Veteran 10k Posts
Mar 27, 2007
Liverpool
Race to bring Judd back home

Hey guys things are hotting up so it seems for Judd, the big 3 Vic clubs are makeing a major push for Judd here is the article ... what do you guys think? Will he come? Will the cost be too high? Will he leave Eagles in the lurch? Here is the article .... http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22420498%5E19762,00.html

Opps sorry posted the wrong link posted the right one now still tired stayed up all nigh watching the India V Pakis match last night great game

Re: Race to bring Judd back home

Hey guys things are hotting up so it seems for Judd, the big 3 Vic clubs are makeing a major push for Judd here is the article ... what do you guys think? Will he come? Will the cost be too high? Will he leave Eagles in the lurch? Here is the article .... http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/footy/common/story_page/0,8033,22420545%5E19762,00.html

Libba no longer assistant coach:confused:
What does this have to do with Judd, are we trading Libba for Judd:p

If Judd choses to go to Carlton in all honesty i think you would need atleast two very early first rounder! My question is then, what would you offer for Pick 2?

I don't want him for a couple of reasons:

-Firstly, we would have to give up an arm and a leg to get him in a trade. I don't think the loss of Fev and Pick 3 will be offset by the arrival of Judd.

-Secondly, what happened the last time we offered somebody $5 million over five years?

As much as Judd is a pure freak and arguably the futures greatest footballer ever I think it would be stupid to gain Judd. Even though he is pure talent I think we still need to build to the future. Yes Judd is only young but realistically what we will have to offer west coast is unbelievable. We would certainly loose our third pick and most likely pick 20 or/and another gun player. We need this pick 3 and pick 20 in the draft this year. Judd has been a very injury prone athlete since he has started with both shoulders and now op. This injury may set Judd back for up to a year if it doest heal correctly

I believe Carlton should be looking at some trade with Richmond to allow us to get both Matthew Kreuzer and Cotchin. If we can offer them some deal for say a player for a 4th round draft pick and they skip Cotchin with there 2nd pick in the draft I would be satisfied with that. This would mean we would have both these future stars in out team.

They have bargaining power, too, with draft choices 1, 3 and 20. The first pick is reserved for Matthew Kreuzer, but No. 3 is negotiable.

Looks like we are in the box seat to snag him if he does decide to leave the Eagles, however, this sort of crapola writing by Mike Sheahan of all people, really gives me the sh1ts.

I'd love to ask Mike - So, how many times have you seen Kreuzer play?

Re: Judd and draft pick 2 (Richmond)

#3 and a reasonable player would be enough if you ask me. With #3, West Coast would in all likeliness go for a WA kid, either Masten, Palmer and Morton. Not a bad 3-some to select from if you ask me.

If your not trading Fev who would they want though?
Your unlikely to get rid of Waite, Fischer, Murphy etc, so other than Kennedy who would they wan't?

The dogs might be interested in parting with their pick 5 for a trade involving Brad Fisher rather waiting a couple of years for a Henderson to develop.

We then offer 3 + 5 + (Bower if needed) to WCE. :thumbsu:

The dogs might be interested in parting with their pick 5 for a trade involving Brad Fisher rather waiting a couple of years for a Henderson to develop.

I think the Eagle might just take that. But do you think it would be worth giving up Fischer who is a 40+ goal kicker, Your big hope down back and a potential gun midfielder in Morton or Cotchin?

Personally i wouldn't wan't to give up 2 qaulity KPP and a likely classy mid for Judd.

Just off the top of my head, i'd try perhaps:

#3 and Bower/Blackwell
#3 and Walker

Walker, yes I know, but we have to offer something to the Eagles that will land us the best player in the AFL, and, to get him, we have to give a bit. Walks has come along heaps over the past couple of years, but I reckon Grigg could be a better version of him long term.

Nah, I wouldn't be giving up Fisher.

Josh Kennedy is from WA perhaps he would like to return hom with pick three in his pocket as well.

i'll take it you're a cotchin fan HBF, and fair enough too.

one thing we do know for sure is that judd will not leave the eagles in the lurch. they will leave on good terms and judd will tell the eagles which side he wants to play for and those two teams will have to make a deal. i can't see a nick stevens type thing happening

Would you want Josh offered up in a trade?

Just been reading around on the forum and read the Judd article this morning in the Herald Sun.

Obviously i do realize we would have to offer up a bucket load in a trade for what is one of the best three, if not the best player in the AFL.

However, i must say i would be very disappointed if we traded off Josh Kennedy. You might ask who else would we offer... my answer is i don't know - I'm just stating that i would be an unhappy man if he was to leave.

What are your views on Josh and where he is at? Do you think he should be offered up in a trade?

Note: Please try not to turn this into another Judd thread as we already have too many of those. This thread was made solely for the discussion of Josh Kennedy.

Merged Judd threads Part 1