Vic Melbourne's Sudanese gangs

I'm seeing alot of people on social media sharing and commenting on the story about the home invasion by Africa youth.

Two nights ago in a quiet resedential upmarket area of the Adelaide CBD two women vicously attacked a man walking home. He is in hospital fighting for his life with head injuries from being glassed. A random stranger stopped the beating and saved his life.

Not seeing anything about this.

Wonder why?

https://www.3aw.com.au/neil-mitchell-breaks-news-of-several-overnight-crimes/

Yeah you’re right, the media have no shame, 3 violent home invasions mentioned, one group of offenders of African appearance, one group of Caucasians and a mixed African/Maori/Caucasian group. Guess which victim NM chose to interview and rest of the press chose to highlight?

So according to the report you quoted 9 out of the 13 violent offenders in the incidents were of African appearance. Let's not beat about the bush, they are probably Sudanese. That's 69% of the offenders - when they represent 0.1 per cent of the Victorian population. This is not a media invented problem.

And of course when 8 guys break into a house and the home owner thinks he's going to die, it will rightly be a big story.

Despite tough talk by Denial Andrews, Sudanese gangs are still out of control. Several different terrifying incidents in the space of a couple of nights.

Crime is back in the spotlight in the Victorian election after a gang of youths engaged in "vicious, unprovoked, ugly" assaults outside St Kilda's popular Donovans restaurant without a single arrest being made.

As many as 15 youths of African appearance were roaming St Kilda's foreshore on Thursday night before setting upon a young chef and another innocent man.

The violent incident spilled onto Jacka Boulevard blocking traffic as it escalated into a melee involving other kitchen staff.

Chef Daniel Maetzing said he feared he would be killed as the gang rained punches and kicks on him, before clubbing him with a pole and glassing him with a champagne bottle.

"The first thing I got was a blow to the back of the head," he told Nine News.

"All I saw was just a person jumping in full swing motion and then going straight at it. There was just constantly punching and kicking."

Another victim – a 23-year-old man who was taking a stroll along the foreshore on the hot and muggy night – was punched in the head and left with severe swelling to his face, police said. His phone was also stolen.

The attack followed a Halloween-night crime spree by a group of mostly African youths that spanned six suburbs from South Yarra to Patterson Lakes.

Five men ambushed a young mother in her driveway, threatening her with a machete and covering her mouth before stealing her car in the early hours of the morning.

The Age can reveal police are also probing a violent home invasion in Brunswick West where six men smashed their way into a house about 4.30am on Tuesday.

The home invaders, armed with knives and hammers, confronted two victims and demanded money and jewellery before fleeing in the victims' black Jeep Cherokee. The vehicle was found in Deer Park the following day.​

ttps://www.theage.com.au/national/victoria/two-muggings-by-gang-of-up-to-15-youths-on-busy-st-kilda-strip-20181102-p50dkl.html

Said similar before, but it's the only thing that'll win Guy votes from the fear mongered swinging voters.

All comes down to a lack of education and poor parenting imo. Pump more money into integration programs and hopefully these hoons won't run amok.

The ones with criminal records ain't gunna be deported (that's what most of the right want but it won't happen), so implementing things to improve behaviour and pushing away toxic, negative influences etc will hopefully benefit them in the long run.

Reckon the federal immigration department could do more here.

Said similar before, but it's the only thing that'll win Guy votes from the fear mongered swinging voters.

All comes down to a lack of education and poor parenting imo. Pump more money into integration programs and hopefully these hoons won't run amok.

The ones with criminal records ain't gunna be deported (that's what most of the right want but it won't happen), so implementing things to improve behaviour and pushing away toxic, negative influences etc will hopefully benefit them in the long run.

Reckon the federal immigration department could do more here.

Depends what you mean by lack of education. It's likely that many of the kids did not get opportunities for good education in South Sudan. But for kids growing up here it's a different story. We've got primary schools that are mostly African kids and the attendance rate is 46%. Primary schools! These youths have no prospects because they basically dropped out of school before the age of 12. This is happening while in other parts of Africa the kids absolutely crave any educational opportunities offered.

