MFC given 2 million

I suggest you go and check your facts before you're severely embarrassed.

I think you've already embarassed yourself - talk about a blatant attempt to re-write events.

Melbourne's future is an AFL club is well and truly over. It's time for Melbourne to be relegated to a level of football commensurate with their fund raising capacity.

While it is good to see Melbourne stronger,

I do have to ask where North's 2 million was when we were declared unviable just a little over a year ago.

I have no issue with the CBF, but come on, we pulled ourselves out without help, so can they.

Are you suggesting that North haven't received any extra funds such as the CBF from the AFL?

My how quickly they forget :rolleyes:

I think you've already embarassed yourself - talk about a blatant attempt to re-write events.

Melbourne's future is an AFL club is well and truly over. It's time for Melbourne to be relegated to a level of football commensurate with their fund raising capacity.

Sucked in, 2 million in the bank, 3 million from our supporters and record membership.

Your little pratt boy blues could take note.

Sour grapes. Your club was rescued by a crim and ours by supporters.

Christ just let them die already. What's the point of keeping a terminally ill club alive, they are going to die eventually, just let it happen now before they suck all of the money from the game.

The reality remains, in the AFL my team are a power and Melbourne are the latest Victorian basket case, whoring themselves to whoever will hand over a few dollars....

The reality is that the next few years will be tough economically and unless the Dees can pay their own way they will fall over. You know this....

Unfortunately it is posters such as yourselves who seemed to have "whored yourselves out", selling out your sport to the corporate dollar. Have you forgotten, or did you never know, that it is the passion of football club supporters that has been the foundation of the VFL/AFL.

Conceding defeat to the power of money over individual passion for the game is very poor form, and can only contribute to the collapse of clubs (and possibly the whole game as we know it) becoming self-fulfilling. Corporate ownership of the game need not be inevitable.

If it is this aspect of the evolving game that appeals to you, can I suggest that following the stock market may be of more interest to you? Maybe the fluctuating fortunes of the All Ordinaries Index might be more appealing? Some time back there was even one argument unfolding on this board that had a handful of supporters arguing over which of their club sponsors had the better product. Astounding.

It's not even necessarily about winning - it's about having and supporting a team, turning up whatever the circumstances, having your emotions regulated by the fortunes of your footy club, and hopefully celebrating the emotional investment you've made in your club and favorite players with the various successes they have along the way.

As an MCC Member and Richmond supporter I have no issue with the club contributing to the MFC. Whatever needs to be done so as to sustain our current 16 clubs is fine by me. One day it might even be the Pies or Eagles or need a financial leg-up to stay afloat - I will happily muck in for them too if it contributes to the maintenance of the status quo.

I have no great love of the Demons, nor any other club outside my own. But I do know that this competition is much better off for their presence in the AFL. As it is the Bulldogs, North and every other club that might at some stage be threatened economically. They all have history and tradition, concepts that cannot be contrived no matter how much money is thrown in their direction.

Its actually 6.30 in Thailand but fair enough, I suspect you dont get out much....

Full credit here. One of the better ownings I've seen on this board in 2008.

Sucked in, 2 million in the bank, 3 million from our supporters and record membership.

Your little pratt boy blues could take note.

Sour grapes. Your club was rescued by a crim and ours by supporters.
I think you will find you were not actually responding to a Carlton supporter. :o

I have no great love of the Demons, nor any other club outside my own. But I do know that this competition is much better off for their presence in the AFL. As it is the Bulldogs, North and every other club that might at some stage be threatened economically. They all have history and tradition, concepts that cannot be contrived no matter how much money is thrown in their direction.
bit of a dif.

Dogs bit the bullet and have tried for the best part of 10 yrs to be fincancially independant. The roos spent 5 yrs whinging that they were poor and begging for money, then bit the bullet and looked for a way out.

the dees have spent nearly 15 yrs crying about being poor and really have done jack all to get themselves out of a poor situation.

