Heritage Bank Stadium (Carrara)

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Yeh the very large crowd v Sydney, over 21k, saw the shuttle buses struggling a bit to keep up, I know of a few people who got in late... Either more shuttles, tram line, and or ferries up the nerang are needed.
I think we'll see a ferry terminal created first which will allow easy access from Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach and will ease pressure on the shuttle system. I'm also of the opinion that a tram extension will be created but that is a long term solution. The Gold Coast roads aren't built for buses and won't be able to rely on that system alone like they do in Brisbane.

Experimental

May 20, 2012
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Green Bay Packers
I'm a GCFC convert from Essendon as of this season, and I finally managed to head to the GC to see the Suns take down Geelong.

I've been to the Gabba numerous times and Etihad only once before, but never Metricon, so I didn't know what to expect.

I found the shuttle service to be a great idea, and a good option (especially when it's free), but it was organised very poorly. My girlfriend and I began queuing for the bus at 3:15pm, and didn't get on the bus until about 10 to 4. There were hundreds and hundreds of fans queuing at Broadbeach, all of whom were visibly pissed off with the fact that there was one bus arriving every 5 minutes. This would have been easily fixed with more busses, and I'd hoped Translink looked at the pre-purchased tickets to show that there was a big crowd expected that evening.

Once we arrived at Metricon, we were very impressed with the layout of the ground. There were plenty of facilities, the live band @ The Fifth Quarter bar was great, at the atmosphere was incredible.

A mid-strength beer was $7.20, which was bloody pathetic. Last time I was at the Gabba, I could get a full-strength beer for a dollar less. What a rort.

The viewing angles of the seats were great, the atmosphere was buzzing, and the game was incredible. It was truly amazing seeing how much the Gold Coast has got behind their team, and to see 18,000 people together screaming and yelling was great.

Again, the shuttle busses were causing issues at the end. Though it was well signed, the lack of shuttles caused massive queues that seemed to only get bigger. We again waited a while for a bus, this time 40 minutes, back to Broadbeach. The bus ended up breaking down which caused a traffic jam.

tl;dr - great venue, poor transport.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
I'm a GCFC convert from Essendon as of this season, and I finally managed to head to the GC to see the Suns take down Geelong.

I've been to the Gabba numerous times and Etihad only once before, but never Metricon, so I didn't know what to expect.

I found the shuttle service to be a great idea, and a good option (especially when it's free), but it was organised very poorly. My girlfriend and I began queuing for the bus at 3:15pm, and didn't get on the bus until about 10 to 4. There were hundreds and hundreds of fans queuing at Broadbeach, all of whom were visibly pissed off with the fact that there was one bus arriving every 5 minutes. This would have been easily fixed with more busses, and I'd hoped Translink looked at the pre-purchased tickets to show that there was a big crowd expected that evening.

Once we arrived at Metricon, we were very impressed with the layout of the ground. There were plenty of facilities, the live band @ The Fifth Quarter bar was great, at the atmosphere was incredible.

A mid-strength beer was $7.20, which was bloody pathetic. Last time I was at the Gabba, I could get a full-strength beer for a dollar less. What a rort.

The viewing angles of the seats were great, the atmosphere was buzzing, and the game was incredible. It was truly amazing seeing how much the Gold Coast has got behind their team, and to see 18,000 people together screaming and yelling was great.

Again, the shuttle busses were causing issues at the end. Though it was well signed, the lack of shuttles caused massive queues that seemed to only get bigger. We again waited a while for a bus, this time 40 minutes, back to Broadbeach. The bus ended up breaking down which caused a traffic jam.

tl;dr - great venue, poor transport.
Transport has always been an issue mate. It's really the one blight on the stadium. Everything else is pretty good. Buses alone won't cut it in the long term.

I agree it was great to hear the GC public really get behind their team (I was there too). The atmosphere was amazing and I've got a feeling it'll be even better against Collingwood next weekend.

Experimental

May 20, 2012
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Green Bay Packers
After my girlfriend and I got back to Broadbeach from the stadium (we were dressed in full red and yellow, beanies, scarves, guernsey, etc), there were people everywhere yelling 'GO THE SUNS!', or asking how the game went. GC is truly turning into an AFL town. Hell, even in the Broadbeach Tavern on Friday night, there were more people watching the Swans game than the NRL game. Really awesome!

