Merged draft threads

Suban played on Yarran in the backline against WA and did a very good job from all reports. This is what Jason McCartney had to say on afl.com.au - "Nick Suban – Got my attention for different reasons against WA. He's an on-baller, but full credit to the Country coaching staff, they changed things up against the home side. He played as a permanent small defender on Chris Yarran, an exciting talent who looked extremely dangerous, and wore him like a glove. He provided good rebound when needed and uses the ball exquisitely. Nick's another AIS academy boy and to see him play a different role on a dangerous forward was a real positive. It was a great game for his development."

Suban has just about become my # 1 preference for us in the draft. From all reports he sounds like a potential gun midfielder with a solid defensive side. Could be perfect to play the small defensive role in his early years developing at EFC.

I'm on the Hurley bandwagon.

I Like Hurls as well, would probably really straighten up our future teams structure and allow us to develop Ryder in whatever position we think its best off. In saying that though I'm not to fussed I think its safe to say we will have the option of a few very talented kids at our selection.

Nick Suban or Hamish Hartlett I wouldn't mind either. Watching Nick a few times last year he was always composed and a good decision maker to go with a great boot and with the way the game is now you cannot undervalue elite foot skills.
Hartlett I have regular contact with and his an absolute ripper bloke who I would love to get to our football club. Has been copping some pretty heavy tags and is pretty pissed off with his carnival but has always been a great junior who I dont think couldn't go to far wrong as a draft pick. He played some SANFL in 2007 after he he had next to no preseason due breaking his ankle, and this year started his season in the 19s but got in the 'Best' basically every week, and was promoted to the 1s where he kicked 3-4 goals. I reckon he would be a great servant for our club and add another big ball winner to our developing midfield.

Then there is Yarren who Essendon is 'apparently keen on' I cant comment to much because I have only seen him about 3 times but in those matches he looked to have great foot skills and footy smarts. Looked to be fairly developed and ready to play early on and perhaps would be brought in via the forward line where he has had a lot of success playing in the WAFL this year. I will try keep a close eye on him next time I get a look.

Hartlett I have regular contact with and his an absolute ripper bloke who I would love to get to our football club. Has been copping some pretty heavy tags and is pretty pissed off with his carnival but has always been a great junior who I dont think couldn't go to far wrong as a draft pick. He played some SANFL in 2007 after he he had next to no preseason due breaking his ankle, and this year started his season in the 19s but got in the 'Best' basically every week, and was promoted to the 1s where he kicked 3-4 goals. I reckon he would be a great servant for our club and add another big ball winner to our developing midfield.

Do you think he might slip to our 2nd pick due to lack of quality exposure?

Na I highly doubt it mate. Have heard a few people in the know think he will be taken pretty early on but I guess you never know with the draft. I dont believe he has a lack of exposure with the people who are actually involved in drafting, however he isn't the most talked up bloke on bigfooty but then again you can take whats written on bigfooty with a grain of salt most the time.
I would be rapt if we landed him 2nd round though:D

I'll be going to the Telstra Dome on Wednesday and will post a report on some of the big name players and some roughies that have fallen under the guard that could be worth a late selection. :thumbsu:

May see you there at some stage ;)

Alrighty folks, I found some video footage of some of the U/18 prospects on the AFL website. Here's the link, click on the play button beside the name and off you go. http://www.afl.com.au/Video/tabid/76/default.aspx

How classy does "Zaharakis" looks? Those running bounces and 45m drilling passes to the leading forward. Looks a good player.

And Sidebottom's over head marking is impressive.

Quite possibly. :cool:

I used to love it being at Optus Oval, 15 minute drive max, now it's at Casey Fields it's exactly what you said, a pain in the arse. :mad:

I have one word for you. Eastlink :D
2 minute drive to the freeway and 25 minutes later i am at Casey :)
Princes Park would have been better though.:thumbsu:

Yo Ant,

Since bomberno1 didn't answer me this question, wasn't Paddy Ryder in the year he was drafted predicted to go top 2?

If so, do you think Nick Natanui will fall like Ryder did in this draft?