Unfortunately it is posters such as yourselves who seemed to have "whored yourselves out", selling out your sport to the corporate dollar. Have you forgotten, or did you never know, that it is the passion of football club supporters that has been the foundation of the VFL/AFL.

Conceding defeat to the power of money over individual passion for the game is very poor form, and can only contribute to the collapse of clubs (and possibly the whole game as we know it) becoming self-fulfilling. Corporate ownership of the game need not be inevitable.

If it is this aspect of the evolving game that appeals to you, can I suggest that following the stock market may be of more interest to you? Maybe the fluctuating fortunes of the All Ordinaries Index might be more appealing? Some time back there was even one argument unfolding on this board that had a handful of supporters arguing over which of their club sponsors had the better product. Astounding.

It's not even necessarily about winning - it's about having and supporting a team, turning up whatever the circumstances, having your emotions regulated by the fortunes of your footy club, and hopefully celebrating the emotional investment you've made in your club and favorite players with the various successes they have along the way.

As an MCC Member and Richmond supporter I have no issue with the club contributing to the MFC. Whatever needs to be done so as to sustain our current 16 clubs is fine by me. One day it might even be the Pies or Eagles or need a financial leg-up to stay afloat - I will happily muck in for them too if it contributes to the maintenance of the status quo.

Ghost... the reality is that my post was a response and by definition not entirely indicative of my view.

Before the Eagles joined the AFL (and since) I have supported Subiaco. The Lions were the worst team in the WAFL. They hadnt won a flag for years when I started supporting them and won there first in 49 years in 1973 - it was a source of social embarassment to admit to supporting them.

In the early 1980's, Subiaco engaged better management and became (and still are) THE financial power of the WAFL. Success on field has followed.
West Coast were a financial basket case in the early years. Subsequently, with much better management and a good market position they have dominated off-field which in turn has assisted in us being a regular on-field success.

The reality is that Melbourne have been an off-field joke for a considerable time and the appointment of Cameron Schwab (who has a chequered past in financial mgmt of clubs) is not exactly the safest move. Geelong were in trouble and went and got Brian Cook off West Coast - the rest is history. Its not just about the deal you currently have and the circumstances you are currently in, its the competence of leaders (guys like Cook) who can identify strengths and weaknesses and build a solid off-field base...

I am all for passion and clubs staying in the league but when we need to compromise the draw and we have to handback hard earned money to clubs who have a history of not doing things well and not taking steps to fix that then at some point you need to be able to say no mas....

I think North and Melbourne have consistently displayed poor management, conflicting or non-existing vision and ordinary leadership (off-field) - at some point we cant just prop them up because its nice to keep all the teams.

i can't see how moving to tasmania would help in terms of sponsorship. other than the tassie govt & timber mills who would or could provide a local major sponsor?

I guess the argument goes that if they moved to Tasmania they become Tasmanias team and they can then own that market from an advertising/marketing perspective in the same way that say WC owned the WA market pre-Freo...

The problem with that is that Tassie isnt exactly a massive market but it may well be sufficiently big that one team "owning" it could do better than competing against 9 other teams in a saturated Melbourne market...

I am on the record as saying that Tassie for a new franchise doesnt make much sense to me (purely economically) but as relocation destination for a club otherwise on death row it may be workable...

Dogs bit the bullet and have tried for the best part of 10 yrs to be fincancially independant. The roos spent 5 yrs whinging that they were poor and begging for money, then bit the bullet and looked for a way out.

In 2007 the Dogs received $1.7 million from the AFL's special annual distribution fund. North received $1.4 and the Dees $1.0. Even your mob received a handout of $250,000.

I'm not up to date with the 2008 figures.

Needless to say plebs, the Dees are well aware that they need to get their house in order. Supposedly non passionate supporters have donated $3 million to reduce debt, our membership is over 16,000 compared to 12,000 at the corresponding period last year, we have a new influential supporter group - Mates of Melbourne, and a new permanent summer training base with first class facilities.

Best of all, we're not going anywhere. We've survived 150 years and produced the 2 most successful legends of the game in Norm Smith and Barassi.

