Menu surcharge

• Thread starter Thread starter moses

Yeah but at a "grown up restaurant" you go in fully expecting to pay more.

Forking out the best part of $30 might be fine at a gourmet wood-fired pizza restaurant.....not to share a standard pizza with a mate at a pub.

Not even. I think $25 is the max a pizza should be.

They've got to pay for the multi million development somehow
I think their pokie room which is open until 4am would help, not to mention the courtesy bus picking up and taking home the oldies in the area.

This is the key bit of information that seems implied but needs confirmation.
The $6.50 makes no mention of the salad bar, if it did that's completely understandable, but it just comes across as a penalty charge

And still the kfc brigade make it sound like a crazy idea from a foreign planet. Its fairly standard stuff

But it is not standard stuff for a pub.

You are acting like the OP has said "I tried to get a table at this Stokehouse joint but they wouldn't let me come in with my footy gear on".

I'd imagine it's to discourage people using the eating tables to sink piss. If you get four blokes in there all sharing one pizza, the kitchen obviously isn't going to make as much $$ as if there were four blokes in there all ordering meals.
The margins on food are pretty low, blokes "sinking piss" is what makes venues the $$.

That's the most normal thing in the world,

Y'all need to move past KFC
Ok, in case it wasn't obvious before, it should be now, you are most assuredly a troll alias.

Ignoring the deliberate irony of your DP and handle for a second, your comment does not make sense. I eat out a fair bit and have never once encountered this scenario before.

It seems more like a way to extort additional revenue from customers if anything, probably something they can get away with if the venue operates at near capacity on peak nights. This sort of practice would only be possible in an area where competition is low.

My guess is they only have a full liquor license for the beer garden, which means drinking patrons in the restaurant need to order food. It should be incumbent upon staff to make this clear, instead of using sneaky surcharges as a work around.

Lastly, if that pub is your idea of haute cuisine, son you have decidedly low standards.

How do they know if you share? Are they constantly looking at you. Shit policy although it would never apply to me as I eat to much to share a meal with anyone

I'm sure you do, what if your preference regular or curly fries?

If you have never encountered that scenario, then you are only eating (very) down market.

So what if they do you snob.

The poshness of the establishment people choose to eat at is irrelevant to the point of this thread. Charging an extra $6.5 because you are sharing is steep, i've never heard of it before and therefore worthy of a thread.

If you want to give people a hard time because they eat at cheaper restaurants than you do then start another thread on it you bloody w***er.

But it is not standard stuff for a pub.

You are acting like the OP has said "I tried to get a table at this Stokehouse joint but they wouldn't let me come in with my footy gear on".

No, I am correcting these people who keep talking like this is an idea made up from another galaxy when its very standard.

The only reason this thread exists is because the op and most of the contributors don't know what is & isn't normal.

There is incredulous shock that a supplement on a menu could even exist, anywhere, ever. Which only tells us about the people saying it

They are not saying this seems harsh in a pub, they are saying this is something they can't believe anyone would impose anywhere, anyhow

So what if they do you snob.

The poshness of the establishment people choose to eat at is irrelevant to the point of this thread. Charging an extra $6.5 because you are sharing is steep, i've never heard of it before and therefore worthy of a thread.

If you want to give people a hard time because they eat at cheaper restaurants than you do then start another thread on it you bloody Moo.

Do you also consider napery & metal cutlery to be snobbish too?

What about places that don't have salad bars or serve fries with everything - are they just too fancy.

If someone wants to complain from a position of ignorance, would it be kinder to correct them now before they encounter a more awkward scenario when they start going to grown up places

Do you also consider napery & metal cutlery to be snobbish too?

What about places that don't have salad bars or serve fries with everything - are they just too fancy.

If someone wants to complain from a position of ignorance, would it be kinder to correct them now before they encounter a more awkward scenario when they start going to grown up places

Just so you know i can see straight through your agenda here. You are transparently insecure if you're trying to put people down on the basis of where they eat. Even if you only fine dine and they go to bogan restaurants, to carry on like you are shows a distinct lack of class.
You seem like you'd be dreadful company, really boring. I'd rather have a beer and a parma in a pub than eat at a nice restaurant with you.

No, I am correcting these people who keep talking like this is an idea made up from another galaxy when its very standard.

The only reason this thread exists is because the op and most of the contributors don't know what is & isn't normal.

There is incredulous shock that a supplement on a menu could even exist, anywhere, ever. Which only tells us about the people saying it

They are not saying this seems harsh in a pub, they are saying this is something they can't believe anyone would impose anywhere, anyhow
Don't make assumptions you clown, I have eaten at some of Adelaide's most expensive restaurants and never seen such a surcharge. It's a pub, not Fat Duck

Yeah i eat out a bit too and have never heard of a surcharge and LOL sanders, do you take your gf to posh restaurants only to share an entre? I ask because how the hell do you know what a nice restaurants sharing policy is?

If you go out to a nice restaurant then you order something? The only time you wouldn't order something would be in a more casual setting, like a pub.

Just so you know i can see straight through your agenda here. You are transparently insecure if you're trying to put people down on the basis of where they eat. Even if you only fine dine and they go to bogan restaurants, to carry on like you are shows a distinct lack of class.
You seem like you'd be dreadful company, really boring. I'd rather have a beer and a parma in a pub than eat at a nice restaurant with you.

Yes, my agenda was hoping someone would start a thread like this.

I'd rather you had a beer & parmi too :)

Which ones? And do they let you only order an entree?

Obviously you know the Fat Duck only serves a fixed 10 course menu with no choice at all. No sharing, no starter or main only etc

Yeah i eat out a bit too and have never heard of a surcharge and LOL sanders, do you take your gf to posh restaurants only to share an entre? I ask because how the hell do you know what a nice restaurants sharing policy is?

If you go out to a nice restaurant then you order something? The only time you wouldn't order something would be in a more casual setting, like a pub.

Have you gotten confused about what it is you are arguing against?

As I say stop worrying about others judging you, and stick to the topic