Merged Draft threads - Part 2

Kade Klemke is a good, honest footballer who goes in for the footy at all costs, would be a nice pick up with one of our last draft choices, looks composed when he has the ball and isn't afraid to take the opposition on, even though he doesn't have outstanding pace. Would certainly worth grabbing if we could grab him cheap via the scholarship program. :thumbsu:

Agree with your thoughts on Klemke but he is not eligable for the scholarship scheme as he is from Culcairn just North of Albury.

I don't reckon he can play that role. From what I've seen of him he'd be more a lock down type of guy.

Ryder could possibly do it but I don't know if he'll ever be the guy that can get it 20 times from defence.

Obviously you haven't seen all that much of him.

His run for WA in the Champs last year was a feature point of his game.

On potential, he's perfect for that role. He's quick, skillful, has a good football brain and has some strong defensive qualities to match. With a full pre-season, he could well be one to watch in '09.

Your right Culcairn is in NSW. Why would Klemke be ineligible? Age?

Becasue the scheme only cover kids from non AFL areas. The riverena is not included in the area you can sign kids from ;) Kids from that area can play for the Bushrangers if they are good enough to make it.
It is not NSW based it is specific area based. Pretty sure Canberra is not included either. Most of the kids signed have been from an area within 200km of Sydney.

We are crying out for someone like Wellman, Clement or Milburn.

A guy that can play tall and small and use the ball well.

I think we are screaming out for a lock down backman.

Our backline get bags kicked on them regularly.

We have plenty of players who can run and use the ball but no one that can take on the task of shutting down a dangerous forward.

I doubt Ryder will be that guy nor do i think Knights wants him to be.

I don't reckon he can play that role. From what I've seen of him he'd be more a lock down type of guy.

Ryder could possibly do it but I don't know if he'll ever be the guy that can get it 20 times from defence.

Like Godons said i think you have gone down the wrong track on Pears. One of the aspects that made him attractive was his run from defence during the champ series. If you go back and read some of the comments coming from the club after they drafted him they saw him as a mobile defender who could possibly play some time in the midfield.
Pears did play midfield at under 16 level for WA and he was pretty good in that area as well.
They drafted him becasue they say him as a Wellman type defender.

We have plenty of players who can run and use the ball but no one that can take on the task of shutting down a dangerous forward.

Thats why most think Hurley will be our best bet . I agree we need to find someone who can play like Mal Michela did in his prime. In saying this part of the reason our backline gets bags kicked on them is we are not very good at getting back and filling the space to help our defenders out. Opposition forwards generally have a lot of space to lead into and a lot of one on one contest's against us.

I'm going to do some research in the next week or so that shows how many goals key forwards from other teams kick on us.

Its a real issue that I don't think necassarily is the problem of our key defenders. The forwards seem to get a lot of goals on leads into space and a lot of the time the key defender is helpless to do anything. Its not like Michael, Ryder and Fletcher are being consistently out bodied in one on one contests.

IMO the problem is the blocking up of space by our other defenders and the ease and time which the opposing misdfielders are given to spot up targets.

No doubt our defensive problems run far deeper than just having loose defenders.

We get bags kicked on us by talls and smalls, with Motlop, Medhurst and Wirrpanda a few of the smalls that come to mind and of course the usual tall suspects fev, Franklin, Pav and even O'Loughlin got 6 on us.

Even McKinley kicked his personal best, 7, against us. These guys haven't just done well vs us they have destroyed us and kicked more against us than any other team and this doesn't come down to one thing or player but a combination of things.

Anyways, probably best left for another thread....

Like Godons said i think you have gone down the wrong track on Pears. One of the aspects that made him attractive was his run from defence during the champ series. If you go back and read some of the comments coming from the club after they drafted him they saw him as a mobile defender who could possibly play some time in the midfield.
Pears did play midfield at under 16 level for WA and he was pretty good in that area as well.
They drafted him becasue they say him as a Wellman type defender.

I'm only going on what I've seen in the games he's played and he looks more like a lock down type but I guess I haven't seen enough of him to make a good call.

He was good in traffic a number of times and very creative with the handball so lets hope he can get to that level.

I don't think a lockdown guy will help that much. It's nigh on impossible for a defender to beat the forward one on one.

You only have to look at the best fullback in the league at the moment in Scarlett and how many one on one contest he's actually in. Very few.

The defense isn't gelling as a unit and the only guy that can read the play and help out consistently is Fletcher. Ryder has done it on a couple of occasions but needs to step up a bit more.

Nash, Rama, Slattery and NLM are not up to doing it.

Slattery has the courage and nous to do it but lacks the physical ability.

Have been updating my knowledge on the potential draftees.

Thoughts so far guys/girls:

First Pick:

1) Michael Hurley, awesome key defender, fits our needs exactly.
2) Hamish Hartlett, A blossoming midfielder cum forward,
3) Jack Ziebell, a real leader, is a ready made AFL player,

PICK 2:

1) Stephen Hill, genuine star, may not be available here.
2) Matthew Broadbent, was unlucky to miss out on AA in under 18s.
3) Tom Lynch, a genuine utility, in the mould of Adam Hunter

PICK 3:

1) Jay Shannon, tough as nails inside midfielder.
2) Jarred Redden, only decent ruck left at this stage.
3) Kane Lucas, uses the ball well, and runs all day.
4) Kade Klemke, was AA, so can play, uses ball well from half back.

