Meltdowns

I can only say i'm as stunned as you all are...as the confident, flowing group of youngsters that made Geelong look silly a month ago at the Dome seems to have vanished?

The talent is certainly there, but just have to say it must be a heart-wrenching feeling. I recall losing to the 0-8 Lions of 1991 when they had a percentage of 50%, and this game today is probably in that same ballpark.

Ziebell, Bastinac, Anthony etc carved us up with long goals and strong running, these blokes need to find that form again. Hope they can do so..and if they can the season is still retrievable. Good luck for the future.

Thanks mate appreciate your comments, no ones like losing, but if your team puts in a 4 quarters of effort and still lose you can still walk away reasonably happy. When a team serves up crap like the Roos have been lately thier is no excuse.

Words can't describe how deflated I feel. Another year shot to pieces before the end of May. Another season to 'develop' and 'build'. More games that don't matter. Wins that don't mean anything for the overall competition. Losses that don't matter either. We are irrelevant once again. More promises of getting better - without ever getting better. A club that started at nothing when Scotty got there and still going nowhere. Recruits come in who can't develop beyond average and even then do it so slowly. The same experienced players who make the same mistakes every week. We could sack the coach. We could overhaul the team. But there are no quick fixes - we are either anchored in mediocrity for another few years or having to head backwards again and and wait even longer.

We are nowhere. We are nothing.

Well said.

team vs Bears next week :

B Lynch Mangan McKenzie
HB Greenwood Kennedy Sierakowski
C Garlett Gibson Speight
HF Daw Hansen Tarrent
F McKinley Black Campbell
Foll Mabon Curran Warren
Int McIntosh Edwards McMahon Wright

Couldn't deliver less than the sh*t we got today...

Get Carey back down there. Winning was paramount, everything else secondary. A bit too secondary perhaps, but he was just that good.

You know what. Hes right.
Doesnt matter where you are or where you play North Melbourne always went out to win.
Ever since Brad Scott came on he has been planning for next year each time.
We need to turn our list into footballers.

I am Brad Scotts soon to be activated out clause

Words can't describe how deflated I feel. Another year shot to pieces before the end of May. Another season to 'develop' and 'build'. More games that don't matter. Wins that don't mean anything for the overall competition. Losses that don't matter either. We are irrelevant once again. More promises of getting better - without ever getting better. A club that started at nothing when Scotty got there and still going nowhere. Recruits come in who can't develop beyond average and even then do it so slowly. The same experienced players who make the same mistakes every week. We could sack the coach. We could overhaul the team. But there are no quick fixes - we are either anchored in mediocrity for another few years or having to head backwards again and and wait even longer.

We are nowhere. We are nothing.

Good post and I concur but there is a short term strategy that we can employ in order to get back on track.

We must move heaven and earth to inject a couple of quality mature midfielders in to our immature midfield playing group.

We then need to start putting balanced football sides out on the park.

I was watching a recording of the game last night after having avoided the score, it got to 3/4 time and it was 1am so I thought 'hmmm this is good, I'll watch the rest tomorrow.' Then I checked the result on the internet and basically had a lot of difficulty sleeping. A fair amount you could say.

I could get over the Dogs game, any team can have a shocker and it was after a decent crack in Perth. I thought this forum was being really harsh. After yesterday though, where we are is unforgiveable. I agree, it is season over and in the most bitterly disappointing fashion possible. I am not looking forward to any workplace conversation regarding AFL this week, that is for sure. I am depressed and distressed. This result has ruined what was going to be a pretty cool weekend. All that ****ing work and pres season hype for nothing.

And now I have a final quarter to watch! F*** me not looking forward to it, I feel I've gone from watching Mary Poppins to Human Centipede II.

I was watching a recording of the game last night after having avoided the score, it got to 3/4 time and it was 1am so I thought 'hmmm this is good, I'll watch the rest tomorrow.' Then I checked the result on the internet and basically had a lot of difficulty sleeping. A fair amount you could say.

