Merged draft threads

Re: realistic appraisal of draft picks over last 3 seasons

Priddis is a super player. Look how important he is to West Coast.
With him out they were getting belted week after week. He comes back Saturday night and West Coast nearly get up and beat North Melbourne.

I rate Priddis, just not as highly...IMO he's a poor man's Sam Mitchell

Myers and Priddis are two different types if you ask me - Priddis is a ball extracting machine, gets plenty of possies, Myers seems like the type who won't get your 30+ every week but the ones he does get will hurt you badly.

Re: Essendon will make the top 10

Does Hurley have the attributes to become a A grade backman, or is he better suited up forward? Also, how is his pace off the mark and closing speed?

Hurley tests very well in all areas and will be a very good and solid AFL player. Maybe a good analogy is Nathan Brown and Mitch Brown- the Ballarat twins.

Mate, you are far too bullish with how our draftees will likely turn out.

Going on what Leroy has shown so far, if he turns out to have a career like Headland I would be absoloutly thrilled. Truthfully, I think a Corrie like career is what lies ahead and maybe Leon Davis as Jono B points out in a best possible scenario.

If Myers ends up being like Prriddis then thats a win as far as I'm concerned. Same with the Reimers v Sinclair comparison.

I can't see Jay Neagle being a future full forward. Has got Russell Robertson or Paul Medhurst written all over him in my opinion. Thats the best case scenario too.

Poor post. Read his posts again, you've completely misunderstood him. I agree with him, a lot of the players you mentioned don't play at all like the draftees.

Re: Getting Kicked While You Are Down

People bagged the Hawks..look what they got (Buddy, Roughead)..people bagged Carlton, and they got some gun kids as well. We need some of these. We get Rich this year and get the no1-3 pick next year I'll be satisfied provided the kids are playing!
The way we are going, we might get Naitinui.

Just a bit off topic, if we do get the chance to get Naitinui, do you reckon we should get him, or still go for Rich. IMO I would get Naitinui . He is the best player in the draft by a long shot (from all reports). But at the same time, we really need a gun mid. I think it would depend of how Hislop and Myers go development wise until then. They should play every game for the rest of the year IMO.

We also need a gun ruckman.

I rate Priddis, just not as highly...IMO he's a poor man's Sam Mitchell

Myers and Priddis are two different types if you ask me - Priddis is a ball extracting machine, gets plenty of possies, Myers seems like the type who won't get your 30+ every week but the ones he does get will hurt you badly.

Priddis has the runs on the board.
Myers doesn't.

Poor post. Read his posts again, you've completely misunderstood him. I agree with him, a lot of the players you mentioned don't play at all like the draftees.

They weren't meant to be an exact like for like as far as playing styles were concerned.

I can see them going Naituai, I would go Rich though as he is the "safer" option. Naituai is based on a LOT of potential.

Well i think whoever we draft we need to simply draft players who know how to play footy. Kids who have a natural instinct for the game and it is their second nature to do the one percenters.
I don't wan't to see any more athlete's or players that are to be moulded into something else.

Priddis has the runs on the board.
Myers doesn't.

Priddis is good , better than a lot of people seem to think. His output has not reall dropped off that much without Judd and Cousins in the side.
However i don't think you quite pegged the Myers comparison. I know you where not looking at a direct match but i think a better comparison may have been Goddard as likely and Pendlebury as best case.
Myers can play midfield and can win clearance's but he is not all that close in game style to Priddis.

Mate, you are far too bullish with how our draftees will likely turn out.

Going on what Leroy has shown so far, if he turns out to have a career like Headland I would be absoloutly thrilled. Truthfully, I think a Corrie like career is what lies ahead and maybe Leon Davis as Jono B points out in a best possible scenario.

If Myers ends up being like Prriddis then thats a win as far as I'm concerned. Same with the Reimers v Sinclair comparison.

I can't see Jay Neagle being a future full forward. Has got Russell Robertson or Paul Medhurst written all over him in my opinion. Thats the best case scenario too.

How is it that Neagle who has a strong lead and vey good one on one mark ability not siuted to be a full forward ?
No he is not a Locket or J Brown style forward but every game he has played at senior level he has shown he can lead up and take a strong grab. Is that not what a leading FF does ?