Realistically, I think pumping money into integration programs will happen, as it does with all the Aborigine funding. It brushes the issue under the carpet whilst local groups squabble over the funding and the usual consultancy companies make a quid from government lolly.

Depends what you mean by lack of education. It's likely that many of the kids did not get opportunities for good education in South Sudan. But for kids growing up here it's a different story. We've got primary schools that are mostly African kids and the attendance rate is 46%. Primary schools! These youths have no prospects because they basically dropped out of school before the age of 12. This is happening while in other parts of Africa the kids absolutely crave any educational opportunities offered.
The educated I was referring to was more staying in line with the law and recognising their actions. I'll elaborate a little later.

That was that one school in Flemington or Kensington or something wasn't it? Didn't you or Maggie or someone post about it a few weeks back?

Putting two and two together, Flemington is the home of some of the tallest commission flat buildings in Melbourne. I'm pegging quite a few of these families are housed in these flats, particularly ones who have just came to the country. Pretty sure they housed refugees fleeing from the war torn Balkans area 20 years ago or so too, before they eventually moved to the burbs (I knew heaps of Serbs, Croats and Albanians in high school in early 00s).

So yeah, not sure if that one example is that consistent Melbourne wide.
Realistically, I think pumping money into integration programs will happen, as it does with all the Aborigine funding. It brushes the issue under the carpet whilst local groups squabble over the funding and the usual consultancy companies make a quid from government lolly.
Wait and see if it happens I guess and what the results will be.

Imo a massive part of the gang culture is peer pressure and following the example set by a few bad eggs (probably older kids in the 18-21yo range) and the younger kids who are still high school age look up to them because it's cool or whatever without recognising the damage that they're actually doing. Then some of it comes down to poor parenting as I said previously. So many kids getting arrested are underage, why aren't parents clamping down on them? Don't let them out at night unless they're doing something constructive, be it sports practice or gym or something, then make sure they come home straight afterwards.

I think if these programs are to be implemented then I'd hope issues like dealing with the likes of peer pressure would be among them.

I live in an area where they get integrated into and I'd much rather see them at the gym at night rather than walking the streets running amok (quite a few like working out which is good).

Four Corners tonight

"For more than two years, media reports have portrayed Melbourne as a city under siege, in the grip of a crimewave, overrun by African gangs. Four Corners spent weeks on the ground talking to those at the heart of this debate — teenagers, parents, victims, Victoria Police and the judiciary to get to the truth about "African" crime."

Full Story Here

Four Corners tonight

"For more than two years, media reports have portrayed Melbourne as a city under siege, in the grip of a crimewave, overrun by African gangs. Four Corners spent weeks on the ground talking to those at the heart of this debate — teenagers, parents, victims, Victoria Police and the judiciary to get to the truth about "African" crime."

Full Story Here
This was a really nuanced approach to the story and the ABC should be commended. It acknowledges that there have been serious problems with a higher proportion of South Sudanese representation in aggravated crimes, however the perception has been blown out of proportion by blanket media coverage. It was one of the first stories on telly where I actually saw the Sudanese presented the way I know them when I used to tutor in St Albans. There is a significant issue for children and teenagers not having strong male role models in their lives and it has serious consequences. I was tutoring kids who had parents too busy at work with a lot of their spare time in language classes and community groups trying to do everything they can to comprehend the community they have moved into...in the process though it fell on schools and charity groups to provide support for the children which has always been stretched.

It is a complicated issue, but the only way we can address it is by talking about it honestly. Saying there are no problems, or saying 'African gangs are making Victoria a lawless state' are all just nonsense. Where I come from if there is a community where the youth are particularly troubled we don't have the media constantly campaigning to lock them all up, we build sports facilities in their neighbourhoods, bring specialised educational support into the homes and push for more health services and rehab beds.

we build sports facilities in their neighbourhoods, bring specialised educational support into the homes and push for more health services and rehab beds.

