Merged Draft threads - Part 2

Might seem a little far-fetched but I wouldn't be disappointed if we snared Jackson Trengove at #5 (especially if Hurley's DC is poor)

I haven't seen many draftees (if at all) other than Jackson, but from what I saw in the TAC finals last year, I was very impressed.

People need to remember that we may not get Hurley, and if we dont then we need to look at the other tall defenders in the draft, as, IMO, we all tend to agree that we need another tall backmen, what happens if we dont get Hurley? who else is their? any one else thought of these questions? for mine, their are two players that look ok, Riley Milne a 196cm FB, is good on the lead, but isnt so strong in one on ones, and what about Brodie A'Vard from Murray (I think) a 196cm FB also, people, we cannot, as the old saying goes, put all our eggs in one basket, agreed?

If Hurley isn't around go with a hard midfielder like Ziebel

We should Trade Lovett out for a second & third round pick.

use one of those second round picks onto Geelong for Prismall.

Take Hurley with pick 5. Hopefully a De Boer or Stanton. There are a couple of Full backs that might be worth looking at too. (names escape me at the moment)

That way we get good mids, good backs to complement our good forwards.

I know people think Prismall is over rated on this board, but i think they could change thier view after watching him in the finals. I think he is a star.

Might seem a little far-fetched but I wouldn't be disappointed if we snared Jackson Trengove at #5 (especially if Hurley's DC is poor)

I haven't seen many draftees (if at all) other than Jackson, but from what I saw in the TAC finals last year, I was very impressed.
I reckon Trengrove could still be available at say a late first rounder, and that could be just what we trade Lovett for.

I want Naitinui or Hurley... I recall a fellow by the name of Buddy Franklin who fell to pick 4 (from memory) after getting a bum-wrap from the national champs! Naitinui could fall to no. 5 where we could scoop him up, I think PA are the other team that is in need of a ruckman... probably more so than us.

We also need a kp backman, no doubt about that, can't say I've seen much of Hurley but by reputation would be the best kp available at pick 5.

The only thing with drafting Trengove is that we already have that athletic type CHB in Paddy Ryder. We really need a Mal type (but with better mobility of course) and someone who can lock down a player and act as that brick wall.

Will Lisle be available with our second pick? If not, maybe we should package Lovett + 2nd round for a high second round/low first round pick. Correct me if I'm wrong but i've read he is a decent prospect as a KP back.

You wouldn't think Lisle would be available at our second round pick, but then again, stranger things have happened and is a slim chance of sliding.

Lovett will be gone for Rischitelli people, you can almost lock it in. We're very interested in Rischitelli and Lovett looks to be put on the trade table quite urgently. Fremantle & the Eagles are also interested, but haven't made any realistic offers, understandably still toying with the idea as the season isn't really over as the Finals are just beginning. Not a huge Rischitelli fan, isn't overly quick, but if given heaps of TOG in the midfield he could blossom. When in trouble, he finds players no problem by foot so that is a massive plus. Will be interesting what eventuates...

I want Naitinui or Hurley... I recall a fellow by the name of Buddy Franklin who fell to pick 4 (from memory) after getting a bum-wrap from the national champs! Naitinui could fall to no. 5 where we could scoop him up, I think PA are the other team that is in need of a ruckman... probably more so than us.

We also need a kp backman, no doubt about that, can't say I've seen much of Hurley but by reputation would be the best kp available at pick 5.

The question on Buddy was never about if he could play. It was attitude.
The question on Naitanui is about his footy smarts.

The only thing with drafting Trengove is that we already have that athletic type CHB in Paddy Ryder. We really need a Mal type (but with better mobility of course) and someone who can lock down a player and act as that brick wall.

I wouldn't be disappointed with two Paddy Ryder's :thumbsu:

wouldnt mind a nice midfielder/winger in ziebell or hartlett, because our midfield still isnt very good....all grand final teams in the past few years have had gun midfields...
..but we could do with a hurley for the backline...
why so much interest rischitelli? doesnt look overly great. wouldnt hav thought brisbane wouldve been overly interested in lovet either..
we could trade him for a draft pick....knights does want a nice young team..

i reckon we should also trade out NLM, really he's not that good, doesnt offer much....its blokes like him, that are almost 26....in the prime of their career, yet arnt setting the game alight...

ricky D would also be lucky to stay, horrible year in the end i thought
and knights will keep hocking...and im not against him yet....but he looks awfully slow

Trengove is blonde, #24, thin with a big leap. The first 2 times I saw him (vs. Eastern Rangers and Sandringham), I was unaware who he was, and didn't grab my attention. When I saw him play against the Jets, and the Falcons he played prodominately in the ruck and played very well. I can't remember how he played against the Bushrangers though.

check this out Jonesy1987 and start at 2.24 in. Maybe your opinion will change.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XTcKKM481ss

Trengove is blonde, #24, thin with a big leap. The first 2 times I saw him (vs. Eastern Rangers and Sandringham), I was unaware who he was, and didn't grab my attention. When I saw him play against the Jets, and the Falcons he played prodominately in the ruck and played very well. I can't remember how he played against the Bushrangers though.

Against Sandy it would have been fair enough not to notice him becasue he played defence and had 14 possessions. Against Rangers he should have been a bit harder to miss. Still had the 14 possesions but kicked two goals from CHF. You would think that people would notice the blokes kicking goals ;)

Especially a big rangy athletic kid like that.

I like that video of Jackson Trengove, look to have great athletic ability.

It's the first time i have seen him and have only been working off what people who know what they are talking about opinions of him.

I'm on board now, he's our man.

[YOUTUBE]BaC3TZ2mQ2c[/YOUTUBE]

The question on Buddy was never about if he could play. It was attitude.
The question on Naitanui is about his footy smarts.

Name the players with footy smarts in our team. McVeigh, Lloyd, Lucas, Fletcher... with the exception of Lloyd, none had footy smarts from the get-go imo. They all developed at different stages, McVeigh took the longest. I believe those who don't draft him when the opportunity arises will live to regret it.

Impressive - but I liked the look of Hurley and Ziebel better. Seemed like he has a lot of development in him, but has long term prospect written all over him.

It's the first time i have seen him and have only been working off what people who know what they are talking about opinions of him.

I'm on board now, he's our man.

Good...Good, it's all coming together. First the big footy Essendon mods, then Essendon's recruitment department.