And for all the simpletons out there , no i am not saying Neagle is a shoe in to make it as our next FF ;) Simply saying he has the ptential to make it as reasonable FF.

Priddis is good , better than a lot of people seem to think. His output has not reall dropped off that much without Judd and Cousins in the side.
However i don't think you quite pegged the Myers comparison. I know you where not looking at a direct match but i think a better comparison may have been Goddard as likely and Pendlebury as best case.
Myers can play midfield and can win clearance's but he is not all that close in game style to Priddis.

Definately reminds me of a Pendlebury type and if he turns out anything like Pendles has in his short career we can be very happy to have picked him up.

Thats a fair comment. Myers does have a few Pendlebury attributes.

Medhurst and Robertson are one-grabbers too and are both smallish marking forwards - hence the Neagle comparison.

Emma Quayle wrote a piece in The Age today about the upcoming Under 18 Carnival and wrote about some of the best prospects.

YOUNG PLAYERS TO WATCH NICK NAITANUI (WA): Be warned, Naitanui is still honing his kicking and game sense, and at this stage isn't the complete prospect either Matthew Kreuzer or Matthew Leuenberger was in the past two years. However, he is excitement plus, an athletic, high-leaping ruckman it's hard to keep your eyes off.
DAN RICH (WA): Rich looks like an angel with his blond curly hair, but don't be fooled: he's a hard-running, hard-at-it midfielder who can use the ball in and outside packs. If Essendon should end up with the No. 1 pick, he'd be a very big chance to be chosen there.
CHRIS YARRAN (WA): A clever, classy goalkicker who can mark, crumb and do some freaky things. Has been kicking a lot of goals playing senior level WAFL this year.
MICHAEL WALTERS (WA): As above, a smart goalkicker who hits the ball hard and starred at last year's under-16 championships.
HAMISH HARTLETT (SA): A likely top-10 pick, Hartlett's had some injuries this year. He's a clean and classy midfield prospect who uses the ball very neatly.
MICHAEL HURLEY (Vic Metro): A big, strong and bustly key position prospect, who has looked good at either end.
JACK WATTS: A tall and pacy key forward or back, who is also a national level basketballer. Has had some injuries but will play some of the carnival.
TYRONE VICKERY: One of this year's leading ruck prospects, a 200-centimetre graduate of the 2007 AIS-AFL Academy who has recovered from a knee reconstruction done early last season.
JACKSON TRENGOVE: A big leaper who did good jobs on first-round draftees Matthew Kreuzer and Ben McEvoy late last year. Can play as a mobile ruckman or in a key forward or back line role.
AARON CORNELIUS: A natural forward with clean hands who makes nice leads. Good when the ball hits the ground.
JACK ZIEBELL: Has had some injuries but at 188 centimetres is a talented all-rounder who has looked good in all parts of the ground.

http://www.realfooty.com.au/news/ne...1211183189851.html?page=fullpage#contentSwap2

Re: Our Saviour?

Now the finals are gone... we should strongly consider playing for high draft picks.

We don't have to "play" for draft pick. We are poor, end of story. We'll come 2nd last or 3rd last regardless.

Bloody oath im with ya, forgot to mention carltank. We dont have a choice right now.

Agreed. And to be honest everyone is deluded to think we do not need a REALLY CLASSY MIDFIELDER. That midfielder is Daniel Rich. We can build our side around him, Gumby, Pears, Ryder and Hille. But we need a classy mid, we frankly have no-one with superb disposal in our midfield. That is a frank reality of our midfield. Hope we get De Boer with our PP.

Yes agree we need midfielders. No doubt, some with brains would be good as well. Seriously, some in and under tough nuts. I think we have the pace covered.

Hello Daniel Rich, welcome to Essendon. If Rich is taken (and I can't see how as the only one likely to finish below us is Melbourne and they will take Naituai), then Tom Swift is a inside mid with great skills. Both would do fine, Rich is better. Rich is the Rolls Royce, Swift is the BMW. Both fine, prefer the Rolls Royce though!:thumbsu: