pretty hopeful if I write a bit of a 'woe is me' letter I might get off.
Just keep writing back to them and eventually they should let you off. Be persistent and annoying.

I copped a $212 fine last year for having one foot on the seat when I was the only one on the carriage (lol), and disputed the fine claiming that I had a sore back and so had to put my foot on the seat to alleviate the pain. They asked for medical evidence so I provided evidence of a physio appointment that was completely unrelated and they let me off.

You'd be up for a fine plus legas etc if they threw your appeal out though? How much is that likely to be?

I can only go on my experience but you wouldn't be up for legals. I met with the prosecutor beforehand and he admitted then before the "trial" that it was a joke of a case and even they would recommend it would be thrown out. I saw a few trials that day while I was waiting and every one of them was dismissed.

So how do you take it to the courts?

Wait for the infringement notice, respond requesting a review of your circumstance, they'll knock it back and state you have the option of taking it to court. Go to court for half a day and bingo no more fine. Most people don't take it this far though they should.

On tram 96, going to a going away party of a English bloke who none of us like anymore. I'm to nice and going anyway. Not going to no anyone there.

Packed tram. One guy about 6"6 one side of me, a smallish asain girl kind of wedged up underneath my armpit who's no doubt happy it's a cold day right next to me then just to the right a bloke drinking a Melbourne long neck directly infront.

6"6 bloke to me: Bit tight in here
Me: You're not wrong
Him: **** it, it's Friday
Me: *blank*......silence, intimidating guy....finally say "yeh ****n oath it is"

He nods in agreement. I can tell he still wants to talk I think it's because we are uncomfortably close.

I ask where his from, he says Brunswick....doesn't ask where I'm from, awkward silence. For some reason the next question I jump to is "you're a pretty tall fella, must be hard for you to buy clothes". He promptly disagrees.

Asain girl let out a little laugh at this stage, only just audible but I heard it.

Bloke asks me where some stop is. I've got no idea but I know I'm off at the next stop.

I say "yh in 3 stops mate". He thanks me. Brown bag man looks up, I shoot him a look that says "don't you dare". Seemingly he understands this look because he has another swig.

Turns out his stop was actually one before mine.

"Cya mate", I say.

#Metro

The offence happened last Tuesday. Still haven't received anything in the mail. Do they usually take up to a week?

Am kind of holding on to a 0.0001% of hope that the officers decided to not follow through with it at the end of the day, considering how up-front and sympathetic they were with me.

The offence happened last Tuesday. Still haven't received anything in the mail. Do they usually take up to a week?

Am kind of holding on to a 0.0001% of hope that the officers decided to not follow through with it at the end of the day, considering how up-front and sympathetic they were with me.

I'm pretty sure they send you the fine all the time now, no excuse is good enough anymore AFAIK.

Few people got fined from work who both come from the same station and the Myki machine was apparently down.

Just keep writing back to them and eventually they should let you off. Be persistent and annoying.

I copped a $212 fine last year for having one foot on the seat when I was the only one on the carriage (lol), and disputed the fine claiming that I had a sore back and so had to put my foot on the set to alleviate the pain. They asked for medical evidence so I provided evidence of a physio appointment that was completely unrelated and they let me off.
weak username to content ratio

Anyone else never touch on when going by bus. Ticket inspectors not even once

Never did it on train either until 2012 PF where there for the first time (that I've seen), ticket inspectors at the footy. They had the gate things in action too so I thought I was farked. Ending up going through behind a lady so close she could have called rape. Was expecting a tap on the shoulder but I didn't get one and just kept walking

Never take the tram

Never did it on train either until 2012 PF where there for the first time (that I've seen), ticket inspectors at the footy. They had the gate things in action too so I thought I was farked. Ending up going through behind a lady so close she could have called rape. Was expecting a tap on the shoulder but I didn't get one and just kept walking

Never take the tram
Doesn't the bus driver pull you up for not touching on?

Yeah, trains will sometimes have people in the train checking but not as likely as those that wait by the station to check your myki.

Never take the tram
I touch on the bus when I'm going to a train station because I've seen 7 Gestapo officers standing at the bus stop once at one station.

Take em. I'll have your back

Yeah, trains will sometimes have people in the train checking but not as likely as those that wait by the station to check your myki.
No. Usually I say "Gday" on the way past, they respond and that's it. Once when driver looked suss I fumbled around with my wallet until he took off to make it look like I was about to touch on on the back reader

Got held back at work (read; did **** all, reading GD) go over to Southern Cross - got to be at dinner @ 8. Plenty of time.

Get to station, platform close FFFFFUUUUU

prob be late now.

I think the drivers are too scared of being assaulted and I don't blame them.

I regularly see ticket inspectors at the bus terminus near the Moonee Ponds junction.

I love it when bus drivers drive past a bunch of passengers waiting at a stop due to alread yrunning late and there not being time to stop and pick them up. Bonus points for those driven off on being high school students.
The last time I was on a bus where this happened the bus driver ALMOST got away with it except he got stuck on a red light and the school kids broke open the door to get on.

I was walking to the station at 5:30 in the morning one day and the bus driver pulled over to pick me up.

He was listing to bob marly and was very talkative.

Best driver ever.

I love bus drivers that bop along to whatever they are listening to on the radio :D

There was a short period of time when I caught a particular bus route maybe 6 or so times to go to band practice and everytime it was the same bus driver..... who seemed to know everyone.

Initially, I just thought he was a friendly driver who talked to everyone, but then it came apparent it wasn't just that. People would get on the bus and would instantly start talking to him... In many times not even in English. Pretty sure I saw him have conversations in Italian, Hebrew and Farsi (could be wrong, but that's how they sounded/looked to me)

Then there were the waves. Bus drivers wave to other bus drivers, everyone knows that. But this guy waved to so many cars and people on the street, and they all waved back! - Maybe they waved back because they saw a bus driver waving at them and were just friendly ....? Maybe... but the ratio seemed awfully high...

I didn't know - I couldn't work out what the deal with this driver was.... then one day he topped it all...

Was at the lights of a busy intersections, and this little two door hatchback with P plates pulls up next to the bus and starts tooting..

Bus driver looks to his left and waves and suddenly opens the front doors of the bus and starts yelling out a conversation to the pulled up car!!

It was a young, blonde female P plate driver, would've been early 20s at the oldest. The bus driver was in his 50s, white goatee, bald head. Short and stocky. Belonged on a VB advert playing the role of a labourer earning his hard earned thirst.... and here he was having a young P plate driver tooting him to say 'hello?'

He clearly is the most popular bus driver in Melbourne and it's a shame I don't catch that bus anymore because it was straight out gold

or they could put ticket conductors back on trains/trams that provide a two tiered service: selling tickets and stopping anti-social behaviour

They won't backpedal on Myki.
Would take a murder for them to bring back a conductor on trains.