MFC Newbies Thread - Don't be Shy

Evening Gents,

Been scouting the boards for a while but have been too timid and shy to post. The warm welcomes everyone has received has filled me with confidence.

Started attending games with family in the 70's as a 4th generation supporter.

It's a family curse - for my generation. Just like the missus, the Dees are far from perfect, but I love 'em to bits and am a serial monogamist.

Go Dees!

G'day lads.

New to the board.

Can I ask what those little badges under some profile names are ie 'Petterd 11'? Is it some kind of sponsorship arrangement? Would love to get a 'Weetra 12' if that's still available...

G'day lads.

New to the board.

Can I ask what those little badges under some profile names are ie 'Petterd 11'? Is it some kind of sponsorship arrangement? Would love to get a 'Weetra 12' if that's still available...
Not sure if serious.

Yes they are for a sponsorship of Petterd in 2011 those who put in got a badge & if you put in $50 you get a BF gold membership too & $100 gets you a platinum membership. We are hoping to have two in 2012 but I doubt we will resurect Weetra to the AFL for it to be him.

Not sure if serious.

Yes they are for a sponsorship of Petterd in 2011 those who put in got a badge & if you put in $50 you get a BF gold membership too & $100 gets you a platinum membership. We are hoping to have two in 2012 but I doubt we will resurect Weetra to the AFL for it to be him.

Ha, the perils of using an inside joke in a public forum. ;) With due respect to anyone who has the talents to make it onto an AFL list, my mates and I pretty much use Weetra as a synonym for fail.

Thanks for the explanation CA.

Got sick of the selective editing from a particular mod on Demonland so began spending more time here. I don't go out to the rest of the site as it seems like it is full of crazy people.

Mate if you want to be directed to some of the great boards on the site Pm me & I'll make some suggestions of the ones I favor.

Oh well I better post in here since I come often these days :p

Long time BF member starting from 2002...a time where you could talk footy & sports with like mined fans and there was no such thing as trolls. Use to post freely in my Lions board and in cricket as well.

Times changed I guess....the lions board changed Moderation and if you were not a yes person that agreed with them or everything the club trotted out you were ran out...and I have my own opinion and never a yes person. Now thanks to FB and meeting great lion friends on forums I dont need them and don't want them.

Why here? Well for one thing you treat me better then some of my so called supporters and I had a soft spot for the dees ever since I remember. From you guys having a nack of picking players from my beloved North Adelaide Roosters to being a fresh faced 10 year old new to AFL being allowed to stay up on a rare occasion on a school night to watch her first brownlow on TV in 1991 and having total admiration(and a little hero worship) for the man who won it ever since.

Not that I would ever change my alegences - I'm too stubborn for that, my heart won't allow it, I have the best memories as a Lion, the real lions fans I know are the best and I'm no Tom Scully.

Good luck, good banter when we go head to hesd and and remember there is life after $cu££y

Don't ever abandon a club who you've seen win premierships for one that has barely gone close in your lifetime!
I wouldn't regardless of how many we win or lose NOTHING is going to make me jump ship EVER

And I think this melbourne team will get one sooner then we think. I prdicted with a FB friend that's a Lioness like myself within 5 years after 2010 and I stick by that..I just hope you guys can win it with Jimmy still around to enjoy that moment.

Seem to be quite a few new posters on here in the last 2 weeks, even if you don't give us much info about yourself, how did you find us & what made you decide to join?

Yeah I was gonna say... had felt about joining for a little while. Bit the bullet not too long ago.

Name is Michael.

Joined the cheer squad this year (hey to all the other cheer squad members out on here) and had a blast... even when I went to Geelong.

I've supported the club thick and thin for 10 years, still only 17 so I'll be supporting them for another 60 years or so...

GO DEES!

Yeah I was gonna say... had felt about joining for a little while. Bit the bullet not too long ago.

Name is Michael.

Joined the cheer squad this year (hey to all the other cheer squad members out on here) and had a blast... even when I went to Geelong.

I've supported the club thick and thin for 10 years, still only 17 so I'll be supporting them for another 60 years or so...

GO DEES!

Michael - welcome aboard. Thanls for joining our board. Well done for going down to the Handbaggery.

Now being a member of the cheer squad please tell us who is the youngish guy with the brown hair who leads the chants.

In addition to your good self, we want this guy onboard here rather than Demonland

BTW for a lark this week i tried to join Demonology but it did not go too well . . . .

Now being a member of the cheer squad please tell us who is the youngish guy with the brown hair who leads the chants.

The guy who leads the chants at the cheer squad... I'm pretty sure his name is Garry. Pretty quiet cheer squad it has to be said, some of the chants are admittedly quite lame... I reckon they should push the boundaries more in 2012. ;)

Well join us on the 'Balaclava for Scully' Day at the G when the Judas hobbles out to play against the Dees for the first time.

O hai guys, it's me, dcrock, your erstwhile Preview writer. I finally got around to changing my uninspired and not-very-anonymous username, and will shortly compliment it with an avatar featuring some of MFC's many Jacks. I'm basing this on the assumption that at least one of them will be Captain in the near/medium future.

Looking good CJ.

They are generic avatars you can chose as part of the reg process, if your talking about the red & blue circles that is WGFY.

Yeah I only just discovered that last night, I will now respect posters who use them as I previously thought they were an exclusive feature of tap_my_scott's aliases.

G'day mate. I thought you'd been a bit quiet lately. ;)

I look forward to you adding Jack Fitzpatrick and Jack Viney to your avatar in the years to come.

Look forward to that day. Been only on this forum a few times even though a member for a fair while. Time to come across on a permanent basis and look forward to chatting with many of you about the mighty Dees! 23 year member and can see the good times coming!!!

MFC Newbies Thread - Don't be Shy

Write your reply...