Merged draft threads

Vic Country vs. Tasmania
Nick Suban (VC) - The thing that stood out for me was that he continually demanded the ball. If he was around the ball, a team-mate would like to dish it off to him. I saw a few contested situations where he succeeded in, though wasn't in enough from what I saw. Looked like he was the leader of the squad with the way he talks a lot on the ground and moving people to where they're meant to be.
Steele Sidebottom (VC) - Read the ball extremely well and could kick nice on both feet. Was one of the Vic Country leaders. Turned a few over, but kept persisting which was pleasing. Doesn't look to be afraid when jumping into packs, and looks to have some nice attributes. Didn't have the outstanding pace compared to a say, Sheahan, but made up for it with his footy brain.
John Butcher (VC) - BOG for mine in this match. Had nice hands, lead well, kicked straight and provided a good marking option up forwad. Changed the game early on, really put the heat on the Tassie boys. Promising signs, and he looks like he could add heaps of kg's onto that skinny frame, so there is definitely a lot of upside. Kicked 5 goals.
Andrew Browne (VC) - 202cm ruckman, took some nice contested grabs and looked like he read the play very well. Popped in and out of the match, which is expected from a young ruckman, but the things he did were quite impressive.
Bart McCulloch (TAS) - 198cm utilily/ruckman, had an outstanding turn of pace for a big man and competed very well in the air. I like the looks of this kid, has to put on a fair few kilos obviously, but there is certainly a lot of upside there no doubt.
Mitch Robinson (TAS) - Pure class. Really shone from the front and used the ball very well. Is a nice height at 188cm, nice mark, lovely skills, looked composed when he had the pill and the team mates looked to pass to him when in trouble. Top game, very close to BOG, and is guarenteed a first round selection now no doubt.
Jesse Crichton (TAS) - Another Tassie midfielder who worked very hard. Kept presenting and the start of the match is where he dominated, albeit not having much to kick to up forward because of the big amounts of packs. Had a nice turn of pace, uses the ball pretty well and looks very very lean, so will definitely have to bluk up a fair bit when he gets to an AFL club,
Aaron Cornelius (TAS) - Same old, same old for Aaron. Kept presenting, great mark overhead, kicked staright and looked to keep the ball inside 50 on numerous occassions. His marking ability is probably his greateast asset. First round draft pick most likely.

Sam Blease pick him up...

amazing speed...anyone who watched the under 18's yesterday would no this

great composure as well..

be a great aspect to our young side..

also Scully in 09 (because he is in ineligable this year)

looks like a leader. will captain Vic Metro next year (barring injury)

Sam has sensational closing speed. Has the ability to run blokes down with ease. Uses the ball very well kicking wise although he is much better on his right side. He can use the left but it has no where near the penetration.
He plays a bit of an outside role. Its not that he is soft as he does go in hard but it suites his style to play the outsdie running winnger who uses his pace and long kicking to advantage.

Sam has sensational closing speed. Has the ability to run blokes down with ease. Uses the ball very well kicking wise although he is much better on his right side. He can use the left but it has no where near the penetration.
He plays a bit of an outside role. Its not that he is soft as he does go in hard but it suites his style to play the outsdie running winnger who uses his pace and long kicking to advantage.
would u want him ant?

surely if we got him to Essendon we could work on his left foot

would u want him ant?

surely if we got him to Essendon we could work on his left foot

I would certainly take him . Not first round but well worth looking at second or third round. His left foot is not a big problem. He can get out of trouble on the left side but he can not kick with the same stregnth or dpeth that he does on the right side.

I thought Hurley's agility and speed was acctually preety good. Apart from one or two occassions where he got wrong footed, (more notably in that contest with Nick Nat) he always looked on top of his opponent.

And Daytripper, how'd you find out about Luke Stanton being cousin of Dal Santo?