Good plan, time to cut back on immigration and refugees so 'we' can provide those luxuries for the people who are here now.

When you say 'we' I assume you mean the public purse?

I recently started catching up with a mate during my lunch breaks to exercise in a park/oval complex in an expensive area in the eastern suburbs.

The first time I went there, walking to the oval a young Sudanese bloke walked past us on the footpath frowning, holding a wine bottle and wearing a backpack. He looked to be between 16-21. My mate said that there are 3 of them who spend all day every day there, usually sleeping.

Sure enough, every time we go there we spot 1 to 3 of them, usually lying on the grass in direct sun, wearing cold weather clothes despite some of the days being quite hot. Usually with bags and a wine bottle beside them.

One day a cop car rolled into a parking lot near one of them sleeping. They blasted their siren twice, and the bloke looked up at them, then rested his head back down and ignored. The cops drove off without getting out, they seemed to just be checking that he was ok.

They have never caused any trouble that I'm aware of. I'm not trying to suggest that this sample of 3 represent the whole demographic, but I feel that many in the community would feel this way. My mate said that at his nearby workplace there are a few women who used to jog there after work at night, but now feel fearful of doing so (rightly or wrongly).

Not sure what the solution is re getting them to school or doing something better for their health then lying around drunk all day.

Good plan, time to cut back on immigration and refugees so 'we' can provide those luxuries for the people who are here now.

When you say 'we' I assume you mean the public purse?

yeah, the public purse, all that money John Howard had in surpluses but didn't use a penny of on anything worthwhile other than war, which leads to refugees wanting to flee to a country like ours.

worked with plenty of South Sudanese and they're highly intelligent, ambitious, honest and genuine people...far cry from the media that reports this "out of control" bullshit.

Why people keep referring to this as a complicated issue is beyond me. Its a very straight foward issue, as is the solution. The failure to act is why the issue has cut through and why so many people are pissed off.

A bit of Charles Bronson from Death Wish.. Zero complications.

******* animals.

A 19-year-old has been beaten over the head with a metal pole during a violent armed robbery in south-west Melbourne.​

Four people wearing masks forced their way into a fast food restaurant on Fitzgerald Road in Laverton around 3.20am on Tuesday.

The group threatened staff and demanded money from the register, police said.

During the altercation, a 19-year-old worker at the restaurant was hit with a metal pole, causing an open gash to his head.

https://www.theage.com.au/national/...in-melbourne-s-southwest-20181113-p50fmn.html

I'm seeing alot of people on social media sharing and commenting on the story about the home invasion by Africa youth.

Two nights ago in a quiet resedential upmarket area of the Adelaide CBD two women vicously attacked a man walking home. He is in hospital fighting for his life with head injuries from being glassed. A random stranger stopped the beating and saved his life.

Wonder why?
A few reasons:

1) They were quickly arrested unlike the Sudanese gangs
2) Women aren't committing violent assaults at rates vastly greater than their percentage of population
3) The government is making excuses for the behaviour
4) They weren't let straight back out on bail
5) It was two people not a large gang

A few reasons:

1) They were quickly arrested unlike the Sudanese gangs
2) Women aren't committing violent assaults at rates vastly greater than their percentage of population
3) The government is making excuses for the behaviour
4) They weren't let straight back out on bail
5) It was two people not a large gang

You missed the point entirely

If you research violent crimes by women you'll find that they get very lenient sentances and very favourable media coverage

In fact you find whole organizations with high profile ambassordors and politicians who deny women committ violence. Who blame men for all violence and say nothing when children are mass murdered by thier mother.

Especially concerning family violence they use made up stats and ignore science from around the world.

But because they're white you don't care right?

Wonder why?
It might be construed as racist?

Soft when it comes to real crime, how many of us poor white fellas would avoid a conviction if we did this;

Harrolds owner avoids conviction over assault of elderly parents

“smothered his (81 year old) mother’s face with a pillow and bashed his (89 year old) father before smashing windows, a coffee table and an entertainment unit”

Additionally

In 2015 he was ordered to pay $40,000 and avoided jail and instead was allowed a 5 year good behaviour bond for avoiding paying $1.47M in tax. He asked that his bail conditions be varied so he could fly to Greece to attend a 60th birthday party...