Feb 24, 2008
New South Wales
Roosters
Gold Coast is starting to get involved, helps that the Titans are doing awfully now. I believe Gold Coast Suns are getting more to their games than the Titans and are beating them in head-head when both are playing in Gold Coast.

Went to the Swans/Gold Coast game the other week, ground is fantastic (as always food/drink very deer) and transport there was no worries for me (Park N Ride was easy) catching buses from the ground took a fair bit longer but it all seems to be slowly coming together. I'm a definite fan of the ground and would definitely consider going for more Suns games!

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Gold Coast is starting to get involved, helps that the Titans are doing awfully now. I believe Gold Coast Suns are getting more to their games than the Titans and are beating them in head-head when both are playing in Gold Coast.

I have a thread in the Gold Coast sub-forum that has compared the two teams since 2011. The Suns currently have a crowd average of 17,010 while the Titans sit on an average of 13,634. The games played on the same weekend are 3-2 in favour of the Suns with one more to come in August. Link to the Gold Coast crowd thread here.

Went to the Swans/Gold Coast game the other week, ground is fantastic (as always food/drink very deer) and transport there was no worries for me (Park N Ride was easy) catching buses from the ground took a fair bit longer but it all seems to be slowly coming together. I'm a definite fan of the ground and would definitely consider going for more Suns games!

The Swans game wasn't expected to pull anywhere near 21k and that's why the buses struggled to keep up. The Suns inform the bus companies what sort of crowd they are expecting prior to the game and book a certain amount of buses accordingly. I think they were expecting around 16k but got 21k.

Feb 24, 2008
New South Wales
Roosters
I have a thread in the Gold Coast sub-forum that has compared the two teams since 2011. The Suns currently have a crowd average of 17,010 while the Titans sit on an average of 13,634. The games played on the same weekend are 3-2 in favour of the Suns with one more to come in August. Link to the Gold Coast crowd thread here.

The Swans game wasn't expected to pull anywhere near 21k and that's why the buses struggled to keep up. The Suns inform the bus companies what sort of crowd they are expecting prior to the game and book a certain amount of buses accordingly. I think they were expecting around 16k but got 21k.

Great post mate thanks, will look into that thread shortly but that's fantastic news. Suns are doing well, nice stadium and I'm sure they'll be able to cope with bigger numbers in the future. Yeah crowd had a fantastic turnout felt like more than 21k, hopefully they're better prepared next time!

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Great post mate thanks, will look into that thread shortly but that's fantastic news. Suns are doing well, nice stadium and I'm sure they'll be able to cope with bigger numbers in the future. Yeah crowd had a fantastic turnout felt like more than 21k, hopefully they're better prepared next time!
The tide is definitely turning on the Gold Coast as the public is beginning to embrace the team and footy culture. The stadium is going to be upgraded to 40,000 in 2018 to accommodate the Commonwealth Games so I'm hoping the crowds continue to grow so the upgrade is permanent.

The last two crowds have been large (Sydney 21k, Geelong 18k) and very vocal. However, their next home game is against Collingwood and has already been predicted to be the biggest crowd ever. The atmosphere is going to be amazing.

budge27

Aug 16, 2009
Redskins, Northwestern, Dodgers
After my girlfriend and I got back to Broadbeach from the stadium (we were dressed in full red and yellow, beanies, scarves, guernsey, etc), there were people everywhere yelling 'GO THE SUNS!', or asking how the game went. GC is truly turning into an AFL town. Hell, even in the Broadbeach Tavern on Friday night, there were more people watching the Swans game than the NRL game. Really awesome!

I remember going to the Broadbeach Tavern in 2007 on a Friday night and watching the Pies on TV at one end of the bar with about 2 others whilst there was about 100 people at the other end watching the NRL - I thought god help the AFL up here. But it looks like things are generally improving for AFL support with the Suns now winning.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
I remember going to the Broadbeach Tavern in 2007 on a Friday night and watching the Pies on TV at one end of the bar with about 2 others whilst there was about 100 people at the other end watching the NRL - I thought god help the AFL up here. But it looks like things are generally improving for AFL support with the Suns now winning.
Without context, one would think the AFL was no chance after witnessing that. 2007 was the year the Gold Coast rugby league team started up and the public really got behind them. Interest levels in rugby league have probably never been as high as they were between 2007-09 on the Gold Coast and some of that probably had to do with the novelty of having their own pro sports team for the first time in a long time. AFL was also nowhere near as popular given the Lions were well and truly on the way down since their triple premiership years.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
It has been officially announced that the Gold Coast trams will open to the public on Sunday July 20. This means the footy fans will be able to use it to get around for the St Kilda (August 2), Port Adelaide (August 20) and West Coast (August 29-31) games. You can see all the tram info on the last post on the first page or here:

LIGHT RAIL (TRAM) ACCESS
The light rail line will open in July 2014, extending from Griffith University Hospital to Broadbeach South and will offer several patrons the opportunity to get to Metricon Stadium. Seeing as majority of tourists will be staying in either Main Beach, Surfers Paradise and Broadbeach I will put a heavy focus on those areas in this explanation.

Main Beach Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in Main Beach will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along the Gold Coast Highway, just north of the corner of Tedder Avenue and the Gold Coast Highway. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Main Beach station include: Oscar On Main, Xanadu Resort, Maldives Resort, The Crest and Contessa Condominiums
518Z5Hh.png

Surfers Paradise North Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the Northern part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Surfers Paradise North station include: Mantra Sun City, Golden Gate Resort, QT Gold Coast, Surfers Paradise Marriott Resort and Australis Sovereign Hotel.
kT7XHzl.png

Cypress Avenue Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the central-north part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, opposite Adrenaline Park. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Cypress Avenue station include: Mantra Crown Towers, Quarterdeck Resort, Breakfree Moroccan, Outrigger Hotel, Olympus Apartments and International Beach Resort.
NjZvpXz.png

Cavill Avenue Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the central part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, north of Cavill Avenue. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Cavill Avenue station include: Hilton Surfers Paradise, Sea Temple Surfers Paradise, Mantra Circle on Cavill, Chevron Towers, Hotel Grand Chancellor and Monte Carlo Sun Resort.
WBApOct.png

Surfers Paradise Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the central-south part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, opposite the Q1. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Surfers Paradise station include: Q1 Resort, Watermark Hotel, Wyndham Surfers Paradise, Mantra Legends.
vQ845Ky.png

Northcliffe Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the south-central part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along Surfers Paradise Boulevard, south of Vista Street. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Northcliffe station include: Artique Resort and Palazzo Colonnades.
Hgl4rkD.png

Florida Gardens Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the southern part of Surfers Paradise will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along the Gold Coast Highway. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Florida Gardens station include: Crowne Plaza, Surfers Hawaiian and Ipanema Holiday Resort.
IC8LnFd.png

Broadbeach South Light Rail Station
Patrons choosing to stay in the southern part of Broadbeach will be able to access the Light Rail station that is located along the Gold Coast Highway, opposite Pacific Fair Shopping Centre. Patrons will then get off at the Broadbeach North station (Queensland Avenue) and walk one block south to Victoria Avenue where the shuttle bus will take patrons to the stadium.
Notable Hotels near the Broadbeach South station include: Jupiters Casino, Mantra Sierra Grand, Bel Air On Broadbeach and Ocean Pacific Resort.
VUn5tUc.png

Experimental

May 20, 2012
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Green Bay Packers
Champion - thanks Matchu. I'm so keen for the trams to be open for public use. Although there's still massive traffic issues because of it up in Southport. Either way, I'll be using it to get to the game.

Feb 28, 2007
The tide is definitely turning on the Gold Coast as the public is beginning to embrace the team and footy culture. The stadium is going to be upgraded to 40,000 in 2018 to accommodate the Commonwealth Games so I'm hoping the crowds continue to grow so the upgrade is permanent.

I imagine it will be permanent as it looks like the Gold Coast will need more than 25,000 seats at least a few times a year and there is no sense in removing the upgrade once it is there if it is going to be used.

I know the Commonwealth Games are not until 2018 but when is the Metricon upgrade expected to happen?

Experimental

May 20, 2012
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Green Bay Packers
I'm still not completely convinced that the Commonwealth Games expansion should be permanent. I'm assuming (if it's going to be temporary), that construction will start after the 2017 AFL season concludes. Though Metricon is tiny in comparison with The G, AO, and Subi, I think it's suitable for the GC population at the moment.