Vic Metro vs. Western Australia
Mitchell Banner (VM) - Looked like a very hard working midfielder, coudl roost the ball a fair way and looked composed when he had the ball. Is under 180cm, which is a minus, and he doesn't looked to have outstanding pace which is another minus. Worth a rookie pick.
Jack Watts (VM) - Class. Presented well, kicking action was nice to watch and kciked 2 goals. Wasn't his best game of the carnival, but when he isn't spot on, he still stands out even when not always right which is a good sign. If Melbourne get Warnock, lock him in for no.1 if he indeed decides to nominate.
Tom Lynch (VM) - Matthew Bate replica. Strong overhead, read head, kicked straight and a smart user of the pill. Nothing else to say, if you wanna kow more how he plays and looks, go to Melbourne fc and look at Matthew Bate's profile and it's all there for you. ;)
Shaun McKernan (VM) - Plays a lot like his older brother Corey. Nice leap, can go forward after rucking providing a strong marking option and read the play very well. Definite first round pick, possible top 10.
Michael Hurley (VM) - Usual game from Michael. Very good in defence, rarely got beaten, used the ball very wll most times, but I remember one turnover that hurt the team but that's expected, will learn from his mistakes and try and iron them out. Reads the play extremely well, but the only question with his game is his speed, he doesn't look overly quick. He is a good reader of the play, and that's showing as he looks to be at every contest, but could that be a big weakness in the backline playing in the AFL..? Time will tell, but a promising young kid nonetheless.
David Zaharakis (VM) - BOG for mine. Demanded the ball, nice skills, kicked a couple of goals and kept presenting. Really set the the tone for Metro, making it hard for WA to get it out of the middle. Late first round, early second round pick up most probable.
Sam Blease (VM) - Looks to have a nice turn of pace, kicked a coupel of ripper goals and looked composed when he had the ball. Might boost his stocks this game to make him a definite second rounder, instead of a probable. Tackled well, nice skills, presented well and that's all you can ask for in one match of footy. Close to BOG.
Tyrone Vickery (VM) - Looked like he had a nice pair of hands, presented well, kicked a couple of goals and looked to have a nice leap. Needs to bulk up a fair bit, but that should come a little bit later in his career. Interestingly I heard earlier on SEN, they said his father is a doctor or something along those lines at the Richmond footy club, so could get drafted to the Tigers. Standing at 200cm, looks a likely type.
Stephen Hill (WA) - One of my favourite players in this years draft pool. Oozes class, uses the ball well, can roost the ball fifty metres and doesn't get stressed when someone is breathing down his throat. Didn't get a heap of the ball, but the effect on the game he can do with a few touches is very promising. First rounder for me, but not to sure what other people think of him.
Kane Lucas (WA) - Won't the new clubs be happy he'll be there to pick up next year..? Is underrage, has nice skills, not afraid to put his body on the line and demands the ball. One of WA's better players, and certainly looks to be a top 10 pick next year for sure. Very good composure for a young kid as wekk, promising indeed.
Daniel Rich (WA) - Ready made player, the Palmer of this year. Gets in and under packs, uses the ball very well and just reads the play so extremely well. Whatever club this kid falls to, they'll be no doubt happy with the bargain, one of/if not the best player in the draft but because of needs, could slip to as low as 3. Class, class & class.
Chris Yarran (WA) - Nice skills, looked composed when he had the ball and drilled a couple of goals. Applied good defensive pressure, had a nice pair of hands and looks a smooth mover. Very good young player, but I type we don't need imo as we have plenty of him. (Jetta, Davey, Lovett, Dempsey)
Nicholas Naitanui (WA) - Nice leap, nice turn of pace and isn't afraid to get in and under packs. Looked absolutely stuffed near the end of the game but understandably as he worked his butt of numerous occasions. Kicked a goal and looked promising. Kicked a few up and under kicks, but that should be an easy fix when he gets to a club, just needs to change his technique slightly. Plenty of upside, and if Melbourne don't get Warnock, lock this kid in for no.1.

That concludes my wrap up, hopefully it gives some insight into some of the young players available this year. :thumbsu:

Thanks Ben, great reviews.

I'm interested in everyones thoughts on the 4 (assuming the ladder were to stay the same) most unlikely to be available to us, taking into account club needs & state loyalties. That way we can perhaps steer the conversation away from them and concentrate on those more likely. I've started below based on what I've read (haven't seen them play) but I think the FRE pick will be a bit of mystery unless Watts goes #1, which would leave Nat & Rich for WCE & FRE:

1. Naitanui (MELB) - Generally regarded as #1; fits MELB's needs well (& would be picked by WCE/FRE if MELB pass)
2. Rich (WCE) - Assume he will go top 2-3; WA local; fits WCE (& Freo) needs
3. ??? (FRE) - Hurley? Watts (despite likely to live in Vic in '09)? Zaharakis? Yarran? Hartlett?
4. Hartlett (PTA) - Likely top 5; unlikely to be overlooked by SA clubs?

I would be looking at the top 3 we most probably won't be getting. Don't discount the fact (this early) that we won't get the 4th pick either. Anyway the 3 you can cross off your wish list are Naitanui, Rich and Watts (in no particular order)....

