Merged draft threads

Re: 2008 Bombers List

So anyone who you've seen play once is in, any who's played over 100-150 is out, and anyone who hasn't played at all yet is also out.

Brilliant insightful list. :rolleyes:

So anyone who you've seen play once is in, any who's played over 100-150 is out, and anyone who hasn't played at all yet is also out.

:D
Darcy must have really really impressed with one of his kicks, Bellchambers has obviously been better than I thought at VFL level if he's a definite premiership player

My thoughts are that backline weighs about an average of 80kg & it would only take 1 Tredrea or Brown type to smash a few of them. (I also hope you've got the followers named on the wrong line, Lovett's a shi*e ruckman)

Going though the list , this is how i see it

Taking us to the next P/ship Team
David Myers
Bachar Houli
Jay Nash
Patrick Ryder
Jobe Watson
David Hille
Brent Stanton
Mark McVeigh
Jay Neagle
Darcy Daniher
Andrew Lovett
Leroy Jetta
Tom Hislop
Jarrod Atkinson
Kyle Reimers
Courtenay Dempsey
Heath Hocking
Sam Lonergan
Alwyn Davey
Tayte Pears
Scott Gumbleton
Tom Bellchambers
Kyle Reimers
Courtenay Dempsey
Heath Hocking
Sam Lonergan
Alwyn Davey
Tayte Pears
Scott Gumbleton
Tom Bellchambers
I hope the second Scott Gumbleton has more luck with injuries then the original. Also you would have to watch the two Kyle Reimers at training because in contact drills they would be likely to belt the crap out of each other.

lol ok ive fixed it up alot better now , haha maybe i was a lil tied last night when i wrote it and did not fix alot up , but its done now , and gave reason for my delistings.

:D
Darcy must have really really impressed with one of his kicks, Bellchambers has obviously been better than I thought at VFL level if he's a definite premiership player

My thoughts are that backline weighs about an average of 80kg & it would only take 1 Tredrea or Brown type to smash a few of them. (I also hope you've got the followers named on the wrong line, Lovett's a shi*e ruckman)

Darcy - has shown heaps at VFL was only his first AFL game give him time he will be VERY GOOD

Bellchambers is a VERY good Tap Ruckman ive seen him alot in tassie games and VFL games his a bit lazy around ground but he can get fitness he will be alot better alot better then Laycock

as for the backline - Drafts and Trades are for that - ive delisted alot of players so about 20 odd new players will come in and hopefully they will
have a new backline with that

And the day after this years draft, your "future team" will look different.
Seriously, it is almost impossible to predict best 22's 5 years from now or future premiership players, just look at some old threads dicussing this from a few years ago and see names like Lee, Bradley, Dyson, Monfries etc and thinking we currently had the pieces in place to play finals in 3 or so years, when players who now appear to be important pieces to our future, Ryder, Gumby, Myers, Houli etc weren't even on our list.

Was thinking very similar to the last post by Jem. It so happens that our next premiership side will contain 5 players that we picked up from the national/preseason/rookie drafts from last season, yet none from this year, in an apparently very strong draft where we will most likely have a top 5 pick. Not blaming ya mate, because a lot of people think about it and try and name our next premiership side, me included, but yeah hoping a few of these young kids from this years crop will turn out good. Hoping for another '06 draft.

Winderlich isn't overated. He's our best outside midfielder, he's quick, great skills, runs both ways, his only problem is he can't seem to stay on the park because he always seems to be injured every year.

Ryder being wasted at Full Back is the last thing I want to see happen, has the potential to be one of the best ruckman in the competition, why waste him down back?

Hislop to play midfield where he creates hard tackling pressure and loves the tough stuff.

Slattery ahead of Nash for that BP spot, Nash way way too unaccountable, Slatts can lock down his opponent and still get decent numbers.

Atkinson's skills are crap, wll have to work extremely hard on them if he wants to get into the senior side. Draft pick such as Hurley/Swift/Rich will be in there ahead of him, As would Winderlich.
Winderlich>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>Atkinson

May I just say, 'Next Permiership Team' is one of the dumbest things I've heard. How do you know our next permiership team won't be next year or be in 100 years...:rolleyes:
Here is my 5main players in 100 years.

FF - Joey Coca Cola
HF - James McDonalds
Center - Shaun Pepsi
Ruck - Matthew Solo
FB - Nathan Burger

They will win us our next premiership. ;)

Pretty much, that and he has too much time on his hands ;)

Ha Ha , well i delisted everyone i think wont be on the list time our next p/ship is here , i just put the last 22 players left in to a team , with out adding in the next few drafts because we havent got them yet so i can just say right this dude is in and this other guy ? maybe should edit it and say p/ship LIST not TEAM

draft value of EFC current senior list

These are my thoughts about the current trade value of EFC's senior list.

I am certain that this is the kind of document that all clubs would have in their possession

It would be interesting to read other members thoughts.

It is a purely hypothetical list similar to a dream team.

Thomas Bellchambers 30-40
Darcy Daniher 25-35
Alwyn Davey 10-20
Courtenay Dempsey 15-25
Ricky Dyson 40-50
Dustin Fletcher 15-25
Scott Gumbleton 1-10
David Hille 5-15
Tom Hislop 20-30
Heath Hocking 50-60
Cale Hooker 70+
Bachar Houli 10-20
Leroy Jetta 10-20
Courtenay Johns 60-70
Jason Johnson 70+
Jason Laycock 25-35
Andrew Lee 70+
Matthew Lloyd 20-30
Sam Lonergan 25-35
Andrew Lovett 15-25
Nathan Lovett-Murray 40-50
Scott Lucas 5-15
Adam McPhee 25-35
Mark McVeigh 1-10
David Myers 1-10
Angus Monfries 40-50
Jay Nash 30-40
Jay Neagle 20-30
Tayte Pears 15-25
Damian Peverill 60-70
Adam Ramanauskas 45-55
Kyle Reimers 25-35
Patrick Ryder 1-10
Jobe Watson 15-25
Andrew Welsh 30-40
Jason Winderlich 25-35
John Williams 60-70

Re: draft value of EFC current senior list

paddy would get a top 5 for sure. and i rekon darcy daniher would get a lil better than that casue kangaroos had a crack at him. and i rekon prob top 30 pic for monfries. even tho i wouldnt trade him he was an early pick for us so u goota give him another year or 2

for a start you are missing players.
eg stanton.
maybe more but i cant think at the moment.

Nice idea - some interesting thoughts - I think you may need a ranking that signifies no trade value whatsoever e.,g Johns, Lee, Pev, JJ

Those ratings are pretty inaccurate if you ask me.

15-25 for Fletcher? Who exactly would want him for a year or 2? At pick 15 or 25 for that matter?

Bellchambers at 30? He didn't get picked in the national draft last year........whats he done to become a third round pick?

Houli at 10-20........but Myers 1-10?

Look, I could go on, but really add 20-30 to most of those and you're starting to get close........plenty of our players wouldn't even get taken in the pre-season draft!

You need to look at what stage of the development each player is.

-Bellchambers apparently is developing well and was surprisingly not drafted in the ND of 2007. Clubs look to the future with ruckman.

- Fletcher could be drafted at 15 to 25 by a team who is close to a premiership. For example if Hawthorn missed out on the premiership because of their defensive frailities, Fletcher would be an appealing pick.

- Houli is a second year player with a developed physique. I believe that he is a steal at 42 but needs to win the ball more in the first half of games.

- Myers is a first round pick who has played one game. I am certain that by the end of the year he will justify pick 1 to 10.