Merged draft threads

If we are going for a ruckman with our first pick then you would look at giving that up for Warnock from Freo instead of drafting a complete unknown.

Maybe a swap with Laycock and our 1st rounder for Warnock and there second rounder.

I wouldn't even consider him with our first pick, but if he's around with our second pick we would have to have a serious look at him as he looks a handy type. Hurley(VM)/Hartlett(SA) with our first pick, Zaharakis(VM)/ Lisle(VM) with our second pick, Hall(SA)/Schoenmakers(SA) with our third pick & McCulloch(TAS)/Redden(SA) with our fourth pick to boost our ruck stocks just incase Bellchambers doesn't make it, or Laycock gets traded or something along those lines in a few years time could be a good outcome for our club imo. Just throwing it out there, still plenty of time before the draft though, so a lot can happen between now and then.

I can tell you now that if Blease is around when we pick in the second round then we must pick him. Somehow i suspect that by the end of the year he will have done enough to see someone look at him in the first round.
Interseting you mentioned McCulloch. Not sure if he will be quite tall enough to be a genuine ruck but he has had some good games during the champs. Good pace for a big bloke.

I can tell you now that if Blease is around when we pick in the second round then we must pick him. Somehow i suspect that by the end of the year he will have done enough to see someone look at him in the first round.
Interseting you mentioned McCulloch. Not sure if he will be quite tall enough to be a genuine ruck but he has had some good games during the champs. Good pace for a big bloke.

Yeah, Blease would be a good second round pick up, but I didn't want to put him down only because he is a chance of going a tad earlier. I also like McCulloch, is 198cm with great agility so I'm sure he'll be able to cope in the ruck if he is indeed drafted in years to come.

If we are going for a ruckman with our first pick then you would look at giving that up for Warnock from Freo instead of drafting a complete unknown.

Maybe a swap with Laycock and our 1st rounder for Warnock and there second rounder.

That has interesting possibilities but I can't see it getting off the ground for the simple reason that the Freo members would probably start burning effigies of Harvey in the street if he did anymore trades with us.

GS, do you think Zaharakis will fall that far?

Early second round I think he'll get snapped up.
He was available to get drafted last year and everyone passed on him.
Hawthorn had a good look last year, was very close to draft him, but decided to with some senior experience with their last pick going with Mountain Dew in the end.

That has interesting possibilities but I can't see it getting off the ground for the simple reason that the Freo members would probably start burning effigies of Harvey in the street if he did anymore trades with us.

Yeah, but if Warnock states his intention to come back to Melbourne then Freo might not have any choice as he can slip through the PSD.

Two picks in the top 10 might be enough to quell the natives and could possibly be the best win win.

I'm not completely convinced about Warnock but I reckon he'll be a decent ruckman in a few years with a bit more size. Pies gave up pick 14 for Wood and I reckon Warnock has a lot more upside than Wood.

We drafted Laycock from Tassie and out of the division two Champs for a start.
Secondly there are no guarantee's about any kid but just becasue one ruckman does not come on as well as expected it does not mean the next one won't. You dont know if it will pay off or not but at 200cm with better pace than Laycock , good skills, the ability to pick the ball up at ground level and also be able to present as a serious forward target one could say his chances are better than most ruckmen.
What Laycock has done has nothing to do with it. If you worried about everyone who you drafted that did not live up to expectations and did not draft his type again then you would not ever draft anyone.

Sorry, I don't know what I was thinking
What I should have said is we shouldn't waste a 2nd round pick on Vickery as we don't exactly need a forward presenting ruckman due to having a quite powerful forward line, even when Lloyd and Lucas retire.
A ruckman, such as Redden who does everything else right would be a better choice as we may be able to get him with our fourth pick leaving us with the ability to draft a midfielder with our 2nd round pick, i.e Swift.
Redden seems as though he could develop into a good ruckman.

Who thinks Trengove might be a good option at our first pick if he is there?

From what I recall last year he did spend time in the backline and did have a good spoil on him. He doesen't move too bad and has a decent leap. Once they both develop you could swich Ryder and him out of CHB into the Ruck perhaps.

Haven't watched the games from Wednesday yet so I'll put my two bobs worth in then.

Who thinks Trengove might be a good option at our first pick if he is there?

From what I recall last year he did spend time in the backline and did have a good spoil on him. He doesen't move too bad and has a decent leap. Once they both develop you could swich Ryder and him out of CHB into the Ruck perhaps.

Haven't watched the games from Wednesday yet so I'll put my two bobs worth in then.

He's got nothing on Hurley, who should still be around at our first pick.

Before his injuries he was very highly rated.

Yep, was rated top 10 before the injury.