Hurley and Hartlett seems to be the front runners on this board atm. I would be interested in looking at the VC boys. What are peoples thought on the frontrunner from them?

Does anyone know which round Vickery is likely to go? 2nd or 3rd round? I haven't seen him mentioned in anyones early phantoms, but didn't look that far off the mark.

Also thanks to Great Source for the reports :thumbsu: Good work mate!

IMO could go anywhere between picks 8-25

Agree, he is a very good ruckman with good skills and dangerous as a forward.
He does not have Natinui's pace or athletisism but he is a better kick and a stronger mark.

He certainly showed he was dangerous up forward yesterday, really good set of hands and for a bloke his height doesn't struggle in front of the big sticks. Played the sort of game I would like to see Laycock play in the 1s for us.

I don't know how many of you respect Sheehan's opinion, but here's what he said...

Talent manager predicts bumper 2009 AFL draft

THE raw talent of this year's draft is "in the ballpark" of the 1997 and 2001 drafts, AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan said yesterday. The 1997 draft produced dual Brownlow medallist Adam Goodes, Trent Croad, Luke Power and Shane O'Bree, while awesome foursome Luke Hodge, Luke Ball, Chris Judd and Jimmy Bartel were products of the 2001 super draft.

Sheehan said the talent on offer yesterday at the NAB under-18 championships was exciting, but it was hard to pick the order of who would go in the top 20.

"Right at the minute we're really excited about the first 25 and the depth of the draft overall," Sheehan said.

"It will take a fair bit of sorting, even if you just put all the ruckmen or tall forwards into a group to separate all of (them).
"I'd say you'd have a debate about at least 25 as to whether they'd be in the first 12 for some people or whether they're out to 25 with others. It'll just be personal opinion."

Sheehan said he was particularly impressed with ruckman/forward Tyrone Vickery's game, which included 13 disposals, 12 hitouts, five marks and three goals, in Vic Metro's 29-point championship win against Western Australia.

"You hear a lot about the (Nicholas) Naitanuis and the (Jack) Watts, but he's a 200cm guy that can mark the ball inside 50, can play in the ruck, he's agile around the ground," Sheehan said.

Wingman David Zaharakis (18 possessions, two goals), midfielder/half-forward Luke Shuey (21 possessions) and forward Jack Watts (two goals), who won the Larke Medal for best performance throughout the Division 1 championships, were also impressive.

Potential No. 1 draft pick Naitanui rucked well with 22 hitouts and kicked a goal, while teammates Clancee Pearce and Daniel Rich were outstanding.
Metro midfielder Mitchell Banner said his game-high 28 possessions was his best performance of the carnival.

"I think I ran hard and ran well," the 18-year-old said.
"All I wanted to work on this year was to make (Vic Metro). Funnily enough, I made it, and to win it is just even better."
Underage Gippsland Power forward John Butcher booted five goals in Vic Country's 98-point win against Tasmania.

Teammates Nick Suban (18 disposals), Steele Sidebottom (17 possessions) and Nic Heyne (16 touches and 10 inside-50s) were also impressive.

Tasmanian midfielder Mitch Robinson lived up to his reputation as Hunter Harrison medallist as the best Division 2 player with 24 disposals and eight inside-50s, while forward Aaron Cornelius was solid with four goals and five marks.

Hamish Hartlett , brother of Carlton's Adam, starred with 24 touches, while forward Lewis Johnston kicked four goals in South Australia's 80-point victory against NSW/ACT.

Josh Duncan , Daniel Spiteri and Kade Klemke were good for the Rams, who were without captain and midfielder Ranga Ediriwickrama because of a hamstring injury he sustained in last month's win against Tasmania.

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,23996373-19742,00.html

He certainly showed he was dangerous up forward yesterday, really good set of hands and for a bloke his height doesn't struggle in front of the big sticks. Played the sort of game I would like to see Laycock play in the 1s for us.

He has some potential there, no doubt, but his parents (Were talking about him the whole time and were clapping everytime he got the ball) said that he had a serious injury a year or so back, and still isn't quite right. They made it sound pretty big, but not sure of the extent. So could be a bit of a risk, but a big upside. I think he'll go around 25 depending on the club's needs.

I don't know how many of you respect Sheehan's opinion, but here's what he said...

