Memberships for 2004

• Thread starter Thread starter Repo Man

MarkT, yeah, I just realised I mucked up that post. What I meant to say was that Legends should have 1-100 get one, 101-200 don't. Then for Captain's 1-50 get one, 51-200 don't. Then for Social Clubbers 1-25 get one, 26-200 don't. I know those are very unfair odds, but the stark reality is that it is an unfair world.

Grand Final ticketing is just one of those horrible injustices that unfortunately, we will never be able to do anything about, unless Eddie becomes the CEO of the AFL. In the perfect world we know that for the Grand Final just gone Collingwoods 41 000 members would've all had option to buy, and then the Lions 25000 members would have all been put on a ship and thrown into the middle of the ocean, then the rest of the tickets would go to the "corporate scum". But as much as it infuriates each and every one of us jobbers that go to the footy every weekend to watch our team. The AFL makes a christ-load more money from the "corporate scummers" than they ever will from the real fans.
We all hate that, but it ain't ever gonna change.

My honest opinion is that the club has done the responsible thing. By not making a promise that they cannot deliver.

Does anyone know what the rough breakdown in membership numbers for each category are? If the things you know are contrary to the assumptions I will make, then by all means correct me. But I think that there would be probably twice as many Social Club Members as Legends Members (again, just an assumption). So assuming that, with this years prices. Lets say that there were 20 000 social club members, and 10 000 Legends members. To promise the Legends members GF tickets would keep them in. But to in turn say to the Social Club members only that they are not guaranteed anything and have to go into a ballot would turn them off buying a membership. Now the average price for Social Club memberships is just over half the price of a Legends membership. So alienating twice as many members, at half the price, would be equal to the backlash they would receive if all Legends members were to say "well bash that up 'yer ginger". Either way they are going to have to upset somebody. In my honest opinion, I believe what they have done is the least damaging option, slightly infuriate each category of members, rather than totally infuriating a whole category of members. Its a lose lose situation, I know that. There is not much else that they can do. At least they told us in advance. Would you all have preferred them wait until everyone has purchased their memberships and the season 2004 has begun for them to say "Oh by the way, you are all being balloted for GF tickets". The other stark reality is that if you don't buy a membership, and are not in the ballot to being with, then your chance of a GF ticket are as good as bupkiss. At least through a ballot you have the chance.

The basic gist of what I am saying, is that I am sticking by the club. I know that will get me slagged out by everyone. But I hope that in the end, we all stick together to uphold the Magpies name and get behind the club. In-fighting and bickering is not going to get us, or the club anywhere.

...Repo Man...

what crap. how will the ballot work? this is all i want to know. this information has not been provided. it is a complete shambles. everyone is in the dark. if they provide everyone with the information we have nothing to complain about, but as it stands now I have no idea what chance my social club membership has of landing me a GF ticket and neither do the other categories of membership.

Originally posted by understudy
what crap. how will the ballot work? this is all i want to know. this information has not been provided. it is a complete shambles. everyone is in the dark. if they provide everyone with the information we have nothing to complain about, but as it stands now I have no idea what chance my social club membership has of landing me a GF ticket and neither do the other categories of membership.

Well call the bloody membership department and ask them then. How the heck are we supposed to know. I am at least speculating, whereas everyone else is just whinging about how unfair it is. Geez, no wonder everybody else hates us when we carry on like pork chops.

...Repo Man...

Originally posted by Repo Man
Well call the bloody membership department and ask them then. How the heck are we supposed to know. I am at least speculating, whereas everyone else is just whinging about how unfair it is. Geez, no wonder everybody else hates us when we carry on like pork chops.

...Repo Man...

i have called and as of yet they do not know. A mate of mine is setting up an email address so members can lodge there complaints to the club, once members get an idea about whats going on they are not going to be to happy. THE PEOPLES CLUB.

Somebody in management has stuffed up real bad because it dosnt happen in other clubs. At other clubs they want you to become a member, at Richmond you can pay by the month, what a great idea, you have until September next year to have it paid. I think that this is greed from a club that just made 2million.

I bet my bottom dollar that we will not get 40,000 members next year unless this gets changed.

Agree totally that the "peoples club" will not get 40K members for the 2004 season if they proceed in the manner that they have done so. They have forgotten where their 2mill comes prodominately from - the supporters.

Originally posted by Repo Man

...Repo Man...

Exactly, we have no idea of knowing.

The information should be posted clearly on the website.

Ive got no idea whats going on but ive joined anyway.

Not sure others will be so willing.

Originally posted by droche
Somebody in management has stuffed up real bad because it dosnt happen in other clubs. At other clubs they want you to become a member, at Richmond you can pay by the month, what a great idea, you have until September next year to have it paid. I think that this is greed from a club that just made 2million.
LOL at Richmond they'll throw in a free bag of manure and they have perforated membership tickets so you can tear 'em up come round 12.