Article on afl.com.au -

Selwood inspires injured star
By Matt Burgan

INJURED Vic Metro star Jackson Trengove says he has taken inspiration from Geelong dynamo Joel Selwood as someone who can have an injury-riddled season and still be taken as a high draft selection.
Selwood, who was selected at No.7 by Geelong in the 2006 NAB AFL Draft after his year was ruined by a knee injury, has since become a star of the competition and a premiership player.
Trengove is sidelined for the rest of the 2008 season due to an injury on the outside of his knee – in his words "not quite the hamstring and not quite the knee".
"It's a really awkward one and a weird one to explain, because it's just on the fibula, but it's more near my knee, so that's why I say it," Trengove told afl.com.au.
"I've spoken to a few people and I've spoken to [Michael] Voss through the AIS and he said Brisbane is kicking themselves because they didn't draft Joel Selwood, but in the end it doesn't matter whether you're first or your 60th – you're there in the end and you've just got to work from there.
"Every one is on the same block after you get drafted by a club, so that's my main aim – to get my knee right."
The 196cm tall from the Calder Cannons is not letting talk that he is a top 10 pick interfere with his focus on getting back on the track.
"I don't worry about it too much. I let my footy do the talking and whatever happens at the end of the year happens. It'll probably send me down the list, but if it's meant to be, it's meant to be," he said.
Trengove sustained his injury at training before Vic Metro's match against Tasmania on the Queen's Birthday holiday.
He was philosophical about the injury, saying it was "a little setback, but not too bad".
"Where the hamstring meets the fibula, that got ripped off, just a slash of bone, and that just got reattached with the ligaments, so it got all put back on where it's meant to be.
"It happened at training and when I went to kick it, I got knocked under a bit of pressure and it got smothered and it knocked my knee out.
"At the start it was a little bit sore, but I didn't think it was going to be too bad and I thought it was just going to be a couple of weeks with stretched ligaments, but the next day I went in for scans and then in the afternoon I found out [I was out for the season].
"In one sense, it was the worse time it could happen and in another sense it was probably the best time it could've happened, as it's given me time to get back to do a pre-season and get back into it for next year."
Asked to describe himself as a footballer, Trengove said he was a competitor.
"I get out there and do my bit for the team and always give 100 per cent and put my body on the line for the team.
"I'm versatile. I can play in the ruck, down back and also up forward, so that's where my advantage is. For my height, I would consider myself a key back … and I've got a bit of a leap, to help go against the bigger bodies."

Well according to some associates of mine Hurley was better than Trengrove last year, when he wasn't injured
Probably just their opinion though..
I haven't seen enough of them to know myself

If Tengrove was rated top ten before injury and will now be available early second round, should we pick up Hartlett first round and hope we can get Tengrove in the second?

I unfortunately think Trengove will still go in the first round, late though. If we indeed decided to go with Hartlett, Lisle would be my preference for our second pick. He is a tall, strong marking defender who can go forward when required, so he's quite versatile.

Alex Silvagni anyone, Casey Scorpions FB in the VFL, is only 22 and has done some good jobs, as Daytripper has said, would be able to fill out alot in the 2-3 years he may have to develop untill fletcher retires, could walk into our FB position maybe, as he has the height (191cm) and the body size (90+kg) he is a good solid player, and everyone that wants a FB, look at him, he is convincing, is Pears really gonna make it, and if so, people are saying he is gonna be a CHB, to free up Ryder, is this true. why dont we look at Silvagni,

thoughts...??

Hurley would be a nice addition to the backline.:thumbsu:

Yes, he would. Unfortunately I can't see us getting him if we continue playing how we're playing.

I think it's pretty safe to say our (as in, bigfooty) first two preferences are Hurley and Hartlett. If both of these are taken, however, who do we want?

Yes, he would. Unfortunately I can't see us getting him if we continue playing how we're playing.

I think it's pretty safe to say our (as in, bigfooty) first two preferences are Hurley and Hartlett. If both of these are taken, however, who do we want?

Interesting question. I think Ziebell would have to be looked at very closely, he's a class act. Played for Vic Country in the championships, displayed great poise and skill throughout the championships and played a very prominent role for Australia in the AIS tour earlier on in the year.

The more I think about it, the more I think we'll end up with Nick Heyne.

Behind Naitanui and Watts, in my mind he stands as the guy with the third most potential. He's quick, he uses it well, he's strong overhead, he's versatile and he can do the incredible.

He struggles to perform for four quarters, but when he comes into the game, he turns it.

If Watts, Naitanui and Rich are off the table as one would expect, Hurley probably stands as my first preference with Heyne a close second.