Universal Love Memory Lane: 1990 premiership

we went home, got drunk, got naked, and made love.
I gave her the best 97 seconds of her life. :p
Glad to hear it.
97 seconds!!
Surely that includes, ordering a pizza, getting undressed and having a shower?

Ahhh, remember it like yesterday.
My girlfriend at the time was a stripper, and she had a job to serve beer topless at a grand final party.
So just after I've dropped her off, I get a call from her saying the guys holding the party have no problems if I want to come back and watch the game with them.
This is where it gets good.
The whole party was full of Bombers supporters. I was the only Pies fan in the room.
So, in exchange for my missus serving them beer with her boobs out, I got to watch the Grand Final with her, eat all of their food, drink all of their beer, take all of their cash after they all bet me the Pies will lose ( ended up pocketing $260), And watch their face drop as the mighty Pies demolished the Dons.
And to top it all off, as my missus was driving my drunken arse home, we stop at the bottle shop to pick up some grog, and find 2 crisp $50 notes in the car park.

Winners were definitely grinners that day.
Can I get a hell yeaahh!!!

Got tickets at the last minute but had already organised a BBQ at my place as well. Friends still came around (all Pies supporters).
When I got home everyone was so drunk! We still carried on until late, took lots of photos and the stereo was on playing our theme song.
Two weeks later, house was broken in and they stole my camera, stereo still with the record on it plus lots of other things so no record of a great party and no opportunity to blackmail friends.:p

Got tickets at the last minute bot had already organised a BBQ at my place as well. Friends still came around (all Pies supporters).
When I got home everyone was so drunk! We still carried on until late, took lots of photos and the stereo was on playing our theme song.
Two weeks later, house was broken in and they stole my camera, stereo still with the record on it plus lots of other things so no record of a great party and no opportunity to blackmail friends.:p

so someone at rhe party cased the joint while they were drinking..

And senior assistant coach Robert Harvey

Nah not many do it left handed when they're right footers....and then there was Daicos. Could alternate bouncing hands and kick magnificently with either foot. I know we're comparing gods to mere mortals here but....sigh....oh to have seen just another 10 games of that bloke.

Remember watching this game at home in Rochester (up near Echuca, two and a bit hours from Melbourne). We had my dad's sister visiting for the game and her husband had played for Essendon in the 1970s (only reserves). We were pretty confident going into the game and after a nervous first quarter where Salmon threatened to ruin us, we dominated the second term and took over the game. At the end of the game, mum and dad said to our visitors "lock the door on the way out" as we headed down to Melbourne, packed into the stationwagon. I was only nine but I still remember that night. You won't see that again. There were people everywhere and they were pumped - the most intense crowd I've ever seen. Went back on Sunday and I remember the pallets and pallets of booze outside the social rooms.

I had a couple of weeks lead up to the big day, starting with the West Coast draw at my coaches house, the replay at my Captains house, playing our league GF and losing, then watching the Second Semi against Essendon at home (too nervous to socialise).
I was devastated the Bombers smashed the Eagles fairly easily in the prelim.
I watched the GF at another footy mates house.
I had about 1/2 a beer during the game, but finished the case before the singing stopped....
After the game was like a euphoric haze. I had the week off after.
I reckon I watched the tape 15 times in that week, mostly in my undies.:D

Had a BBQ and drink up at my house on GF day. Once the siren went I walked straight out the door without telling anyone and walked to Nepean Hwy. Put my thumb out and the first Collingwood supporter picked me up. Got a lift to Frankston station. There were a few Collingwood supporters on the platform with an eski and as soon as the saw me in my Collingwood jumper they invited me to join them. From there to the city at every stop more and more Collingwood supporters got on the train and by the time we got into town it was a sea of black and white.
Went to Vic Park where all I remember was singing the song over and over again and hugging everyone and drinking lots of beer.
Oh and when Millane walked through the crowd with the Cup he walked about 5 metres past where I was standing. I took a flying leap over the top of the people in front of me and got my fingertips onto the cup.
Got home about 6am. Most of the guys who were at my house were crashed out on the couches and the floor. Next morning they all asked me where I disappeared to. Told them there was no way I was not going to be at Vic Park for the occasion. Was too euphoric to ask them if they wanted to come or to even bother telling them I was going.
Great day.

All a bit of a blur to me, I probably behaved badly but I don't remember much. I remember lots of singing, screaming and running around, the smell of beer and cigarettes, people hanging out their car windows and sunroofs holding their scarves and screaming, honking of horns, upside down and burning cars, flannelette shirts, mullets and heavy metal music.

[QUOTE
Filo, we must have the sequel. And after that night?
sorry Vicky, I'm a few months late with the reply.
I was quite happy that I wasn't delisted after the first performance. Let's just say that over the next year, quite a few lectures were missed in favour of going to her place and sort of watching the Grand Final, if you know what I mean? 'Twas an interesting friendship. I caught up with her at a shopping centre about 6 years ago. Just walked up to her, tapped her on the shoulder and said "Go Pies!" After looking at me puzzled for a few seconds she laughed and said "Sssssssssssss Daicosssssssssssss". The only reference to those days was when she looked at her watch and said "biology lecture or Grand Final?". Had a great chat.
I tell ya what, the years have been kind to her. Dunno what I would have done had she said "shopping or Grand Final?"

All a bit of a blur to me, I probably behaved badly but I don't remember much. I remember lots of singing, screaming and running around, the smell of beer and cigarettes, people hanging out their car windows and sunroofs holding their scarves and screaming, honking of horns, upside down and burning cars, flannelette shirts, mullets and heavy metal music.

Good summary BBB, you got it in a nutshell!

Holding up the bar tonight watching the saints v doggies game. Cheering for the Saints because Alan Richardson is the coach.

I will never forget the look on his face as he ran past into the race after failing the fitness test that Leigh Mathews gave him in the middle of Victoria Park on the Thursday night before the 1990 grandfinal. He was actually crying.

Massive soft spot for Alan Richardson.

my mum was a hairdresser. a client of hers gave her a ticket for $35. i travelled in by train. got fed sandwiches by these lil old ladies sitting in front of me. and i remember travelling home by train in a euphoric state with the carriage going nuts. folk singing drinking smoking.. one of the greattest experiences ever. as we passed victoria park the noice was deafening. just awesome.