Merged Draft Threads - Part 3

Would people here be happy with both Hurley (pick 5) and Trengrove (Pic 23) at Essendon, would release Paddy (Ruck??) and Pears (3rd defender),

thoughts.....????

I would be happier with 2 of Gaertner, Lisle, Milne or Sengstock later in the draft..

Do like the idea of releasing Paddy into the ruck though :thumbsu:

Are we going through this charade about Ryder again.

Ryder is an average touch ruckman and doesn't win enough possessions around the ground.

I am certain the coaching panel realise that Ryder's best position is in the backline.

Are we going through this charade about Ryder again.

Ryder is an average touch ruckman and doesn't win enough possessions around the ground.

I am certain the coaching panel realise that Ryder's best position is in the backline.

I understand your concerns about Ryder's ability as a ruckman but name me one twenty year old ruckman who wins an adequate amount of possessions around the ground.

Luenberger is one of the top ruck prospects and his around the ground work needs a lot of working on.

Learning where to run and when to run as a ruckman can take years - David Hille.

FWIW, I do agree that Ryder's current best position is in the backline but it would be stupid to not give him more exposure in different positions

I see Paddy eventually becoming a Goodes-type player, able to play anywhere, but with key back as an extra trump card over Goodes. Certainly no harm done in giving him exposure in every position, but I wouldn't like to rely on him in the ruck.

Yarran Targeted by Dons

Bombers take aim at lively Yarran

26th September 2008, 7:00 WST

Chris Yarran could still be selected as high as No. 5 at the AFL draft despite a quiet September campaign for Swan Districts that ended with the clever forward being beaten soundly in the grand final.
Essendon assistant coach Ashley Prescott revealed the Bombers were keen to recruit the exciting 17-yearold and predicted he would be taken early in the first round of the draft.
Yarran had 10 disposals in the grand final but had no impact after being blanketed by Subiaco defender Greg Broughton.
His sole goal came during time-on in the last quarter.

Prescott compared Yarran’s physique and skills to Port Adelaide’s talented Shaun Burgoyne.

“We would love to get him. Chris is a super talent but I don’t think he will last until the second round,” Prescott said.

“It depends on what sort of player each club wants but he could become a valuable acquisition.”

Essendon will have pick No. 5 after coming 12th this season and will retain it unless they lose the selection as part of a trade deal.

Victorian teenager Jack Watts appears set to be drafted by Melbourne with the first pick while WA duo Nick Naitanui and Daniel Rich, who faced off in the WAFL grand final, are likely to go to local clubs West Coast and Fremantle, who have the next two selections.

Prescott coached Yarran at Clontarf Aboriginal College and said he and Paddy Ryder, who was drafted from East Fremantle to Essendon in 2005 and has played 43 of their past 44 matches, were the best two players to come through the college’s football academy.

Yarran burst into senior football this season with best-on-ground performances in his first two matches before he took part in the national 18s championships.

He was affected by hamstring injuries in the second half of the season but still managed a creditable 38 goals in his 14 games. Sandover medallist Hayden Ballantyne, rising star Ian Richardson and AFL veteran Troy Longmuir were the only small forwards to kick more goals this season.

Subiaco started regular full-back Darren Rumble on Yarran in the grand final before switching Broughton to him midway through the second quarter.

Yarran only had another four touches from that point and missed a critical shot at goal late in the second term that might have slowed Subiaco’s charge which resulted in eight unanswered goals to set up their premiership victory.

http://www.thewest.com.au/default.aspx?MenuID=12&ContentID=99813

Re: Yarran Targeted by Dons

Bombers take aim at lively Yarran

Prescott coached Yarran at Clontarf Aboriginal College and said he and Paddy Ryder, who was drafted from East Fremantle to Essendon in 2005 and has played 43 of their past 44 matches, were the best two players to come through the college’s football academy.

That's the most important part of the article I reckon. If he thinks he has similar talent to Paddy Ryder and he is a rare type of player, I'd have no issues with nabbing him at pick 5. He looks so smooth with the ball in his hands, shows good goal sense and applies good defensive pressure. The only concern with Yarren from my point of view is his fitness. I wouldn't think he'd be able to play over a half of footy in the midfield and if the supply didn't come to the forwards enough throughout the match, he wouldn't have any effect on the game at all. Interesting to see the lead up thus far, at the moment it looks like it is between Ziebell, Hartlett & Yarren you would have to think we'd take with our first pick, five.

Watched him at tje Champs and he defnitely has a lazy part to his game but when he wants to turn it on he is electric. He could easily become a fan favourite with his dazzling skills or he could be an absolute flop that will never be able to stand up to the rigours of AFL footy. Personally I hope we don't take him at 5 but Prescott rates him very highly. No doubt the talent is there but the application may not be.....

Ill trust the clubs judgement but I wont be going into draft day hoping we get Yarran at 5. If we can trade into the latter part of the 1st round though I would be very happy to pick him up with the security of an earlier 1st rounder.

Maybe they're looking to replace like with like by trading lovett for the pick that will allow us to get Yarran.

I don't think we'll able to get an early to mid first rounder for Lovett, and I think that's where Yarran will fall. Could be a possibility though.

People are under-rating Yarran alot. I wouldn't be bitter at all if we took him at pick 5. ATM I am sold on Hartlett and Ziebell for pick 5 as I believe they would fill one of our greatest needs.

Watched him at tje Champs and he defnitely has a lazy part to his game but when he wants to turn it on he is electric. He could easily become a fan favourite with his dazzling skills or he could be an absolute flop that will never be able to stand up to the rigours of AFL footy. Personally I hope we don't take him at 5 but Prescott rates him very highly. No doubt the talent is there but the application may not be.....

Ill trust the clubs judgement but I wont be going into draft day hoping we get Yarran at 5. If we can trade into the latter part of the 1st round though I would be very happy to pick him up with the security of an earlier 1st rounder.

I totally agree. Does anyone think that maybe the trade talk about Lovett will snap Lovett out of his bad behaviour. I hope it is because he is an extremely valuable player, and will be sorely missed.

Ant, surely Sidebottom has to be in contention to come to Essendon with pick 5. I have seen him a play a few times, and each time has been class. He already has 2 goals and 5 disposals halfway through the first quarter in Murray vs Eastern. Another BOG today could make him feature prominently within the top 10.

Yeh Steele Sidebottom would be a great pick up, along with any of Tyrone Vickery, David Zaharakis, Damien Hynes or even Rhys O'Keefe...

Sidebottom having a beauty. Certainly another one to consider for pick 5. His skills on both sides of his body are outstanding.

Ziebell has been quiet so far, don't know if he's carrying an injury or not. When he has had the ball though, he's used it well.

Re: U/18 gf

nah.
listening to it on radio instead. SEN1116 are doing it live. :thumbsu:

very disappointed they aren't doing the game at the MCG tomorrow morning, because i am going to the GF and always enjoy watching the U18s GF before the big game.

Rockliff. i remember him from last year. very surprised he wasn't picked up. he's a very influential forward. takes marks, kicks goals, gets heaps of stats. i've heard people describe him as a Steve Johnson type, but i think he's more Brad Johnson than StevieJ. if there's 1 player i want from today's game, it's him.

Zabiell. don't know much about Zabiell, and still don't. i wouldn't even know what he looked like. haven't heard his name called a lot, but the commentators all rate his draft prospects.

at the moment it looks like it is between Ziebell, Hartlett & Yarren you would have to think we'd take with our first pick, five.

I think Hurley is more likely, and Yarran would be no chance.

If they wanted him at 5, they wouldn't be talking in the media about it.

Merged Draft Threads - Part 3