Originally posted by MarkT
LOL at Richmond they'll throw in a free bag of manure and they have perforated membership tickets so you can tear 'em up come round 12.

Agree but atleast they are doing something, we seem to be turning them away!!

This was on another wed site Nicks

This was on Nicks Wed Site

**This was posted on Lulie Street Dash**

To all Collingwood Supporters
Please Take Note
All Legends, Captains and Social Club Members.

The Collingwood Football Club Senior Management in their wisdom have decided next year to take the GUARANTEED Grand Final Ticket away from the members and IF Collingwood gets into the Grand Final all will go into a ballot. That means that if you in the past supported the club with not only your voice at each game but also your back pocket with a membership that guaranteed you a Grand Final ticket you will in 2004 lose this privilege. Because the Pies have done so well in the past couple of years our membership has grown (over 40,000 last year) which is fantastic. BUT the members that were there in the down times were buying a membership PACKAGE that GUARANTEED them that if Collingwood got into a Grand Final they would be there to see it. Well YOU people are now going to be put in a Ballot. The club that preaches that they are the peoples club has said Thanks for your support in the past when we needed it the most but now that we have heaps that want this level of membership BUGGER OFF.

I am going to fight the club over this issue and I need your support. I am not going to stand back and let the club take from me and all others the one ENTILTLEMENT I believe should stay in our hands, that is that my membership GUARANTEES us a ticket to the Grand Final if Collingwood gets in.

I have spoke to the Collingwood Football Club Senior Management and they tell me that Legends, Captains and Social Club members are not buying this level of membership for the GUARANTEED ticket but for the fact that they get entry and seats at the games. I SAY they are wrong and out of touch and that many of us have been buying these memberships for exactly that reason.

This will not be a fight with the club. It will not be a threat that if we don't get what we want we are not going to renew our memberships. It is going to be the voice of the people banding together and going to the club and SAYING "The decision that has been made is wrong and we want it changed"

To be part of this "fight to change" please email your Name, Membership Number and either and email address or contact number to " craig@footyfan.com"

Remember if you sit back and watch the world go by IT WILL
IF YOU WANT TO BE PART OF THIS WORLD, SOMETIMES YOU HAVE TO STAND UP AND BE COUNTED.

Craig Ryan
Legends Member

press release from the club.

glad the club has taken on board our feedback and clarified the situation.

http://collingwoodfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=126577

2004 AFL Grand Final Ticketing for Collingwood Members
Collingwood Football Club
8:15:50 PM Wed 12 November, 2003

Please find following information regarding Collingwood’s allocation of 2004 AFL Grand Final tickets for Legends, Captains and Social Club members - in the event that Collingwood is a competing team.

In previous years, as an extra benefit for social club members, Collingwood has been able to guarantee an AFL Grand Final ticket in the event that Collingwood was one of the competing teams.

In 2004, due to uncertainty about the reduced capacity of the MCG and the ticket allocation made by the AFL, it is not possible for the club to provide a guaranteed AFL Grand Final ticket for social club members.

In 2003, the Department of Justice and the Office of Fair Trading received complaints from Collingwood members about the allocation of AFL Grand Final tickets. As a result of this action and on the advice of the department, Collingwood has introduced a ballot system for social club members to allocate 2004 AFL Grand Final ticketing.

Our research, and experience over the last two years, indicates that if Collingwood does participate in the 2004 AFL Grand Final, the vast majority of social club members (if not all) who wish to attend will more than likely receive a ticket.

Over the past two years a significant number of social club members have not taken up their entitlements to a Grand Final ticket. In 2002 we were able to hold a ballot of tickets for season ticket holders.

At Collingwood all members are considered equal. For this reason we do not have a Number 1 ticket holder. We do not discriminate between old or new members, although an announcement will be made in the near future regarding a special loyalty program for members. A ballot system is the fairest method of allocating 2004 AFL Grand Final.

The view that tickets should only be allocated based on the length of time that a person has been a member was considered, but this method discriminates against some members and places an unnecessarily restriction on recent and new memberships. It is vital for the cub that membership continues to grow.

As Collingwood expects nearly all social club members to receive a ticket, we do not want to introduce a system that discriminates against some members and acts as a disincentive for recent or new members.

Collingwood Social Club membership is the best way for a Magpie supporter to gain access to a ticket for the 2004 AFL Grand Final should Collingwood participate.

Collingwood will do everything in its power to lobby the AFL to ensure that social club members who wish to attend have access to a ticket. We are confident, based on past history, that the vast majority of social club members who wish to attend will be able to do so – if not all social club members.

All social club members who have joined Collingwood by 30 March 2004 will be placed in the ballot to receive 2004 AFL Grand Final tickets should Collingwood participate.