:confused:

Patrick Ryder was considered a chance to go at 1 or 2 very early on, but come draft day I think most people expected Carlton to grab him at 4.

Examples of guys sliding in previous years is no guide to whether or not guys will slide in future years. There are different players and different teams with different needs.

Naitanui would have to cause clubs some serious worries between now and the draft for him to slip to where we'll be picking.

Yo Ant,

Since bomberno1 didn't answer me this question, wasn't Paddy Ryder in the year he was drafted predicted to go top 2?

If so, do you think Nick Natanui will fall like Ryder did in this draft?

:confused:

Most of the talk was about him being top 5 from memory.

I have liked Suban as a player who we could consider first round for a while but after today i am changing my mind. Not that Suban played badly , he spent most of the day at Half Back and did a few good things.
The thing that has truned me away from Suban and Ziebell a bit is their pace . Both players are only average in the pace department and i suspect they will be too simialr pace wise to Lonergan,Hislop,Hocking,Watson etc. No real change up.
After having a close look at SA today the bloke we should draft if we can is Hamish Hartlett. It was the first time i have been able to have a really good look at him this year and he is good. Good pace. Nice skills and a good footy brain. A few times today he found the footy in close, gave it off and then ran forward to recive the ball again. His work rate is very good. He is the type of player we are missing from our midfield.

I have liked Suban as a player who we could consider first round for a while but after today i am changing my mind. Not that Suban played badly , he spent most of the day at Half Back and did a few good things.
The thing that has truned me away from Suban and Ziebell a bit is their pace . Both players are only average in the pace department and i suspect they will be too simialr pace wise to Lonergan,Hislop,Hocking,Watson etc. No real change up.
After having a close look at SA today the bloke we should draft if we can is Hamish Hartlett. It was the first time i have been able to have a really good look at him this year and he is good. Good pace. Nice skills and a good footy brain. A few times today he found the footy in close, gave it off and then ran forward to recive the ball again. His work rate is very good. He is the type of player we are missing from our midfield.

We can be first on the Hartlett train mate, would absolutely love him in the red and black:thumbsu:

I don't know much about Hartlett, but from what I've read he's a superb player that's a bit under the radar.

I had not seen a lot of him myself. Saw him once last year in a champ game live and have seen a couple of his games on DVD. He had been ok from what i did see but having a close look today his reading of the play and workrate where extremely good.

Hurley for mine, He is a natural backmen and is an Adam Hunter type player (apparently) a natural footballer with even better smarts. Imagine Hurley FB, Ryder CHB. Bring on the next 10 years.

If Hurley goes, Then i think DeBoer. He has an X-Factor is able to break tackels with ease and runs and kicks long goals, a similar player to Ryan Griffen.

Their are some players who may fall into the 2nd 3rd round categories, just want some thoughts on them.

Luke Stanton (any relation to Brent, not sure) he seems a really likely type, good clean hands, long kick, and has pace to burn, a place for him at Essendon. Also Jay Shannon from SA, he is a hard at it midfielder and took the honours against some high profile opponents today. Was almost BOG today, in the 2nd game. Thoughts.
Tyson Vickery, A mountain of a man, with an even better leap, played a really good solid game today, worked hard just as much around the ground, even found time to get forward and snag a couple.

And last but not least. NEville Jetta, he was really good as a small forward/half forward, worked hard both offensively and defensively, kicked a couple of goals and also set up a couple.

Thoughts on these would be great.

on a last note, I dont think Yarren is the player we need.

Providing the club at pick 4 needs a classy young midfielder, I suspect Hartlett will be picked up very close to that mark. He has played some senior footy in the SANFL which is playing against men, so he is coming into the game 'Bryce Gibbs like'. I have talked about this on the draft & trading board, I'd rather we get one of Watts, Naitanui, Hurley, McKernan or Johnstone to really strengthen our young tall department. That's providing we get rid of Lee and/or Johns which should be the case. Lonergan, Houli, Monfries, Reimers, Myers, Stanton, Watson & Winderlich are our bright prospects of young midfielders, and that looks like it has quite a bit of depth in there, and Lovett, Jetta & Davey can rotate through there as well, and they certainly aren't old.