Merged Draft Threads - Part 3

Hurley Hartlett or sidebottom

Thats the question really. i like many am still confused. Hurely looks like a super tallent 2nd best kp in the draft that can play both ends. Question marks only on his speed. I also think there would be a question mark on him being able to shut down tall athletic types like buddy (on the other hand who can?) but i spose thats why we have ryder (not done well in past). Seems like a perfect fit. However with the development of Pears in the near future it might not be such a need at all.
Harlett has so much potential line breaker, skills inside outside. i think he goes for carlton though (might be mistaken) which is a bit of a down turn. but could be a freak in future years.
Sidebottom shows so much composure and awsome skills on both sides. Can play forward back and mid. seems like a good fit for any team. Only saw the highlights of the grandfinal however loved a few passages of play he did.
would be great if someone knowledgable aka Ant55 could show why they prefer sidebottom over Hartlett or visa versa. Some rate Hartlett higher then rich yet others say slide. i dont think theres much chance of a slide to the extent some suggest however its interesting that theres no talk of freo port wanting sidebottom in a phantom (i know all opinion but still)

If we end up picking someone like yarran which is entirely possible i wouldnt be too upset because i have faith in the bombers recruitment in knowing that they will be able to turn him into a good midfeilder. This is due to the fact that at the moment i dont see the need in another small forward we have jetta and davey who play that role well in the future.

All i want is best available player still undecided which it is. yet to vote on this one.

Good post rus. but you're forgetting one player, and that is Ziebell. He has the potential to:
a) become the best, or second best midfielder of this draft.
b) win a brownlow
c) become one of our most important midfielders
d) lead us to a premiership.

Dont no anything about Nev. Jetta but is he worth a crack?

Small utility at this stage but probably best suited to inside winger/mid. Won the Mel Whinnen medal for BOG in WAFL Colts granny. Moves very similar to Leroy though not as much freak/X-factor as him, but MUCH bigger work ethic, outstanding defensive pressure. Very good in-close work. Will probably end up an inside mid rather than a forward. Pick 23 wouldn't be too far off his value.

Good post rus. but you're forgetting one player, and that is Ziebell. He has the potential to:
b) win a brownlow

Quick question with Ziebell, how quick is he? I do feel we need a midfielder that breaks lines as we don't have many and the way Lovett is going we'll have one less at the end of 2009.

b) win a brownlow

I agree that we can't forget about Ziebell... but your predictions (or hopes) are a little on the extreme side... Brownlow and Premiership:confused: He may well do, but you have precious little to base these predictions on.. I just hope we can get min 100 games out of our first rounder.. let's start there I think

Quick question with Ziebell, how quick is he? I do feel we need a midfielder that breaks lines as we don't have many and the way Lovett is going we'll have one less at the end of 2009.
from what I've seen he's not as quick as A. Lovett, but moves the ball very quickly, with good skills on both sides of the body. he can play inside or outside, and all over the ground. not sure about 20m sprint, but I think faster than Sidebottom? (RIG, Ant)

There is a chance, mate, better than most would think. I think he has the ability to fall to pick 7 at best, as other clubs may have different priorities and what not, but can't see Brisbane passing on him as they've stated they're on the hunt for midfield talent and I reckon Voss would see a lot of himself in Rich.

It will be interesting if one of Natanui or Rich slide down the order.

I would be surprised if Fremantle doesnt take Rich or Hartlett ( if available ) and Power is often a wildcard.

I would suggest that if it is Rich, EFC will have no hesitation in selecting him.

Nataunui is a different scenario.

I am certain that EFC will pass and I imagine that Carlton will pass.

Brisbane seems locked into a midfielder and he could end up at Richmond or Sydney ( probably Adelaide will pass ).

I would be surprised if Fremantle doesnt take Rich or Hartlett ( if available ) and Power is often a wildcard.

I would suggest that if it is Rich, EFC will have no hesitation in selecting him.

Brisbane seems locked into a midfielder and he could end up at Richmond or Sydney ( probably Adelaide will pass ).

I couldn't see Wayne Hughes passing on him at all, he would be wearing navy blue if he was a few weeks younger. It was well documented Hughes saw Naitanui as the best prospect last year.

Snowballs chance in hell Essendon would pass on Natanui- our second ruckman is Jason Laycock

I'm really starting to feel Rich could slip to pick 5 - question is would Dodoro take him?

If it happens (which it won't), Rich will come to Essendon. It won't happen as Freo will take him at 3. Naituai will go to WC at 2, as they did take a stack of midfielders last year (Masten, Ebert, Scott Selwood, etc). The only way Rich will fall is if Freo rate Hartlett higher. Rich has better skills though.

No we won't.
I actually don't see Naitanui sliding anyway. Although i don't rate his kicking or his around the ground work the kid is now 200cm. With that size and leap you are going to get a ruckman who wins a heaps of taps.

Don't forget that Freo may also hold yarran in high regard being a WA boy aswell, not as crazy as it sounds that Rich could slide to 5..

Forget Naituai, he will not last past 2 to be honest. People need to realise that he is not just a ruckman. It really depends what Freo want, do they go for needs- a quicker, silker player like Hartlett or Yarran to compliment Rhys Palmer, or do they go for Rich. I can see Freo's pick throwing the whole draft up to be honest, Port will take Vickery or Hurley so it is a moot point there. If we get Rich at 5, I'll be one happy man!

I was suggesting that Carlton would pass on Natanui ( if he slides ) because they traded for Warnock.

Anyway history shows that one of the Top 5 players usually slides down the order.

I was suggesting that Carlton would pass on Natanui ( if he slides ) because they traded for Warnock.

Anyway history shows that one of the Top 5 players usually slides down the order.

Naituai is NOT just a ruckman, he will not slide past WCE's pick and if he does will be gobbled up by Freo at pick 3.

The amount of people believing that Rich might slip to 5 seems to be growing. I find it very hard to believe that he could get past West Coast and Freo though. Surely the fact that he is similar to Palmer would make Freo want him more... I honestly believe that Freo will go for the best available. Has anyone got a take on it that might convince me?

I would be very surprised to see Rich fall to our pick. He's regarded by many to be the best natural footballer in the draft but that remains to be seen of course. Same with Naitanui, sure he doesn't have smarts at the highest level but his leap & fierce attack on the ball for a ruckman are two outstanding qualities to start off with and I'm sure with a bit of tutoring he can become a real star of our game. Watts is just about locked in for Melbourne I would've thought, Ox has been talking him up for most of the year and has been having regular chats with the young kid on SEN, not that it means he's a certainty as I've seen funnier things happen.

On a side note, one thing that also draws me into thinking we will pick up Ziebell with our first pick is that he won the best player for the series award against Ireland at under-age level, and Myers, our first draft pick last year, also won the best player of the series award vs. Ireland so just trying to match two-and-two together there, obviously clutching at straws. :p

Merged Draft Threads - Part 3