Enjoy it while we're down cos it's not going to last.

THis increase of 750,000 takes into account the vast amount of Sunday games we get.

Essendon must be waiting for the call from AFL headquarters given the fact that they play 10 Sunday games this season.

I am on the record as saying that Tassie for a new franchise doesnt make much sense to me (purely economically) but as relocation destination for a club otherwise on death row it may be workable...

Agreed. To get a Tasmanian team relocation is the answer. Relocating a team which is struggling financially and for support just makes sense as it means fewer teams in Melbourne (currently there are too many) and it also means the only state in Australia not to have a team will get one.

In afew years time the AFL could look like this

Victoria - 9 teams
South Australia - 2 teams
Western Australia - 2 teams
New South Wales - 2 teams
Queensland - 2 teams
Tasmania - 1 team

HAHA, I do however notice that you danced your way around you mighty club finishing 15th this year.

Any rational excuse for that hot shot.

Keep dodging the bullets and may your mighty club play off in next years finals series :rolleyes:.

Our club finished 15th because we were abjectly crap. We have also lost in one season Judd & Cousins which amounts to losing 2 players better than any single player the Dees have had in recent memory - they arent easily replaced.

Obviously when you add that to the unbelievably bad run we had with injury this year it left us exposed and we struggled.

The players we missed this year (and games missed were as follows:

Wirrpunda - 5 games
Hunter - 11
B Jones - 8
Hansen - 9
Kerr - 11
Staker - 8
Priddis - 4
Butler - 17
Waters - 14
LeCras - 11
Rosa - 14
Kennedy - 15
Hurn - 16
Brown - 22
Masten - 10
Ebert - 5

We start 2009 with 25 players on our list under the age of 23 of which 7 have been picked in the first 22 of the last 2 drafts and with all the players above back for full seasons (touch wood)....

I reckon their is a pretty good chance we can improve to the bottom part of the 8 but am convinced that if we dont we will in 2010....

How you reckon you will go?

Oh, and we can pay all our bills and have already sold out every home game for next season... :)

Deluded you are Eagle, We will also make the top 8 next year :D.

Go the eagle the mighty eagle lalala

The Eagles are financially powerful.

Melbourne are not.

Whether or not the Eagles make the 8 next season has nothing to do with the subject at hand.

Of course they are a financial powerhouse, It's a two horse town. :p

Financial yes, Crap yes, Top 8, I dont think so. Not for another few years anyway.

Essendon are in the same litter, BTW, Once were warriors.

Of course they are a financial powerhouse, It's a two horse town. :p

Financial yes, Crap yes, Top 8, I dont think so. Not for another few years anyway.

Essendon are in the same litter, BTW, Once were warriors.

You know you are struggling when you can't stick to the topic at hand.

This was your statement hotshot not mine, Dont say that I cant stick to the topic moron.

Relative finacial positions of all AFL clubs have something to do with this thread, considering that fact that certain clubs are recieving higher distributions than other clubs.

I thought you would be smart enough to distinguish the difference between this and the stupid comments you have made relating to teams finishing positions but i guess i was wrong. Moron!

Relative finacial positions of all AFL clubs have something to do with this thread, considering that fact that certain clubs are recieving higher distributions than other clubs.

I thought you would be smart enough to distinguish the difference between this and the stupid comments you have made relating to teams finishing positions but i guess i was wrong. Moron!

Yes certain clubs recieve higher distibutions, the same as other clubs recieve better fixtures (and it has nothing to do with form) so what goes around comes around.

I'm not arguing this point either way.

I merely stated that it is a relevant discussion point of this thread.

West Coast finishing 15th isn't.

Agree WC are a powerhouse of an AFL club bigger than collingwood and essendon (although they won't agree :) ) they have 45000 members and 12000 on a waiting list... they are able to set whatever price they want for memberships. There form of 15 matters little as does melbournes 16. we were 16 in 97 grand final 2000 then 16 in 08 we will be back up again around 11 the draft makes most teams rise and fall