PICK 4:

1) Luke Stanton, tall running player, is creative and runs hard.
2) Tom Alwright, may be here still, is hard and tough in the clinches.
3) Andrew Browne, massive ruckmen, who can take a contested mark.

ROOKIE PICKS:

1) Mitch Frail, bean pole ruck, good in ruck, better around the ground.
2) James Klause, big bodied backmen from WA, good 1 on 1.
3) Liam Shiels, bottom aged star, who gets alot of ball and uses it well.

Just some thoughts. i only have a list of about 80 of the players. so I have obviously missed some players, these are just my opinions, thoughts everyone.

Nice work mate.

Alwrite looks every bit a footballer to me and i would think he could play next year although i don't think he is what we need but real footballers as opposed to athletes or potential usually turn out pretty good.

There are heaps and heaps of possibilities and draft camp/interviews will also play a part.

Klause is another interesting one but do you think he would last that long?

I think we may choose to take a ruckman reasonably early if they believe they are quality, even second pick.

Trade period will also decide what picks we will have.

Nice work mate.

Alwrite looks every bit a footballer to me and i would think he could play next year although i don't think he is what we need but real footballers as opposed to athletes or potential usually turn out pretty good.

There are heaps and heaps of possibilities and draft camp/interviews will also play a part.

Klause is another interesting one but do you think he would last that long?

I think we may choose to take a ruckman reasonably early if they believe they are quality, even second pick.

Trade period will also decide what picks we will have.

if you have seen much of the teams *not just the one day of games on t.v everyone else refers too) who else do you think, could help us out, in our ruck stocks, Andrew Browne (VC) and Jarred Redden (SA) seem as two very likely types, they work hard for them selves. particularly Redden, works his bum off both ways, and doesnt mind putting his bum in front of the big power forwards, albeit kids, when it is his time. I am not sure on where Klause will go, is stronger than he looks (as reported) but does lack that speed off the mark, and is led to the ball a little bit too often, no one can be perect though, we can handle that.

Unfortunately this year i have only seen the Champs games on TV, so am in the dark in reality.

Ant will give you better feedback on the ruckman, i was merely talking from a list management prospective, we need another ruckman.

Becasue the scheme only cover kids from non AFL areas. The riverena is not included in the area you can sign kids from ;) Kids from that area can play for the Bushrangers if they are good enough to make it.
It is not NSW based it is specific area based. Pretty sure Canberra is not included either. Most of the kids signed have been from an area within 200km of Sydney.

Thanks. Kids from the Riverina play for NSW ACT Rams, not the Bushies. The Riverina is Wagga Wagga and surrounding areas (Griffith, Leeton, Temora, Narrendera, Lockhart etc). ;)

However if your stuck in the middle like Holbrook and Culcairn, I guess it's your choice who you want to play for. Travelling for training and playing games in Shep, Wangaratta and Lavington, must be more appealing then Wagga, Canberra and Sydney. Parents are the unsung
heroes. :thumbsu:

Unfortunately this year i have only seen the Champs games on TV, so am in the dark in reality.

Ant will give you better feedback on the ruckman, i was merely talking from a list management prospective, we need another ruckman.

I apologise for being grouchy, just annoys me, people saying player X is no good cause they had one bad game, yes nearly the whole football faternity was watching (thank you fox 8:thumbsu:) but each team played, 3-4 games in the champs, so they are allowed to have 1 bad game. look at Rich, he had a ripper last game, and saved himself, and duly got named in the AA side, if they only saw that game, they would assume he has done that all champs, that was almost his best game, but you can only judge what you see. on face value I spose.

But i apologise for being grouchy Merv,

Cant be annoyed at the moderator and well respected BF legend now can I

Based on what i've seen (limited 1-2 games of each player) there are 14 players that impress me. In order I have them ranked:

1. Nick Natanui
2. Mitch Robinson
3. Hamish Hartlett
4. Shaun McKernan
5. Daniel Rich
6. Jack Watts
7. Tyrone Vickery
8. Michael Hurley
9. David Zaharakis
10. Jackson Trengove
11. John Butcher
12. Clancee Pearce
13. Aaron Cornelius
14. Jack Ziebell

Looking at likely draft order and who is touted to go early the Bombers are likely to have their pick out of Robinson, Mckernan, Vickery, Hurley, Trengove.

I'd be happy with any one of these.

John Butcher and Kane Lucas, who have both been mentioned here, are both are too young this year, watch them join Tom Scully as serious top 3 contenders next year.

Also HFF_07, Liam Shiels isn't eligible to be rookie listed. Regardless, he'd be unlucky not to be picked up in the main thing.

As for ruckmen, I think Zach Clarke's one to be looked at pretty closely for a later round pick. He's 203cm, has a nice leap and can run quite literally all day. Former basketballer I believe. Probably this year's version of Dean Putt last year, the guy with some great attributes but yet to put it all together.

James Klause's name's been thrown up a bit around this parts as well. Personally, I think his lack of foot skills will work against him as it did Dave Gourdis last year.

Interesting to see how little Nick Heyne's name has come up. That kid's really got something. He's one of my smokeys for the top 5 and if he slips out of the top 10, the side that gets him will have done very well. He's got star written in capital letters right across his chest.