This is so much crap on so many fronts. Its all smoke screens and it dosnt wash with me.

The issue here is, not what my solution is; I don’t get paid by the club through my membership to work this out. That is your job. As a shareholder at the club I am telling you that this is unsatisfactory and needs to be changed before the 2004 season kicks off.
The ground swell of support is building. At the AGM the attention is not going to be how much money the club made, but the focus will centre on the fact that the club is now charging more and offering less. Had the club said at the start “we can’t guarantee you a ticket so we will not charge you more in fact there will be a discount? That would have been some good PR work by the club. But it looks to me and other members that this is greed.

I can by a Season Ticket 18 games with seating for $510. For a Legends membership it cost $675.00. The difference is $165.00. The only reason people got this membership was so they could get a Guaranteed GF ticket. If I am wrong on this, then why are there cheer squad members that are Legends members also? We have been told the reason they have become a legends members so that they can guarantee them selves a GF ticket should we get in. In the 2 seats that were next to me this year, they were always empty, in the end of the season I meet the guy that owned the seat and he said to me that he has the membership so he can get in to the GF. This man lived interstate and could not attend home and away games.

You get a hat on both memberships and on a legends membership you get 1 extra Black and White Magazine. Apart for the event at crown, which we really only attend because its there. I am also under the understanding that 12,000 members had the opportunity to attend yet only around 2500 actually did attend.
Take that away and people wouldn’t really care.

What the clubs (ALL CLUBS) really need to do is approach the AFL on behalf of its members and say, “how can we be expected to increase our membership when on grandfinal day they allocated the following.

20,000 - AFL Members Reserve
19,090 - MCC Members Reserve, including corporate boxes and dining rooms
18,800 - Competing Clubs
16,000 - Grand Final Ticket Allocation to 16 AFL Clubs
4340 - AFL Internal Sale / Use
1,500 - Competing Clubs Internal Use
460 - Competing Clubs Cheer Squads

Clubs say that they need the 16,000 tickets as part of there revenue, that is load of crap, this is the year 2003, how many more handouts can the AFL keep giving. Its time the AFL in conjunction with the competing clubs start giving back to the supporters.

How can the Essendon FC offer its members membership that guarantees a GF ticket if they get there and we can’t?

all relevant questions mate. happy the club put out their reasoning and their take on the situation though. now lets bring on a civilised debate. it is our club and no need to cast it as an us versus them debate. there is no greed here as it is all our money. it is a matter of whether we are paying too much and whether the club use this money wisely.

It is a question of greed. Dont get me wrong i love my club. But they have just taken away one of my basic rights under my membership!!

Charge more give me less, that is greed. If we are getting to big then they need to cap the Social Club List. They cap it for AFL Members MCC Members, ect.

All the club is doing is chasing the money and hurting the people that care about the club most, its members!

What about the pople who took this option in there membership when the club had no chance of getting in a GF? There is no loyalty in the way they have done it. Not Happy at all.

I go to all the games and if we by some luck make it again this year or whenever and i can get a ticket **** will hit the fan.
What the club is doing is rewarding members who just join up when the club is doing well. I am all for them but take your place in line when it comes to the GF. Dont just sign today and expect to be there when we get in the GF.

What they are really asking us to do is pay an extra $160.00 to go into a ballot.

You can get 18 home and away games reserve seating for $160.00 cheaper.

We all laughed at Port Adeliade when they asked there members to pay $10 to reserve a ticket should they get in the GF. It dosnt sound like a bad idea as apposed to what the Pies Admin are doing!

There reasons are also crap. I ask again HOW can Essendon offer it to there members without knowing how many they will get?

They nearly have as many supporters as us

It is a question of greed. Dont get me wrong i love my club. But they have just taken away one of my basic rights under my membership!!

Charge more give me less, that is greed. If we are getting to big then they need to cap the Social Club List. They cap it for AFL Members MCC Members, ect.

All the club is doing is chasing the money and hurting the people that care about the club most, its members!

What about the pople who took this option in there membership when the club had no chance of getting in a GF? There is no loyalty in the way they have done it. Not Happy at all.

I go to all the games and if we by some luck make it again this year or whenever and i can get a ticket **** will hit the fan.
What the club is doing is rewarding members who just join up when the club is doing well. I am all for them but take your place in line when it comes to the GF. Dont just sign today and expect to be there when we get in the GF.

understand your points mate. all im saying is any money that is made goes back into the club (which we own and benefit from), so it is more a question of priorities rather than greed. we as members have a right to decide imo.

for instance capping membership will result in less $$$$ for the club but do we as members prefer this if we can maintain our guaranteed grand final ticket? fully in support of your right to express your opinion to the club.

understand your points mate. all im saying is any money that is made goes back into the club (which we own and benefit from), so it is more a question of priorities rather than greed. we as members have a right to decide imo.

for instance capping membership will result in less $$$$ for the club but do we as members prefer this if we can maintain our guaranteed grand final ticket? fully in support of your right to express your opinion to the club.