I'm of the opinion that Metricon should never be any more than a 30k stadium, and even then, shouldn't be increased for at least the next 8 years+. The smaller venue will eventually mean the Suns membership numbers will increase a hell of a lot due to people simply not being able to buy tickets without one. I hope we get a footy culture on the coast similar to that of WA - waiting lists for membership. A 40k+ stadium on GC will feel empty and negatively impact on GC membership numbers, imo.

Jan 26, 2006
East Fremantle
I'm still not completely convinced that the Commonwealth Games expansion should be permanent. I'm assuming (if it's going to be temporary), that construction will start after the 2017 AFL season concludes. Though Metricon is tiny in comparison with The G, AO, and Subi, I think it's suitable for the GC population at the moment.

I'm of the opinion that Metricon should never be any more than a 30k stadium, and even then, shouldn't be increased for at least the next 8 years+. The smaller venue will eventually mean the Suns membership numbers will increase a hell of a lot due to people simply not being able to buy tickets without one. I hope we get a footy culture on the coast similar to that of WA - waiting lists for membership. A 40k+ stadium on GC will feel empty and negatively impact on GC membership numbers, imo.

West Coast like would be horrible for the Gold Coast.

Only the geriatrics have memberships so the crowds are all over 50 so children can't attend and even younger adults can't.
West Coast survive despite this because West Coast are pretty much an institution but it would be horrible for the Gold Coast

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Champion - thanks Matchu. I'm so keen for the trams to be open for public use. Although there's still massive traffic issues because of it up in Southport. Either way, I'll be using it to get to the game.
No worries. It definitely should make it easier for the tourists to get to games as well as locals along the Broady-Surfers-Southport strip. Hopefully a western extension to Nerang station isn't too far away and getting to the stadium becomes even easier.

I imagine it will be permanent as it looks like the Gold Coast will need more than 25,000 seats at least a few times a year and there is no sense in removing the upgrade once it is there if it is going to be used.

I know the Commonwealth Games are not until 2018 but when is the Metricon upgrade expected to happen?
Well all signs (so far) have pointed towards it being temporary. However, I totally agree that removing the upgrade would be a bad decision in the long run. The Suns are only just scratching the surface of their potential drawing power and their last three home games have pulled 64k+. Those are huge numbers for a city of just 500k but I honestly believe the crowds aren't even close to being as big as they can be. It's unknown when the upgrade will commence.

Though Metricon is tiny in comparison with The G, AO, and Subi, I think it's suitable for the GC population at the moment.

I'm of the opinion that Metricon should never be any more than a 30k stadium, and even then, shouldn't be increased for at least the next 8 years+.
It depends what you consider suitable. You have to remember the Gold Coast has always been a tourist destination so there will always be out of towners travelling to the Gold Coast to watch the footy. It really just comes down to whether they can engage the local community more and I have no reason to believe they won't/can't. The crowds will naturally get larger as the team performs better on field so the question should be, how many sell outs/what crowd average would be required to consider a permanent upgrade?

I think the ideal outcome is to fill in the open area with a second tier the same size as the rest of the stadium and hopefully that equates to about 35,000 seats. I think 35k is ideal for the short and long term.

Experimental

May 20, 2012
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Green Bay Packers
I think the ideal outcome is to fill in the open area with a second tier the same size as the rest of the stadium
I've always wondered why they didn't do this to begin with. I do love the stadium, but I've always felt that it looked a bit strange and unfinished. Hopefully you're right and the eventual upgrade is simply an added second tier to 'complete' the stadium.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
I've always wondered why they didn't do this to begin with. I do love the stadium, but I've always felt that it looked a bit strange and unfinished. Hopefully you're right and the eventual upgrade is simply an added second tier to 'complete' the stadium.
I think the idea was to create a wind tunnel. I personally think it would look better if it was just completed all the way around. It's not like Adelaide Oval with the historical piece keeping one end open. I also don't like the big screen behind the goals but that'll be moved for the Comm Games regardless.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
damnation182, just looking at the layout of Metricon and you can see there is enough room to extend the second tier all the way around. However, one light post does make things tricky but I'm sure they can build around it. Another issue is the big screen which I believe will be moved towards the north eastern end where the second tier currently ends. I think a second video screen will be added at the south western end as well.