Talent manager predicts bumper 2009 AFL draft

THE raw talent of this year's draft is "in the ballpark" of the 1997 and 2001 drafts, AFL talent manager Kevin Sheehan said yesterday. The 1997 draft produced dual Brownlow medallist Adam Goodes, Trent Croad, Luke Power and Shane O'Bree, while awesome foursome Luke Hodge, Luke Ball, Chris Judd and Jimmy Bartel were products of the 2001 super draft.

Sheehan generally says the same thing every year. Its his job to talk them up.

I would be looking at the top 3 we most probably won't be getting. Don't discount the fact (this early) that we won't get the 4th pick either. Anyway the 3 you can cross off your wish list are Naitanui, Rich and Watts (in no particular order)....

Hurley and Hartlett seems to be the front runners on this board atm. I would be interested in looking at the VC boys. What are peoples thought on the frontrunner from them?

Ziebell. Very, very smart footballer. Kevin Sheahan has MASSIVE wraps on the kid, and he won the Ben Mitchell Medal for the best player in the AIS tour so I think he has a very bright future.

Does anyone know which round Vickery is likely to go? 2nd or 3rd round? I haven't seen him mentioned in anyones early phantoms, but didn't look that far off the mark.

Also thanks to Great Source for the reports :thumbsu: Good work mate!

Early second round, but again, it will depend on the club's needs around that time. No problems for the reports mate, I like doing them and I'm glad people like reading them. :thumbsu:

I think your getting sucked into predicting things by looking at clubs needs.
I can tell you now that everyone draws up a list rating the players in order from who they think is best and they use their first two or three picks on who they think is the best player .

Sheehan generally says the same thing every year. Its his job to talk them up.

This year he is not talking them up. It will be one of the better drafts.

I think your getting sucked into predicting things by looking at clubs needs.
I can tell you now that everyone draws up a list rating the players in order from who they think is best and they use their first two or three picks on who they think is the best player .
Jarrad Grant, Mitchell Thorp & Nathan J. Brown are some players off the top of my head that have risen considerably early on in the draft because of the club's needs. But sometimes yeah, I do get a bit caught into that.

Mitchell Thorp didnt rise he was always going top 5/6 or higher and I think if Hawthorn were picking for needs they would have been banking on Leuenberger to fall but he was picked up at #4.

I do agree most clubs would have picked Myers/Palmer over Grant however.

He has some potential there, no doubt, but his parents (Were talking about him the whole time and were clapping everytime he got the ball) said that he had a serious injury a year or so back, and still isn't quite right. They made it sound pretty big, but not sure of the extent. So could be a bit of a risk, but a big upside. I think he'll go around 25 depending on the club's needs.
Came back from an ACL I heard. Must have been referring to that. Looked very promising didnt he.

Essendon keeps rising up the ladder and as we have fortunately the likes of Hartlett and Watts have jumped into the top 5 selections expected for the draft. I have been looking forward to this draft for a long time and if we got a top 5 pick we are likely to get a star. There doesnt seem to be any obvious boy who will join the predicted top 5. Must say that this worries me slightly. Cannot see us getting a pick higher then 6 as Carlton/North should be able to stay above us. Id hate for us to get pick 6 and just miss out on Hartlett/Hurley who would be perfect for the club.

Mitchell Thorp didnt rise he was always going top 5/6 or higher and I think if Hawthorn were picking for needs they would have been banking on Leuenberger to fall but he was picked up at #4.

I do agree most clubs would have picked Myers/Palmer over Grant however.

They needed another KPP, so they chose Thorp. Selwood & Armitage were rated higher than Thorpy from my understanding in that draft, but Thorp wasn't that far off them no doubt. If it's close to call, they'll go with needs I've found.

Thorp was always rated top 5 in that draft. Probably the equal of Selwood but miles ahead of Armitage. IIRC guys like Proud and Jetta were given more prominence than Armitage.

I wasn't registered at BF than, made my assumptions off watching them play like I still do and will stick to that as long as the Champs sometimes come over to Victoria like they have been and as long as the TAC Cup doesn't re-locate, which it shouldn't. :D Thorp was good in the champs but he looked a bit slow off the mark and his decision making wasn't top notch IIRC, but had good endurance for a big man. I liked the look of Armitage, always put himself in and under packs and fed it out to Petterd and the like. Proud was ok, but his body looked very matured and didn't look to have much upside. Jetta looked promising, but I always put good inside players ahead of good outside players for some reason when thinking about the order of the draft, and for that reason I just preffered Armitage and it is pretty equal so far, both players have shown something for their respective club's.