Member Satisfaction

You argue we're middle tier, i'm arguing that no other supporter base is doing things like booing the coach or making signs calling for their coach to be sacked.
Also to sack the Chairman/board/CEO/GM of Football.

Would I rather be St Kilda? **** no, but does that mean Port supporters are "more satisfied" than St Kilda supporters? No, because we have a different standard for what satisfies us because of the historical context.

This discussion came about because Koch has claimed that we're the 4th most satisfied supporter base in the league, which is just a laughable thing to say. We're one of the more dissatisfied supporter bases in the league, in fact that's a regularly criticism levelled at us by trolls and outsiders, that Port fans should be happy but we're not.

You argue we're middle tier, i'm arguing that no other supporter base is doing things like booing the coach or making signs calling for their coach to be sacked.

We’ve got a very vocal minority, my experiences suggest most port supporters are nothing like the port supporters on the sack Hinkley/member satisfaction threads on big footy.

Obviously Bigfooty has been well ahead of the curve on this one but based on watercooler conversations over the last few seasons, I think you'd struggle to find many Port supporters who are "satisfied" with our recent performances and who are genuinely excited about the upcoming season. Even fewer are happy with Hinkley.

I'd suggest the metrics by which Koch is arguing that we're "satisfied" are probably gameday experience type metrics, maybe membership dept performance etc. It's certainly not onfield.

If we're 4th based on on-field performances, which of Brisbane, Sydney, Geelong and Hawthorn are we ahead of?

There's still the NTUA scarf swaying wonder years moments segment like Expat and his brady bunch, but nah it's not a vocal minority anymore when the coach is getting boo'd with volume.

The scarf swayers also hate Hinkley ftr

Expat also hates Hinkley.

The casual theatregoer types don't care enough to form an opinion but if you press them on it they'll tell you that Hinkley's time is up and he should have been sacked. Or they'll resort to a who ya gonna get because they don't have any football knowledge, but a who ya gonna get is a tacit admission that Hinkley needs to go anyway.

(I'm going into bat for the scarf swayers here, they're swaying because they don't watch soccer and they don't know they're supposed to stand still without that context. I think they cop too much grief on this board. It's a minority of people who just haven't quite picked it up yet but they're standing and singing with their scarf in the air and that's fine.)

The scarf swayers also hate Hinkley ftr

Expat also hates Hinkley.

The casual theatregoer types don't care enough to form an opinion but if you press them on it they'll tell you that Hinkley's time is up and he should have been sacked. Or they'll resort to a who ya gonna get because they don't have any football knowledge, but a who ya gonna get is a tacit admission that Hinkley needs to go anyway.

(I'm going into bat for the scarf swayers here, they're swaying because they don't watch soccer and they don't know they're supposed to stand still without that context. I think they cop too much grief on this board. It's a minority of people who just haven't quite picked it up yet but they're standing and singing with their scarf in the air and that's fine.)
tl;dr - Scorch definitely has a mate or a family member who's a scarf swayer

Obviously Bigfooty has been well ahead of the curve on this one but based on watercooler conversations over the last few seasons, I think you'd struggle to find many Port supporters who are "satisfied" with our recent performances and who are genuinely excited about the upcoming season. Even fewer are happy with Hinkley.

I'd suggest the metrics by which Koch is arguing that we're "satisfied" are probably gameday experience type metrics, maybe membership dept performance etc. It's certainly not onfield.

If we're 4th based on on-field performances, which of Brisbane, Sydney, Geelong and Hawthorn are we ahead of?

Majority want Hinkley gone and are fed up with not getting it done in finals.

But the spitting venom over literally everything the club does or says seems to be more a vocal minority to me. The crazy reactions to rozee’s interview the other day an example.

It seems like it’s a crime on here to be even the slightest bit bullish about our young list moving forward, and also be somewhat satisfied that we seem to be doing well financially. The off field stuff is okay, and that’s obviously part of these surveys they must do.

Not everything has to be hated and shat on because of Hinkley. If you took him out of the equation and just looked at our list I find it strange that you can’t get somewhat excited to see what these players can deliver this year.

So any supporter not wanting to trade our current position with North Melbourne means they don't understand the game?

Yeah righto.

North haven't made a GF since 1999, haven't even made finals in 9 years. Have been in the bottom 2 for 5 years straight, winning on average only 3 games a year.

This record has not improved one bit since Clarko arrived. 6 wins and 40 losses last 2 years.

But apparently they are in an enviable position compared to us.

God there are some horrible takes on here at times.
North are going to go straight past a load of teams though, yeah they were a shitshow but they've turned it around under Clarkson even if you can't see it yet. All of a sudden they will go bang much like Hawthorn did.

tl;dr - Scorch definitely has a mate or a family member who's a scarf swayer

Nah my footy group chat has spent the entire offseason with everyone but me playing Football Manager 24, so they're educated on the matter enough to know to not sway.

Cheesey Mac has got Derby in the Premier League and just beat Man City for the first time in his run. Funnily enough his team struggles to score despite controlling the play and his opponents seem to score every time they go forward, so it's pretty much like talking about Port anyway.

Nah my footy group chat has spent the entire offseason with everyone but me playing Football Manager 24, so they're educated on the matter enough to know to not sway.

Cheesey Mac has got Derby in the Premier League and just beat Man City for the first time in his run. Funnily enough his team struggles to score despite controlling the play and his opponents seem to score every time they go forward, so it's pretty much like talking about Port anyway.
When asked to describe his recent Cup loss despite owning possession and having more shots on goal the Derby manager simply said "pure Hinkleyball".

Tbh I should've been sacked two seasons ago but the board seem happy just to exist

Obviously Bigfooty has been well ahead of the curve on this one but based on watercooler conversations over the last few seasons

We’re early to market, and have been mocked by the likes of Rucci and the intellectual titans on Reddit for it in the past, but are we ever on the wrong side of history?

tribeys comment was that he would trade our cement ceiling for north's boundless potential. And your response agreed with it and said the average supporter doesn't understand the game like people on this forum do.

North might win a flag under Clarkson.

Port won’t win a flag under Hinkley.

It’s not that deep.

I reckon that's right. I have been sitting with the same group at games for quite a few years now (just footy friends) and a few seasons ago I would have probably agreed that a lot of the supporter base was 'satisfied'. But the last two or three seasons I see a lot more dissatisfaction among these same people. Mostly about the coaching and gamestyle issues rather than the players themselves.

Majority want Hinkley gone and are fed up with not getting it done in finals.

But the spitting venom over literally everything the club does or says seems to be more a vocal minority to me. The crazy reactions to rozee’s interview the other day an example.

It seems like it’s a crime on here to be even the slightest bit bullish about our young list moving forward, and also be somewhat satisfied that we seem to be doing well financially. The off field stuff is okay, and that’s obviously part of these surveys they must do.

Not everything has to be hated and shat on because of Hinkley. If you took him out of the equation and just looked at our list I find it strange that you can’t get somewhat excited to see what these players can deliver this year.

I'm generally quite positive about membership issues in these surveys.
Reasonably satisfied with match day entertainment without being effusive.
Similar with precinct redevelopment items.

But in the "any other comments" section I deflect to on-field performance and administrative inertia, and go on a full scale rant and rage. Mind you I consider my responses quite erudite, and factually sound, so I'm not totally feral about it.

Guess the metrics associated with those responses are shredded though :(

And i wouldn't trade places with a North supporter. My opinion is not that deep either.
At the end of the day we can say a lot of things about Ken, but there aren't credible allegations that Ken ever cooerced a player's partner in to having an abortion. I'm glad we didn't bring Clarko to Port.