When is enough enough though?

This should be the forum for CFC and the rest of the clubs to start letting the AFL know its not good enough. We will support our club, we will go to all the games, but we also want to attend the GF if our team gets there.

This is only the start, memberships across all clubs are growing. What is going to happen when Collingwood get 50,000 members, will we get to see them at Telstra Dome?

The AFL and the clubs need to start thinking about this because it wont be long before it turns into English soccer. Are we going to have to pay $200.00 to see a game?

This topic gets brought up every September, by then its to late, If the clubs don't run with this now and fight the AFL for more seats we will all be talking about this next year, and the year after!!

How is the club going to contain their $2.1 million dollar profit if we their shareholders decide not to put as much money in ie. downgrade our memberships to basic season tickets!?!?!?!?!?!?

GOOD POINT BLACKANDWHITE 4-eva

I have got a funny feeling that all this is crap. I want the club to
Guarantee that they will not release a new membership at say $1000.00 and in that membership you get a Guaranteed GF ticket. I really don’t see this current situation changing but the club says they don’t want to discriminate against any members ect. Then why is the Social Club (ballot for a ticket) and Season Ticket Holders (no Ballot). I want them to say that they are not going to bring in a new level of membership. In there statement they said “we are bringing something in for the members that have shown loyalty. This still smells really bad.

I have been interested to read the plight's of other Club's supporters and their thoughts to the ticket allocation issue for the GF....

having been through it in 2000 and 2001 i can feel for you and agree that the situation is Crap and needs an urgent review.....

In 2001 I queued for 3 days just for a ticket that allowed me to queue for a GF ticket IF my side made it.... My Collingwood supporting Brother in-law minded my seat while I went to the PF against Hawthorn

20,000 - AFL Members Reserve
19,090 - MCC Members Reserve, including corporate boxes and dining rooms
18,800 - Competing Clubs
16,000 - Grand Final Ticket Allocation to 16 AFL Clubs
4340 - AFL Internal Sale / Use
1,500 - Competing Clubs Internal Use
460 - Competing Clubs Cheer Squads

These breakdowns show where the scalpers get their tickets from. The non-competing clubs seel them off at higher prices to make a profit. In 1997 Geelong proudly boasted that it had sold 1000 of it's allocation for a profit of $ 350,000... Most of those tickets were sold to St.Kilda members who missed out

IMO - AFL members MUST nominate a club affiliate, and if that club makes it to the GF then they automatically get a ticket. The rest of the AFL members could go into a ballot if there are some tickets left over after Club members have had their bite at the Cherry.

i know for a fact that they have in the past, increased the size of the AFL members area at the expense of the general public and corporate social clubs like 'Pegasus' draw an allocation from here as well.

The AFL has dropped the ball with this and it needs to be the big clubs like yours and mine who need to lead the charge to bring tickets back within reach of the members..

How can the Essendon FC offer its members membership that guarantees a GF ticket if they get there and we can’t?

That is because we have a Cap on our 'High mark' and 'Gold' memberships ( About 7000 ) to ensure that they get a GF ticket every year as the club allocation is always more than that.

Unfortunately Collingwood IMO are cashing in on the popularity of the moment and signing up more members to high priced memberships believing they will be GUARANTEED a GF ticket, only to be told they will have to be balloted because the club has over-booked..so to speak at the expense of the longer serving members

Originally posted by dodgey

That is because we have a Cap on our 'High mark' and 'Gold' memberships ( About 7000 ) to ensure that they get a GF ticket every year as the club allocation is always more than that.

Yep thats about right about the high mark and silver memberships being capped at Essendon. There is a waiting list though in order to purchase one of them.

i rang the essendon football club and they didnt mention anything about that. If fact the were keen to get all my details, not forthcoming, I am a pie man.

On another point, interesting reading through Nicks Collingwood web site and noticed that there are Members there that are going to partition the club on the ticket allocation. In short the club has basically asked the members to put a motion in to the club to partition the AFL on this allocation. Anyone interested you should give your details to Craig. He is gathering email addresses and Membership numbers to present the the club at the AGM. His email address is craig@footyfan.com

i rang the essendon football club and they didnt mention anything about that. If fact the were keen to get all my details, not forthcoming, I am a pie man.

There was one in '02 when I eventually got mine. They must have alot of free spots now after alot of the high mark members downgraded their memberships this year to the basic level.

There was a little piece in The West Australian today about WA based Collingwood members.

Appears the hat they were sent had member spelt memeber.

Did this happen to all members - just curious.