EDth6pW.jpg

Ideally, the stadium would end up looking like the Maracana in Rio with a smaller roof and less circular:

3dMFkX9.jpg

Experimental

May 20, 2012
Brisbane
Brisbane Lions
Green Bay Packers
damnation182, just looking at the layout of Metricon and you can see there is enough room to extend the second tier all the way around. However, one light post does make things tricky but I'm sure they can build around it. Another issue is the big screen which I believe will be moved towards the north eastern end where the second tier currently ends. I think a second video screen will be added at the south western end as well.

Looking at your picture, it seems as though the stadium was designed with a 'second phase' in mind in regards to adding another tier above the open end of the field.

As for the light pole, it wouldn't be too much of an issue to built the second tier around the pole, and place a screen directly in front of the pole itself. It would result in fewer seats, but would 'cover up' the imperfection of the light pole being in the way and address the issue of needing a place for a screen (if any of that makes sense...). Regardless, it doesn't look to difficult to complete the stadium to look like the second photo you linked.

If the GC ferry system is in place by the time the upgrade starts, the terminal would be directly behind the new stand and could possibly result in an undercover entrance with toilets, kiosks, bars, and other facilities (like the entrances to the Gabba, the G, or Etihad for example).

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Looking at your picture, it seems as though the stadium was designed with a 'second phase' in mind in regards to adding another tier above the open end of the field.

As for the light pole, it wouldn't be too much of an issue to built the second tier around the pole, and place a screen directly in front of the pole itself. It would result in fewer seats, but would 'cover up' the imperfection of the light pole being in the way and address the issue of needing a place for a screen (if any of that makes sense...). Regardless, it doesn't look to difficult to complete the stadium to look like the second photo you linked.

If the GC ferry system is in place by the time the upgrade starts, the terminal would be directly behind the new stand and could possibly result in an undercover entrance with toilets, kiosks, bars, and other facilities (like the entrances to the Gabba, the G, or Etihad for example).
It was definitely built with the second phase in mind. The Commonwealth Games bid was always a part of the building process when it began in late 2009. The stadium itself is quite stunning and very well built for an Aussie rules game but I would like a finished product. You couldn't say it doesn't look nice:

7195002394_a7225909b1_b.jpg

I didn't think about putting the video screen in front of the light pole. That's actually a really good idea but there is one problem I see with it. There is no room for a second video screen directly opposite to that light pole. The only room on the southern end happens to be on the more western side, not the eastern side. You can kind of see it in the picture above. There is a bit of space between stands at the south western side of the stadium.

That would be great if they did add in some nice features with the ferry terminal but who knows if the ferry will become a reality. I'd certainly like to see it happen. Not a bad view on your way to the stadium via the ferry:

CkTxmGS.jpg

Jul 21, 2010
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Philadelphia 76ers
Matchu i took that photo in the post above (top one) on a uni excursion. got a tour of the entire stadium, including locker rooms. it really is a beautiful structure, even not on game day.

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
Matchu i took that photo in the post above (top one) on a uni excursion. got a tour of the entire stadium, including locker rooms. it really is a beautiful structure, even not on game day.
Great picture mate. I wish they'd let the public do tours of the stadium for like $10. Similar to what they do at the MCG.

Did you go into all the corporate areas? I heard they are pretty good.

Jul 21, 2010
Gold Coast
Gold Coast
Philadelphia 76ers
Great picture mate. I wish they'd let the public do tours of the stadium for like $10. Similar to what they do at the MCG.

Did you go into all the corporate areas? I heard they are pretty good.
yep, we went pretty much everywhere. i've been up on the deck twice through free tickets and it's bloody good. padded seats with drinks holders, free hot food nibbles, great view. if i could afford it and didn't mind less atmosphere, i'd be up there for sure.

here's the full album.
www.flickr.com/photos/54468863@N06/sets/72157629721591708

Matchu

Apr 12, 2007
Port Adelaide
yep, we went pretty much everywhere. i've been up on the deck twice through free tickets and it's bloody good. padded seats with drinks holders, free hot food nibbles, great view. if i could afford it and didn't mind less atmosphere, i'd be up there for sure.

here's the full album.
www.flickr.com/photos/54468863@N06/sets/72157629721591708
Great stuff. Certainly paints a nice picture for anyone who hasn't been to the stadium.