It's a sporting event, not a Milo Yiannapolous gig. I'm not sure venue managers are doing the right thing here although these 'unrealistic barriers' don't appear to be too ott if there's been problems before. This is basketball obviously but after a brawl at the boxing it's hard to find a venue anywhere without accepting certain conditions be met.

Organisers of a long-running South Sudanese basketball tournament in Melbourne claim fear-mongering about African crime gangs has forced them to cancel their annual summer event.

• The South Sudanese Australian National Basketball Association failed to find a venue for its Summer Slam tournament
  • It said stadium managers imposed "unrealistic barriers" due to "actions of a few teenagers"
  • Police were pelted with rocks by girls linked to last year's event

"Stadium managers are afraid to host our event because of the African gang stories they see in the news," the association wrote in a Facebook post.

"Some of our partner organisations have also had concerns towards our event because of the fear that has been created."

The association's National Classic was also cancelled in July.

Basketball Victoria said the "severity of external restrictions" meant the association could not meet demands of city councils, including notifying neighbours about the tournament, paying for buses to and from the event for all players, restricting play to daytime hours, holding a half-day grand final and limiting crowd numbers.

"These are requirements scarcely demanded for other Victorian basketball tournaments and rarely required throughout the entirety of the sporting community," a Basketball Victoria spokesman said.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-11...s-struggle-to-find-melbourne-stadium/10562268

It's a sporting event, not a Milo Yiannapolous gig. I'm not sure venue managers are doing the right thing here although these 'unrealistic barriers' don't appear to be too ott if there's been problems before. This is basketball obviously but after a brawl at the boxing it's hard to find a venue anywhere without accepting certain conditions be met.

Organisers of a long-running South Sudanese basketball tournament in Melbourne claim fear-mongering about African crime gangs has forced them to cancel their annual summer event.

• The South Sudanese Australian National Basketball Association failed to find a venue for its Summer Slam tournament
  • It said stadium managers imposed "unrealistic barriers" due to "actions of a few teenagers"
  • Police were pelted with rocks by girls linked to last year's event

"Stadium managers are afraid to host our event because of the African gang stories they see in the news," the association wrote in a Facebook post.

"Some of our partner organisations have also had concerns towards our event because of the fear that has been created."

The association's National Classic was also cancelled in July.

Basketball Victoria said the "severity of external restrictions" meant the association could not meet demands of city councils, including notifying neighbours about the tournament, paying for buses to and from the event for all players, restricting play to daytime hours, holding a half-day grand final and limiting crowd numbers.

"These are requirements scarcely demanded for other Victorian basketball tournaments and rarely required throughout the entirety of the sporting community," a Basketball Victoria spokesman said.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2018-11...s-struggle-to-find-melbourne-stadium/10562268

It's a shame because most of the Sudanese youth are good kids and they love their basketball. But there's a significant element among the community who have no respect for the law.

The last tournament was associated with dozens of youths of African appearance going on on a rampage at St Kilda beach, assaulting and robbing beachgoers then trashing a local McDonald’s.

Following the tournament there was also a wild riot at a party in Werribee.

Neighbours say up to 40 youths from the house started roaming the streets, throwing rocks and smashing cars.

Neighbour Chantelle said the youths were wearing basketball jerseys and police were clearly outnumbered.

“As soon as they started throwing rocks at the police they thought they could do anything and it started getting worse,” she said, adding there had been troubles a night earlier.

“They treat it as a game,” Chantelle said of the rioters.

“They knew there were issues the night before; why would they only send two police officers to start with?” Kristy asked.

It’s understood two gangs of African youths, one known as Westside Crew and another as Menace to Society, were involved in the riot.​

https://thewest.com.au/news/crime/rocks-thrown-at-cops-in-vic-airbnb-party-ng-s-1811596