I could get over the Dogs game, any team can have a shocker and it was after a decent crack in Perth. I thought this forum was being really harsh. After yesterday though, where we are is unforgiveable. I agree, it is season over and in the most bitterly disappointing fashion possible. I am not looking forward to any workplace conversation regarding AFL this week, that is for sure. I am depressed and distressed. This result has ruined what was going to be a pretty cool weekend. All that ****ing work and pres season hype for nothing.

And now I have a final quarter to watch! F*** me not looking forward to it, I feel I've gone from watching Mary Poppins to Human Centipede II.

You'll be even more depressed when you watch it.
10mins left in the last quarter and feeling relaxed thinking ''it's wasn't a pretty win, but we will take the 4 points''.
Then i sit through 10 minutes of the weakest football I've ever seen and was in absolute disbelief.

I agree about it ruining the weekend, i was looking forward to seeing us bounce back.

Do they have the capability to make hard decisions?

Are there too many sycophantic "yes men" at the NMFC?

Is there an entrenched self serving clique running the place?

Agree totally Old Skool.

I reckon Scotty has only a certain quota amount of changes he can make and other members of the coaching and selection panel that:

1) Kept hanging on to the belief that David Hale would kick another 8 goal haul as he did against Geelong (even after two years of not kicking more than 3 in a game there after)
2) Hanging their hat on a seven goal haul from Linsday Thomas against Carlton in 2009 and think he still can threaten it some time soon - three years later
3) Think that players like Jonathan Brown and Jay Schulz will happen to have a bad day every time will play them ( and kill us every time)
4) NOT TO MAKE A POSITIONAL CHANGE AND MAKE SOME CRUCIAL BLUNDERS AT THE SELECTION TABLE

Sorry I'm being a bit harsh. But it baffles me how long it takes to figure out the bleeding obvious:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

Agree totally Old Skool.

I reckon Scotty has only a certain quota amount of changes he can make and other members of the coaching and selection panel that:

1) Kept hanging on to the belief that David Hale would kick another 8 goal haul as he did against Geelong (even after two years of not kicking more than 3 in a game there after)
2) Hanging their hat on a seven goal haul from Linsday Thomas against Carlton in 2009 and think he still can threaten it some time soon - three years later
3) Think that players like Jonathan Brown and Jay Schulz will happen to have a bad day every time will play them ( and kill us every time)
4) NOT TO MAKE A POSITIONAL CHANGE AND MAKE SOME CRUCIAL BLUNDERS AT THE SELECTION TABLE

Sorry I'm being a bit harsh. But it baffles me how long it takes to figure out the bleeding obvious:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:
and unless injury intervenes, Scott will spend all of this year hoping that McIntosh & Goldstein can work productively in the same team. :eek:

What a load of tripe throughout this thread.

petty there aren't better judges of footy on this board... Brad Scott never panicked, what do you guys have to say? :)

I generally try to steer away from these threads.

They have a habit of coming back to bite you on the arse.
What a load of tripe throughout this thread.

petty there aren't better judges of footy on this board... Brad Scott never panicked, what do you guys have to say? :)

Agreed on both points, but it is an emotional game. That's all an internet "meltdown" is, just a rant, because you are emotional about something you are passionate about.

I still think it was a good idea to have them all in one thread where this thread can die, rather then in others

This was after the Port loss, the worst one this year by a long long way.

The reactions in this thread were justified at the time but now they make the posters look like idiots. Not sure why we bump threads like this because everyone always looks an idiot in hindsight.

Come on, enough with the bumps. It's fun on the main board to track them down, but we should leave each other alone. All of us. We've all said dumb stuff and we all know what was said. Won't stop me giving every North supporter I meet a grin, a high five and/or a big hug when things are going well (except for that hideous man of many names on Facebook).

Meltdowns